BenThere wrote: » I think this deal is a very sensible one. It puts pressure on Johnson to perform this season. Lot's of guys in the last year of their contract throw a strop if they aren't offered another mega bucks contract and end up doing the minimum possible/protecting themselves whilst they concentrate on trying to get a deal elsewhere. Having a hungry young RB understudy will prevent the club being held hostage by Johnson. If Johnson plays well and earns a new contract at wages reflective of his age/form it's a win win for everyone but if he's not happy with the contract offered by the club or loses form we have a back up who will hopefully grab his chance with both hands and if he performs we have an option to buy at a sensible price. A great deal all round. Ben
Luckycharms_74 wrote: »
brevity wrote: » I don't think Johnson suits the way we play any more as we don't have someone like Masch or Lucas covering the RB when he goes forward.
skywalker wrote: » Thats all pretty sensible. The only query Id have is whether we could/should have offered that back up slot to Wisdom this year instead of loaning him. Although if he gets a lot of playing time at West Brom its a non issue.
Knex. wrote: » In fairness to Luckycharms, he can't start a winning match thread to save his life, but he sure as hell knows how to photoshop.
Will I Amnt wrote: » I just hope he remembered to delete his browsing history :pac:
tritium wrote: » And yet we continue to be linked with with attacking players in that position and to not be linked with covering defensive midfielder
super_furry wrote: » The more I think about Lovren, the more I think it'd be a great deal for us, especially when you see a 30-year-old like Matieu go for €20m. There seems to be a lack of quality defenders available and I reckon he'd fit right in.
Both Liverpool and Spurs have struggled in finding a reliable, defensively sound but attack minded left-back. The former have tried, and failed, with Jose Enrique and Aly Cissokho, while the latter have had to make do with Danny Rose. So, if the rumoured £16m valuation of a 21 year-old Spanish international is to be believed, Moreno would be a fantastic addition at a cut-price. In time, his defending nous will improve and, growing into his body, his upper body strength and ability to hold off players will develop. Fast and agile, Moreno is, without a doubt, a shoo-in for Spain's left-back role for years to come.
MD1990 wrote: » http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/490931/Liverpool-now-better-placed-than-Man-Utd-or-Real-to-pull-off-42-5m-Arturo-Vidal-move If we could get Vidal it would be a huge signing. Probably unlikely though.
hefferboi wrote: » Can't actually believe people are defending Johnson. Johnson wouldn't even defend Johnson because Johnson can't fcuking defend! He used to be good going forward, used to be alright defensively but this season alone he's been absolute muck in every game bar maybe 2 at most where he was average. Maybe Inwas watching different games to ye but every time I saw him he seemed to give away the ball high up the pitch, get caught out of position and looked liked he just didn't give a single fcuk. I wouldn't have him in the squad if he was paying us to play him, and that's no exaggeration. He's gone to cole/downing/Moses levels of hate for me, where I actually can't bear to look at him strolling around the place anymore. And I usually give anyone who plays for us all the time in the world to get it right but Johnson just boils my blood after the season he's had.
Gowlasauras Rex wrote: » Just curious, do you think he would choose liverpool over man utd or madrid?
Soft Falling Rain wrote: » Ah now jaysus. :eek: Johnson has been frustrating, but the main reason he's been so is because he has shown in brief periods that he clearly still has what it takes to play at this level and play well. Whereas with the likes of Cole, the chap not only didn't give a bollix, I'd question if he even had any ability left to contribute at this level. Moses, also didn't give a crap and well, was crap anyway. Never really had a problem with Downing, he eventually knuckled down, he just wasn't good enough in the end. TBH, I don't think Johnson's problem is lack of trying or care, I just think for whatever reason his head just isn't in it far too often unfortunately.
retalivity wrote: » Good lad, Iago, a better defender than an attacker