_Whimsical_ wrote: » When I was young there was a student teacher living close by who was working in our school. She was a very cross, buttoned up sort of girl.Everyday she had a huge backpack schoolbag on her back going to school, two shoulder straps on correctly around the arms and also a strap tied around her waist, she looked as if she was going on a long hike everyday. The overall effect was sometimes like an enormous toddler actually. Anyway she liked to shout random things in Irish at us as she passed us on the road in the morning,"hurry up" somedays "tog go bog e!" other days, and this always struck us as funny, and when she passed we would giggle, not laugh or make comments or anything,just giggle as 11 year olds are wont to do at a teacher wearing a giant school bag. Her retort of choice for some reason was always "ignorance should be pitied, not laughed at!!" Which always made us laugh so much more.:o
blue note wrote: » Lots of really funny school memories. The one I'm proudest of is a practical joke we played on our 6th class teacher. We got one of the other teachers to call her out to give her some message. When she came back we had left the door (to outside, not the corridor) and all 30 of us hid in the jacks. We were perfectly quiet and heard her come back. The poor woman was in shock and so relieved (and impressed I suppose) that we didn't get any punishment. I met her in the local a few months back and she said that the practical joke is still being told nearly two decades later!
Dick Turnip wrote: » Please explain this story again and better - I can't for the life of me understand the practical joke that happened! Apart from the fact ye all left the room when the teacher was out?
893bet wrote: » Vaseline on the door knob. Simple ones are the best.
eisenberg1 wrote: » I read the above as Vaseline on the poor knob.:eek:
daithi1970 wrote: » We had a chemistry teacher who nearly blew himself up..twice..theres a little experiment usually used to impress 1st years-it involves putting a tiny piece of sodium metal into a large trough of water-the sodium reacts with the water and basically just fizzes around and around in the water trough. Our teacher had to up the ante by using progressively smaller vessels for the water,which resulted in large amounts of heat and flying sparks being produced. He then hit upon the bright idea of trying to trap the gas produced by the reaction using a test tube..cue the test tube flying straight upwards in a shower of sparks and shattering off the ceiling of the science room. He then proceeded to repeat the experiment , with identical results. To this day, I don't know how someone didn't lose an eye:pac:
calanus wrote: » 1) 1st year - science class, probably our first week or two. The teacher is going on about something and asking the odd student questions and one of them was "Name a gas on the periodic table?". She asks some guy down the back who was obviously off on another planet and continued to be for the next 3 years. "Ha?"... "Name me a gas?"... "Ehhh, Calor gas?"