CramCycle wrote: » I'd prefer if they got rid of that only in specific zones BS as well, if its safe enough to place a van in a certain place do it, no warning, no national campaign that you could only meet the vans in certain places. Having muppets slamming on the brakes on certain corners to drop 40 below the limit that they were not breaking anyway. If there is a layby and no safety issues, let them at it. Surprised to hear on the news from the Garda commisioner that we apparently have one of the highest levels of obeying the speed limit in europe 80+%, compared to a european average of 50-55% (can't remember the exact numbers).
blackwhite wrote: » Personally, with the exception of at some blackspots, I don't see a whole lot of value in fixed cameras (for the reasons you've mentioned).
CramCycle wrote: » I have never seen a garda doing speed checks on the motorway unless tailing and doing averages as they know its a waste of time,
CramCycle wrote: » wait until a tyre blows out at 140kmph and see how it goes.
CramCycle wrote: » Agree with this, I am in favour of permanent speed cameras the only negative being is that drivers learn tpositions and speed in between them which is the reason the permanent ones are avoided.
CramCycle wrote: » Unlikely to be much speeding in these scenarios
CramCycle wrote: » He counted his in half the time though, is it speed or numbers that matter.
? Having driven a 8 wheeler rigid body truck, just like my father, this is so wrong its unbelievable. Despite what many Irish drivers believe, a truck should always give way to smaller traffic for safety reasons when needed. The only thing I can think you meant is hook turning at tight junctions, they should always be cautious in these scenarios and complete the maneuver when safe and clear.
Jawgap wrote: » .......in a testicle counting competition :pac:
CramCycle wrote: » ..... I have as many tour de france titles as he has, how many Audax events has he completed, that where the competition lies. .....
Pinch Flat wrote: » Headphones Tolls for bikes Nct for bikes Buy a car / why can't you afford a car Arrogance
topper75 wrote: » Is somebody posting in July 2014 writing about wannabe Lance Armstrongs?!
oak5548 wrote: » Every car driver knows that driving at slow speeds is dangerous and impedes every other road user.
Infact, you FAIL your driving test for being too slow.
So what gives cyclists the right to refuse to move 1 meter to the left,
stop getting in peoples way,
stop ignoring cycle lanes which were built costing millions,
Yes the road has to be shared, but its a two way street. Truck drivers have to take up as much space as possible and manouver their truck in a way that often straddles 2 lanes and they have to assert themselves over other road users.
blackwhite wrote: » Yet, there's a serious attitude problem with most on here whereby anyone saying anything negative about any individual cyclist's behaviour is immediately attacked by people who position themselves on the "cyclists' side" of the debate. Same thing happens, albeit it seems to a lesser degree, in the reverse scenario also.
In regard to the speeding enforcement v RLJ enforcement argument: I think someone doing 130kmph, or even 140kmph, on the M9 is less of a danger to others than a cyclist RLJing at a busy pedestrian crossing.
TBH, a garda sitting on his own in a marked car with a "hairdryer" is usually an extremely inefficient use of resources. Speed surveillance should be carried out by unmarked vans, and be primarily targeted at accident black spots
and at areas of high volumes of traffic/cyclist/pedestrian interaction.
Guards in marked cars should only be involved in traffic matters for visible checkpoints where tax/insurance/NCT/tyres and lights should all be checked.
The majority of the traffic corps should be in unmarked cars or on motorbikes, and enforcement should be on all traffic offences, not just whatever the latest media campaign is about.
Pinch Flat wrote: » Ah jaybus I'm guessing the following have been covered: Red lights Headphones Hi-vis Cycling 2 abreast Having fun with each other / talking Lycra Mamils Insurance / tax Tolls for bikes Bike registration Nct for bikes Buy a car / why can't you afford a car Sweat / body odour Arrogance Am I close?
endacl wrote: » Feckin' Stephen Kelly wannabes. :mad:
Jawgap wrote: » .....and cycled on the wrong side of the roadLook at this shower blocking traffic - surely they must see the driver flashing his lights
Jawgap wrote: » I was counting the two heads between the four
Jawgap wrote: » Six across (at least) - city centre road - at least one not wearing a helmet ........and JACKPOT! They're on Dublin bikes.......
Jawgap wrote: » Yep - in Merrion Square recently I saw 6 abreast......and I've photo evidence to back it up....... .......what do I win?
RobbieTheRobber wrote: » And not a piece of hi-viz amongst them all, unless we include the illuminous runners on one of them. :mad:
Pinch Flat wrote: » At least they're wearing helmets. But no hi-vis..and they broke a red light at Westland Row
gadetra wrote: » Jawgap that's only 4. Must try harder. Although extra points for them taking over both sides of the road.
oak5548 wrote: » Cyclists are just an odd bunch of people. They outright refuse to use cycle lanes and come up with every excuse possible, the most common being they're full of glass and debris (they rarely are). Unfortunately they dont cater to the wannabe lance armstrongs who treat the road as their own personal exercise space. Recently in the commuting and transport forum there was a massive thread on hi-viz jackets and nearly every cyclist commenting said hi-viz was stupid and pointless. They're a gigantic pain in the arse to deal with tbh as a safe driver and casual cyclist myself. Also I suppose the fact that we're using boards.ie doesnt help with the smart arse comments, inflated egos, and reverse psychology everyone seems to display. Every single thread = disagree with the op because my opinion = correct.
oak5548 wrote: » Are you just part of the cyclist circle-jerk or are you going to tell me what part of the post was bullcrap? I get the feeling most arrogant cyclists dont even have licenses. Every car driver knows that driving at slow speeds is dangerous and impedes every other road user. Infact, you FAIL your driving test for being too slow.So what gives cyclists the right to refuse to move 1 meter to the left, stop getting in peoples way, stop swerving erratically because they cant hold the handlebars steady, stop ignoring cycle lanes which were built costing millions, to stop cycling in packs of 5 abreast or more? Yes the road has to be shared, but its a two way street. Truck drivers have to take up as much space as possible and manouver their truck in a way that often straddles 2 lanes and they have to assert themselves over other road users. Cyclists dont seem to understand that either no do a lot of car drivers.
oak5548 wrote: » See this is the attitude I'm talking about. It's not worth arguing with a blind fool.
endacl wrote: » ..... Perhaps if boards had existed in the 19th century people would have been on it having good old irrational rantywhinges about highway tax v carriage tax, and pesky perambulators? :pac:
Tenzor07 wrote: » Ha! I recall getting shouted at before from a passenger in a moving car... "..here who the F.. dya think you are... Stephen Roche!!?""
PrzemoF wrote: » ... and really useful against some light cars? :eek: Or at least pedestrians
jimgoose wrote: » With locked shields, like strange mechanical Hoplites. Now that'd be pretty cool!
CramCycle wrote: » What is "my side"? Obeying the law? not wasting admin and garda time with stupid, costly and generally unenforceable ideas? not being blind to the fact that in every class of road user there are law breakers and none of them are superior to the other in this regard, they are all d*cks.