JD1984 wrote: » No win situation for Cuthbert here really. If he didn't make the changes people would be giving out and now that he has, people are still giving out. Has Paddy Kelly played a good game this year? Granted he was played out of position a lot but he was utterly cat against Kerry? Maguire has been exemplary for club, college and county for the last year or two and definitely deserves a chance. He did a grand job against MD McAuley when UCC played Maynooth so I'm sure he won't be scared of going up against Sligo or Mayo afterwards should they be there. Colm O'Driscoll was exactly what Cork needed in the first half v Kerry to win the breaks that Cork were simply not competing for. Clancy is another player who must prove himself at centre-back, especially when there are an array of players who can play there. They can't be worse than the last day and hopefully they wake up on Saturday after two lazy performances.
Amprodude wrote: » Seriously Sligo will do us a favour if they beat us. If we beat Sligo and Mayo, Kerry will whip us apart like they do time and time again and we dont want that in Cork again. We will never beat Kerry in Croke Park and we must accept it. We have fools of management and players with no heart and attitude all wrong. We couldnt get it right even in the good days. Cork football makes me sick.
Amprodude wrote: » Seriously Sligo will do us a favour if they beat us. If we beat Sligo and Mayo, Kerry will whip us apart like they do time and time again and we dont want that in Cork again. We will never beat Kerry in Croke Park and we must accept it. We have some fools of "supporters" and "fans" with no heart and attitude all wrong. We couldnt get it right even in the good days. Cork football makes me sick.
Animal Bar wrote: » Utterly Cat against Kerry??? Sorry what game were you and the management watching? Cork got cleaned out in the half back line and in midfield. No one in the half back line kicked the ball against kerry how are the half forward line ment to have any impact on the game. Then you have 2 in midfield who ran the ball into trouble. The answer to this is take off 2 half forwards off at half time. Head scratching. Then you think after 3 weeks to review the game and 2 of the 3 half back line start again. 7 Months into the year to make 6 changes screams panic
Deco99 wrote: » FYP, its brave coming on here making a post like that when you've most likely never kicked a ball beyond the warm up.
Amprodude wrote: » <SNIP>.
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Sean Mac id agree with most of that.A lot of truths there. At the training camp i saw there was no video anayalst with Cork.Whether they use one or not it remains to be seen but you would like to think a Key camp on the eve of championship just after the Dublin beating we could have had one. Cork u21 had one under Cleary and it was a huge success.Sean what are views re Michael laoire?how would you rate him.
Smith614 wrote: » What are the CCB doing when it comes to grading??? Carbery (division) comprising on a lot of good hurling clubs are competing in the Premier 2 minor hurling championship. This is some disgrace, a division should be competing at premier 1 or not at all. They beat a fancied St. Colmans team last week which is apity as Cloyne etc are making good strides but then come up against a division.
sean mac wrote: » TTM, I rated him worth getting a game at least!!! I remember the derry game in the league when were getting cleaned out in midfield in the 2nd half and olaoire wasn't brought on except as a blood sub and I realised then he wasn't being rated. He was never in their plans but he is certainly worth a bet in the same way gould and walsh are persevered with. Maguire is a fine talent but he wont develop under this set up, dineen should have stated this game to horse into Sligo and make them realise there is a battle. Cuthbert et al have proven at this stage they are out of their depth, we are 3 games into the championship and into our 3rd midfield combination and 3rd half back line, Christ you couldn't make it up. I said fromt he start cleary should have got this, he istn the greatest tactician but what he is, is SMART. Uses a goalkeeping coach (look at martins kickouts this year for u21s), good fitness man, good use of stats/video and by god he can motivate a team - hugely important will cover a lot of deficiencies elsewhere when fellas are willing to die on the field, can we say any of that with the current set up? NO. Nice men, great servants in their time, but totally out of their depth at this level. If Sligo have an inside line running riot again on Saturday will we wait until half time to make a decision again?????? no faith in the set up, some players are selected because they are strong on bleep tests and we have a keeper from the same club as the manager who is the pooret kicker in intercounty football for a keeper.
rughug wrote: » Smith 614 my friend , you are talking through your drain pipe. Newcestown and Clonakilty are already competing in Prem 2. Bandon have a shockingly poor minor team this year. Now tell me where are the other good hurling clubs in West Cork.. You dont know what you are talking about. Just sour grapes id say that your boys from Cloyne are gone.
Gary Neville wrote: » I spoke to O Laoire's father at one of the league games and he was promised that he'd get a game before the end of the league. He didn't. If you bring a lad into a squad and promise him at least a game, then you should deliver. How could he impress when he never got a a chance ? I was of the view that we had a slim chance of salvaging this terrible situation after the Kerry game provided management called an immediate clear the air meeting and allowed everyone to voice an opinion as to what was wrong. It needed Cubby and Ronan Mac to show that they were big men and admit that they got a lot of things wrong but that they were prepared to learn (TTM1 - offered a similar opinon) I was very disappointed to learn that the Kerry game was barely mentioned. Cubby and Ronan Mac are coming across as Teachers dealing with group of students - my way or the highway and not entertaining the possibility of their mistakes. Could anyone imagine Billy Morgan or Conor Counihan telling John Fogarty that very few of the starting 15 played to a decent level - Billy might have some tough words in the dressing room but it would stay there. If Cubby and his management team set out to demoralise the squad, I don't think they could have done a better job. Imagine how Dan Goulding feels - he top scored with 0-6 (plus 1 pt waved wide) and got some pressure long range kicks yet Ken O Halloran who had a nightmare for the 2nd day in a row, is retained. This a hard thing to be personally abused by ignorant people but then have your management tell the media that you didn't play to a decent level and then get dropped thereby singleing you out as one of the reasons for our worst hammering by Kerry since 1962 - all that to a player who stepped up to the plate when needed in 2010 and was a major factor in a rare Sam win - now he's been told he's no good by fellas that never won anything at the highest level.
BPKS wrote: » Ye obviously have erased Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7 (2002 Semi Final) and Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9 (2005 Semi Final) from ye're memory? I can see why the management are getting flak, but I couldn't fault what McCarthy said in the press the other day too much - the message I got was that no Cork player played to their potential and the management made some mistakes against Kerry. Get most of the starting 15 plus 2 or 3 subs playing to their potential and they would fancy their chances against any side was the message I got from it. Obviously getting them to do that is another issue. I wouldn't be surprised if Cork, after beating Sligo, took Mayo out. And it would be 50/50 against Kerry in the semi final then. I sure as hell wouldn't like to meet Cork in a semi final anyway.