Krusty_Clown wrote: » I checked against my tracklog from last year, and there's a slight variance in distance (13.07 Vs 13.01), using the exact same watch (slightly newer firmware), the exact same course, and I ran pretty much an identical racing line. So variances seem to be caused by external influences, such as satellite cover, weather conditions, GPS watch inaccuracy etc. As to whether the course is short or not - I don't really know (and if I'm being honest, don't really care in this instance!). I often wonder how the course is measured - e.g. how they measure around those roundabouts, the measured route through that last stretch back into town (where I took a pretty aggressive racing line through the middle of the road) etc. Are we taking short-cuts that the race measurer didn't take? Anyway, there's not much point in delving too deeply, unless you want to go back with a measuring wheel, we'll never get any closer to the reality on these things.
dublin runner wrote: » Ah here! I was 80 seconds under. I'll send you the Garmin link! I am still wondering why. I don't want to speculate on the most likely reason.....:eek:
dukeraoul wrote: » I'm a jackass. Sorry DR didn't even see ya as you're right, the hill was really the only thing on my mind! Was just thinking about it there- yourself and Ecoli would actually make the perfect pacing team. You could run 2 mins under and he could run 2 mins over- it would be a great way to space out the pace bands! Maybe you guys could share your pacing expertise w/ the 3:40 lads in DCM;)
NiallG4 wrote: » This is my first time stumbling upon this log since I seen you in the Dundalk 10K. Looking at your MP above, are you aiming at 2.38 in Dublin. I am heading for Dublin myself. Hoping for somewhere in the 2.45 region. My plan during summer was to get 10K time down and then build up to Athlone in September so on course this far. Might see you in Athlone. My target there is 1.17 so might see you in a wee group at some stage.
dublin runner wrote: » Thursday 14/8 10 Miles @6.54p/m in 1.09:00-inc. 3 Miles @Marathon Pace Splits: 1. 6.00 2. 6.03 3. 6.02This is my first time stumbling upon this log since I seen you in the Dundalk 10K. Looking at your MP above, are you aiming at 2.38 in Dublin. I am heading for Dublin myself. Hoping for somewhere in the 2.45 region. My plan during summer was to get 10K time down and then build up to Athlone in September so on course this far. Might see you in Athlone. My target there is 1.17 so might see you in a wee group at some stage.
yaboya1 wrote: » Nice looking week. One question though, two or three?
dublin runner wrote: » Two things to note:
dublin runner wrote: » 1. The stretch up Chesterfield Avenue and towards Castleknock is a tough one, especially if the wind is in your face like today 2. The few miles after Casstleknock are fast ones 3. The Crumlin Road aint any easier!
cianc wrote: » Bravo, very impressive week!
jebuz wrote: » Great stuff DR, good to see you back racing, and winning! Always nice to fit in a sneaky win in an 85 mile week
AuldManKing wrote: » The intersection of Strava and Boards!! Must start using it and see what all the fuss is about.
yaboya1 wrote: » Nice work this morning
blockic wrote: » Few miles before and after Dublin i hope! separate activities though.
dublin runner wrote: » 6th-The Lakes 10k (race)13th-Athlone Flatline Half Marathon (race)20th-Dublin Half Marathon (general aerobic)27th- Moone Kilomarathon (marathon pace)
yaboya1 wrote: » Good luck with the pacing gig tomorrow. Enjoy!
blockic wrote: » Hope ye have the king size bed booked for the 3 of ye that night in charleville! :P