CianRyan wrote: » Gear knob either pull off and smack you in the teeth or twist off and get you repetitive stress injuries. Great fun. :pac: Easy swap though, yeah. And no, a proper refurb will be stripping back the outer layer of the wheel and reapplying fresh materials. Alanstrainor got his 3 Series wheel done recently.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Well as far as I know the gearstick just pulls off with a bit of effort, and from seeing gear sticks in halfords and the likes, I assume they're fairly quick and easy to change (but i'd like a proper, 407 gear stick, or at least a 6-sdeed gearstick with black leather on it). The issue with the steering wheel is that the top section of it is just kinda peeled away a lot. It looks like it's lost a coat of leather (if that makes any sense) and it's very 'chipped' or something. It feels a bit rough in the hand. So it's not just discolouration or anything like that. Would restoration be worth a look? From what I have seen, 'restoration' means some chap sewing a cover onto it, but i wouldnt like the wheel any thicker than it is (I actually removed one of those cheaper accessory covers from it when i bought it, as the wheel was too thick and i didn't find it comfortable).
Noccy_Mondy wrote: » Pfft copycat. Noccy goes to scrapyard, pickles goes to scrapyard. Noccy has turbo pipe thing in car, pickles gets same thing :rolleyes: hah
CianRyan wrote: » Let me know if there are any tasty MX5 bits around! Hoping to do some spending when I'm back from holidays.
toastedpickles wrote: » Bloody love that place, going there tomorrow for a scout around, never know what I might come out with
CianRyan wrote: » I've had some big surprised in scrap yards. You never know what you'll find or from what year. Kilcock is great for a browse.
Kaiser D wrote: » You probably won't find a 2010 car in a scrap yard tbh. You could have both refurbished; it'd be less hassle than finding the parts.
quadrifoglio verde wrote: » You'll pay vat on the purchase in the country it was ordered in. If I buy from a company in the uk, I'll pay vat on it, just a bit less than if I buy it from a company here. If I buy it from a company in Jersey, then I'll pay vat.
wonski wrote: » You don't pay vat if ordered from the EU.
quadrifoglio verde wrote: » There shouldn't be vrt on wheels....it's for vehicles only. You'll pay vat on the purchase in the uk if it's from a company but there shouldn't be any other charges
Noccy_Mondy wrote: » Were yours new or used? It's hard buying second hand ones when you can't see properly what kind of condition they're in. Did I read that there is some VRT type charge on them
toastedpickles wrote: » Mine cost about 40 euro shipped, but then again there was more than just the wheels
Noccy_Mondy wrote: » Would anyone have a rough idea on how much one would have to pay to get 4 rims posted here from the uk?
toastedpickles wrote: » Heh I'm getting tyres for my yoke tomorrow, I was told you can get this tyre or this or this, but we have these great tyers called ling longs, I sh1t you not fcuking ling longs, I burst out laughing at the girl behind the counter
Now how 'bout ding a dang dong dong dong ling long Dingy a dingy dong a down
quadrifoglio verde wrote: » Nah it'll be "sure the guards drive them now, they must be the best" kind of **** that you get. In the same way you hear tyre salesmen going on about taxis and sunny tyres.Or car salesmen going on about the virtues of 4 pot diesel bmws as the ultimate driving experience.
CianRyan wrote: » Well I'm sure a Garda spec Optima is just as brand destroying.
YbFocus wrote: » That's ridiculous!