simx wrote: » price for o&p cows today 3.15
Butcher Boy wrote: » And what may I ask is wrong with dealing in piebalds ,sold a few last weak and they went to Holland left a lot more than suckling anyway.
Farmer Pudsey wrote: » Over age ''P'' bullocks would be going for around the same and the cows more than likly do not need to be QA
manjou wrote: » The short term problem is going to be 2013 cattle are going to be finished earlier to get in spec and this will tail in with 2012 cattle so will keep kill up for a while then bulls will come on stream earlier as 2014 weanlings and autaum 2012 weanlings will all start to finish from after christmas so will be steady stream of cattle till may after that who knows will all depend on how many switch to under 16 month bull beef.
severeoversteer wrote: » the suckler farmers will get some shock when they bring their weanlings out for sale this autumn
tanko wrote: » Jaysus muckit, I hope you're joking here. I saw top quality 450kg sim x ch bulls sold for €2.25/kg this week. Weanlings are being sold for less than what it costs to produce them. What more do buyers want? Do finishers think that they are entitled to a profit but it's ok for the suckler farmer to sell for a loss? If things continue the way they are, lads looking to buy quality weanlings will go to the mart in sept/cot and there won't be any there. Unless the greedy processors and supermarkets are willing to pay a fair price for beef were all screwed anyway.
Muckit wrote: » Oh they are probably in the lairage as we speak but feck it ta hell twas shocking money for such fine cattle. Suckler lads need not be living in cuckoo land in another few weeks. This sh*t needs to percolate down to the bottom.
Muckit wrote: » Went in at lunchtime to have a look at the trade in bsloe. In hindsight I should have gave it a miss and took my time eating the lunch! Lovely pen of well done spring '12 ch heifers came in, all up on the 680-700kg. All on to break the 1300 mark. I came away depressed out of it! Had it all on to keep the dinner down. But as the man says 'thats the price of them' atm.
Willfarman wrote: » That young lad would be better suited to dealing piebalds! Ah the cow trade isn't simple when numbers are small.
simx wrote: » Some prime boys around that ring alright, I especially have a soft spot for a young lad over to the right hand side, a proper gent ...... Mr.a and the other man have very bad blood between them. Polling going on in every mart
Willfarman wrote: » The jobbers were impossible to contain today. It seemed they have customers waiting. Yes I see mr a frequenting the last few weeks.
simx wrote: » Oh they sound like their full value, does be a lot of bad hoors of cattle there too IMO, I see mr.A is going there now too, himself and mr.H will drive cow trade wrong
Willfarman wrote: » Only seen a few. Good fleshy fr cow 610kgs €790. Holstein Cow same man 630 kgs €840. She was 09 so maybe lad hoped she'd fatten. Big Holstein stockbull 850kg €1040. A superb big sim cow something over 800kgs something over 1400 in money.. Belonged to a local town councillor. More bidders than were cattle. I got nothing.
Muckit wrote: » Sorry no such thing as 'yellow', it's 'yellaa'!! Ye talk very posh around loughrea!
tanko wrote: » At least that
ellewood wrote: » Would u have to have to be getting E3.80-3.90/kg for them to killl into the same money in factory??
tanko wrote: » I saw a couple of u grade continental cows over 700kgs making €2.03/kg today. Does anyone know where these cows are ending up?
severeoversteer wrote: » how much were 2013 yellow chx stores going?? bout 550kg