gavindublin wrote: » I dont remember the modest ones. the most egotistical one is definitely Russel Brand. What a **** wit.
steddyeddy wrote: » Most modest person I met is a physics lecturer who used to lecture me on physics. The man set up the young scientist awards and invented the smoke alarm. The man is an absolute gent and a very modest and down to earth man. He didn't even mention his claim to fame I only found out about it through someone else. The most egotistical has to be a lawyer that our department consults with on some issues. He insists on being called doctor whatever (having a PhD), insists on being flown first class everywhere and talks introduces himself to people at parties (we work in scientific research) as being a bit higher up than the scientists.
mosstin wrote: » Perhaps he means 'taller' than the scientists?
steddyeddy wrote: » He was actually ha ha. Just to point out (and it goes without saying hopefully) I have met some d1ckish scientists and very down to earth lawyers.
Tail Docker wrote: » So, Eddy, you never mentioned before what line of work you're in. You're an intellectual eh? Golly. News to me anyway.
speedboatchase wrote: » Why is "modesty" considered a virtue? I much prefer people who say of the accomplishments: "I worked hard and I deserved it."
steddyeddy wrote: » No such thing as an intellectual.
Tail Docker wrote: » Scientist? :pac:
MRnotlob606 wrote: » a girl I was speaking with recently, she won a scholarship to trinity. .But just said she was in college in Dublin. I told her that she should be proud of herself as it was a great achievement.I found her modest.
steddyeddy wrote: » Most modest person I met is a physics lecturer who used to lecture me on physics. The man set up the young scientist awards and invented the smoke alarm..
Uriah Muscular Sunroof wrote: » Duane Pearsall and Stanley Bennett invented the smoke alarm and Tony Scott was a founder of the Young Scientist. Which one lectured you?
Hotfail.com wrote: » I know plenty of people I'd call "slyly egotistical", wouldn't exactly tell the world that they're great but are constantly insinuating that they're better than you in their speech and mannerisms.
Tarzana wrote: » I reckon it must be hard not to develop a massive ego if you're a massive sheleb. I reckon not all the egotistical ones would be egotistical if they weren't famous. I mean, you just are constantly surrounded by yes men, hangers on and women who want to suck your dick in the jacks (and whatever the female equivalent of that is). At first, it probably seems faintly ridiculous and mad, but I'd you just get accustomed and completely lose touch with reality. I'm not necessarily condoning it, I just think it's a very odd position to find yourself in.
Tarzana wrote: » I worked with someone like that. Now, in fairness to her, she was a hard-working PhD student, but if you were to believe her, her experiments always worked first time round and she never took a long time to learn a technique. Always keen to stress that her experiments were working swimmingly, that kind of thing. One day though, I walked into our lab store room to find her weeping with frustration at an experiment going array!
Calibos wrote: » Never knew the smock alarm was invented by an Irish man! Jaysus. "So what did you accomplish in your life?" "Ah, just saved millions of lives over the years..nothing much" The scientific corollary though of course is the scientist who invented both leaded petrol and Ozone depleting CFC's. He has single handedly done more damage to the environment of earth than any other creature in the 4 billion year history of Earth