YbFocus wrote: » Alfa's were never my thing and I don't really like them, but I'm the unusual one it seems When you won't get that much for it, why not keep the car you've always wanted? Give me one positive from selling it, other than the few pound (which I don't think you're massively short of anyway). It's obvious she's a keeper
Old diesel wrote: » The "is it a banger thing" You like it - that's reason enough to keep it as has been suggested already. I tend to look at the guys who insist on having a BASE model Passat every 2 years - as been the odd ones - not the guy who drives around in an old car hes happy to drive around in. Theres lots of good reasons someone might like to drive an older car 1) fits in with what they want to spend on their motoring - ie why buy a 20 grand car if one for 2,000 euros will do the job 2) They love that particular car - like how it drives, how it looks, how nice it is to be in after a hard day at work etc 3) it still works fine - why change it. Wheras the other side - why would you buy a base model Passat every 2 years - whats the point - exact same car as you traded in - taking the big hit on depreciation - still only getting into similar car - shelling out money to "upgrade" Nothing wrong with changing every 2 years - but I mean to say - its more odd then wanting to keep the older car
Stheno wrote: » I think you either love or hate alfas, they are beautiful cars, and imo gorgeous to drive.
Stheno wrote: » I've been the same had a 99 car in 99, a 00 in 00 then it went downhill I always wanted a gtv for about 15 years before I even drove! Anyway I pinged the guy who did my door to door respray tonight about doing a bit of work and he couldn't have been nicer, so I'm thinking invest a bit in the car, and I'll easily get a couple of years out of it, it's funny when it goes for the NCT, there is always someone waiting to NCT it. I just don't get the complaints on handling at all, I have a relatively stressful job, so my chill out routine before I get home is to drive the back road from Ashbourne to Swords which you probably know. I take most of the bends at 90 degrees, and while the car sometimes feels like it's going to revolt, it reacts fine. Pred drove it fairly hard and it was fine. It might sound stupid, but the person I am most happy for is my mechanic, he's been extremely good to me (and in fairness I've been fair with him) but if I tolld you what he charged me for the service I had done recently, you'd be sick. He discounted it massively as I 1. gave him a list of all issues, 2. factored in his personal circumstances. Then he kept the car an extra day to test it, and sort out stuff I hadn't highlighted, like the wipers. He's a keeper. All in all then, I've everything to have a nice looking car, with great support, so wtf am I thinking about changing! And I am loving the car at the moment.
YbFocus wrote: » I've never so much as driven one, just their looks don't sit with me I may be won over some day, the 156 is the only one that tickles a little bit!
dgt wrote: » Try my one if it gets finished this year
YbFocus wrote: » I am afraid of being converted, aflaism is a scary thing. Look at what it does to ye!!
Quazzie wrote: » If ya havent sourced one yet give me a shout. Ill get ya one.
YbFocus wrote: » Feck your ps3!! They won't move man, they are impossible to get off
MuppetCheck wrote: » Got my windows coats in gtechniq G-whatever number and I have to say it's great with the flies. Was told to have just water in the reservoir with it, or at least a very mild mix, and it's clearing the flies no problem. The bumper on the other hand took me over an hour last weekend before I admitted defeat...
toastedpickles wrote: » Bitta cillit bang got rid of them fairly quick :pac:
dgt wrote: » All I wanted was a nice Italian a to b saloon. Look how that's ended up...!
YbFocus wrote: » Your bonnet in the morning :pac:
Chris_Heilong wrote: » Yeah dont let others influence what you like or dont like, your car is special to you. All you can do is pity them for not knowing what they are missing.
toastedpickles wrote: » :eek: at least it was only the window, wait and see my window will disintegrate away :pac:
colm_mcm wrote: » Bang! And the window is gone
toastedpickles wrote: » Those bloody scumbags firing stones at it again :pac: Also Yb, the Cappuccino engined car i was on about, pretty cool stuff!http://retrorides.proboards.com/thread/134406/1955-standard-660cc-turbo#.U87uc_ldV5I
YbFocus wrote: » Well that thing is sick, would have thrown in an sr though :pac:
toastedpickles wrote: » Ah yeah but sure you may as well just throw out the car then :pac:
YbFocus wrote: » Engine would last longer than the car that's for sure
shanec1928 wrote: » What's the deal with all the big threads like today I saw a car for sale etc all being moved out of the main forum? Seems to be a huge push to dilute the forum with separate sub cats.
Noccy_Mondy wrote: » Had to do a quick run into town just there, there won't be any blanky's on the bed tonight :eek:
toastedpickles wrote: » Warm out today..... Warm out yesterday..... Even warmer t'day
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » ♪Met her on my CB. Said her name was Mimi. Sounded like an angel come to earth.♪