To Need a Woman wrote: » I'll be rich though, so yeah
To Need a Woman wrote: » predictable jokes from the fat fella. Let's have something smart come out of your mouth other than Einstein's cock
To Need a Woman wrote: » if you want to joke go to after hours
ancapailldorcha wrote: » There's more to life than being rich, at least in my opinion.
Frank Dry Logging wrote: » Any more "deep thoughts and over-analytical [sic] observations" to share?
Fat Christy wrote: » There's no point being rich if ya still need a woman. Suppose you could buy her though?
To Need a Woman wrote: » those mightn't be my best examples!
To Need a Woman wrote: » Anybody who's reasonably sane, good looking and with money WILL get women. Try not to read into my user name little cretin
mrty wrote: » I was actually enjoying this thread reading other guys thoughts and feelings about the title topic, but as usual one or two have to turn it into a farce . If people don't have anything relevant to add then why bother. Its boring, head off to teen chat or whatever you may find something more suited to your outlook there.
Contributor 2013 wrote: » I just don't want to give up my own routines to satisfy what someone else wants, ....back to selfish again. Who knows.
Contributor 2013 wrote: » Happy enough being single and having me dog as company, he doesn't let me get bored!
Contributor 2013 wrote: » But don;t take on the responsibility if you're not going to keep it up, looking after a dog, (if you haven't done i before) is like nothing you've ever experienced, especially if you're single.
Wibbs wrote: » I dunno A. If I had my life to live over from say 20 I'd aim to make as much money as possible. Get into finance while my brain was still firing at the level required(it's still firing today, but on a different tack). Yes there is more to life than being rich, but being rich to the point where you don't have to work again gives you a magnitude more choices than slaving away for the majority of your life in a 9-5 cubicle worrying about collating reports for some middle manager. Choice is everything. You might dig an office environment but if you've got financial security outside of it you'll likely dig it more. Romance and relationship wise? Sure to quote the Beatles money can't buy you love, but it can buy you extra access to more people including women and again it gives you far more choices. On the other hand it can be more risky too with divorce and such. All I can say is that at various times in my life I had a few bob and there were times when I had feck all, the former was a lot better than the latter. Most of all money gives you choice over a much more valuable asset, time. It's about the only thing you can't earn any more of and on your deathbed you won't say "I wished I had worked more hours".
Frank Dry Logging wrote: » There's a perception that women are more competent with and less likely to be dangerous to children, even if they don't have any of their own.
NSAman wrote: » There is a stigma in Ireland about being single. You are viewed with suspicion. "How can he be happy by himself?" has been a question I know relatives have asked my mother when I am not around. What irks me most of all as a single person, is that people do NOT understand why you would remain single. you are either gay or you are weird.
Wibbs wrote: » +1000 on this one. Getting a date, hookup, brief affair, FWB, or actual relationship was a lot easier for me at 40 than it was from me at 20 and options were much wider.
Daveysil15 wrote: » I'm surprised by this actually. Is that mainly because of online dating and the internet in general? Just curious. I'm 31 now and find it a lot more difficult to find any of those things you mentioned than when I was 21. Granted I have better hobbies now which allow me to meet new people, but the pub/club scene is so much different now, at least for me anyway.
LordNorbury wrote: » The online dating scene has certainly changed things hugely. If you are actively dating online, you should have no problem meeting people. Meeting someone online who you might want to have a full and proper relationship with is a different thing entirely, but if you are going at it right and with a proper positive mindset, you should certainly not be lonely. If I want to get a date these days, I wouldn't dream of going to a pub or a club, I'd just go online and I'd make it happen there. I have some female friends, these friendships would have started out online, and what I've been told is that women these days in their 30's who are single, they don't expect to meet someone out in a pub/club. If you read online profiles, women will openly state on most of them that they are sick of the pub/club scene, lads coming up to them at the end of the night drunk, etc. There is also the financial aspect to it. Think about it for a sec, who has the money to be going out to pubs/clubs once or twice a week in the mere hope of finding someone? People these days are being a lot cuter about dating, they set things up online and cut out a lot of the expense, and the fund for the night out once a fortnight or whatever, is being spent with current friends.
Daveysil15 wrote: » I dunno, I've been doing the online dating for the last 3 years with no success. Then again the pickings are fairly slim where I am. Almost everybody seems to be in Dublin. I've found work and hobbies to be the best ways to meet people. I agree with what you're saying about the bars and clubs and how a lot of women are fed up with that scene, but from my experience a lot of women are very wary of guys online too. "Plenty of freaks" seems to be a common headline on certain profiles.
SWL wrote: » In essence the pros out weight the cons for this middle aged guy, I have made my bed and happy enough to sleep in it, I have no regrets; I made the correct decisions especially looking at my unhappy married friends. Gone on plenty of dates, even tried online dating, didn’t like it most went straight into the where are we going i.e. fast track to marriage and kids in the shortest timeframe possible. I can and do spend a lot of time alone especially at weekends, having a wingman or drinking buddy is getting tougher as the lads have financial and family responsibilities so heading out to meet new people is getting very tough. I don’t know if it’s a generational thing but I never come across women looking for a fcuk buddy etc, the younger generation seem to have that sorted in a good way.
SWL wrote: » Many friends are married, children etc. some are content, some are miserable and deeply unhappy, they talk about been trapped in a emotional and financial hell that I can’t even contemplate, they can’t leave because they loose everything everyday accesses to the kids, the house etc. the way society crushes men after a marriage breakdown is frightening, the level of female hyper gamy is truly amazing after the kids come along, I am too selfish or too smart to get on that train, would love to have had a family of my own but that’s not going to happen now, I have a few quid so I am my own man, financially independent as a working man can be and that’s how I like it. In essence the pros out weight the cons for this middle aged guy, I have made my bed and happy enough to sleep in it, I have no regrets; I made the correct decisions especially looking at my unhappy married friends.
Daveysil15 wrote: » I'm surprised by this actually. Is that mainly because of online dating and the internet in general? Just curious. I'm 31 now and find it a lot more difficult to find any of those things you mentioned than when I was 21.
SWL wrote: » most went straight into the where are we going i.e. fast track to marriage and kids in the shortest timeframe possible
ancapailldorcha wrote: » I see where you're coming from. I'm in my twenties and it'll probably be another 10 years before I can do any serious saving with the career path I've burdened myself with unless I decide to jettison my weekends which isn't an entirely unappealing prospect. Youth doesn't mean much if you don't have the capital to travel, socialise, etc... One advantage of moving around constantly is that the social isolation makes saving a bit easier. I just hate thinking about things like mortgages, holidays and various other things I can't afford yet.
fits wrote: » Jes I dont know, I think this is a very negative thread towards marriage. I cant think of anyone in my network that I think would be happier on their own than in a relationship or married, certainly into middle age and beyond. I live in both worlds at the moment. In a long term relationship but spend large chunks of time on my own abroad. I much prefer living with someone. I am mid thirties and most of my friends, almost all in fact, are unmarried. Those that are dont have children yet, those that have children arent married. A lot are single. They'd have good careers for the most part and are liberal in outlook I guess. Not the usual. But I do wonder how it will work out in the coming years.