celt262 wrote: » If they can be let play a bit of football things will hopefully improve for next year. Apparently the players are fed up with the negative dire football so we will have to see changes or there will be problems next year.
klairondavis wrote: » Cavan will come good eventually. There's too much young talent for them not to progress further in the coming years. Whoever is Cavan's manager next year would be nuts to recall Johnston and potentially upset the harmony of their panel. Division 2 football will really help Cavan come on.
Lemlin wrote: » I was at the Dublin Kildare game last year and I thought the Kildare 'keeper was poor. He made a number of questionable decisions. Have Kildare not been rotating between two 'keepers? Either way, nobody from Kildare disputed Supple's claims at any stage so I'd believe them to be fact.
DARK-KNIGHT wrote: » i did think he could play a role ill admit that. Something makes me think supple was trying to get himself noticed tbh as a 3rd choice keeper. I seriously question supples claims as kildare have not had gk troubles but im not saying it didnt happen.I seen the highlights of that game and that banner was cringeworthy ill admit. Tbh i seen that other comment re johnston and just wanted to see what the lad was doing these days no offense meant.
Crash Bang Wall wrote: » I dont think the management needs to change, but the tactics definitely do. We have a poor forward line, and the service to it was very slow on Sat night. The loss of Mackey cannot be underestimated. He is the only player we have that can move the ball at speed, and carry it through tackles. But in short, the limited forwards we have need better and quicker service. If we had the Gooch and O'Donoghue in our ff line on Sat we still would have lost due to lack of service, and slow laborious build up. For me Terry doesnt have to go, but himself, Fordie and whoever else comes up with gameplans need to improve their ideas and speed up our play
Lemlin wrote: » I've never read an article where it was stated he looked for the move. I have read articles where Shane Supple says he was approached by Kildare so I'd imagine Johnston was also approached though.http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/supple-rejected-kildare-182574.html As for "discussing the madness", the Cavan setup had no involvement with Johnston when he left. He had been informed by letter and phone call that the panel was disbanded and he wasn't required. I'm not sure why you and another Kildare poster have decided to suddenly come onto the Cavan thread and bring this up tbh. Cavan got further last year without Johnston than we ever did with him so it appears the move was more than justified. Here's a video of Seanie the last time he left Breffni:http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ-_wK2VUkk I'm surprised after such a showing of support, your county has forgotten him so quickly. You weren't at the game that day but the chant throughout from the Kildare supporters was "Seanie is a Lily" and, as if that didn't drive it home enough, they had a large banner spelling out same. From what I hear the Cavan management and panel are happy to leave Seanie as a Lily. You'd have to ask the man himself why he chose to move back to the Gaels and make himself in eligible for Kildare. I know you did once post on this forum that you expected him to be "key" to the Kildare setup.
DARK-KNIGHT wrote: » has he attempted to get back on county team? Crazy what he did with looking for the move and screwing teammate s over and when didnt work out for him he went back to gaels. Surely someone must have tried to discuss the madness in all before he moved
Lemlin wrote: » No.
DARK-KNIGHT wrote: » Has seanie johnston returned to the cavan setup? Never paid any attention to him when he left the kildare camp tbh thought this best place to ask
Lemlin wrote: » We've a junior All Ireland semi final to play in Edinburgh yet. Not to mention our U16s in the final of the Gerry Reilly tournament.
Nib wrote: » Great to see this place is still active even though Cavan won't play a competitive game for 7 months. Bring back Seanie!
celt262 wrote: » I'm not wasting any more time going around in circles with one of Terry Hylands fan boys.
tayto lover wrote: » OK I can see that it could give confidence. What seems to be wrong in Cavan is that they don't seem to have a plan B for occasions when things are not going to the original plan i.e. this year's C/ship games. The system is too one-dimensional and not good to watch.
Tom Joad wrote: » Am not saying it does to be fair - am agreeing with previous poster on that point. What I am saying is that when you are used to getting beaten well by all comers at all levels like Cavan were it becomes a self fulfilling prophesy - manys the time Cavan were beaten before they took the field. Now Cavan teams at underage level have a bit of belief and swagger about them - they don't know when they are beat. Take this years Ulster final as a case in point - they were dead and buried going into stoppage time but still won. For a county as low as Cavan were this has made a big change to the senior level already. Underage success is no guarantee but when you have 4 in a row at under 21 it gives something to build on.
tayto lover wrote: » That is a rarity in fairness. What have the successful Galway U 21's won since their All Ireland ? Underage success does not necessarily guarantee senior success.
Tom Joad wrote: » I agree with you but what success at underage level gives you is more confidence and also a winning mentality. Martin McHugh often spoke about how Cavan were a nice team and quite happy to put in a decent display but had no ruthlessness needed to win - Kildare in newbridge a few years ago is a case in point. The difference with the young lads coming through is that they expect to win nearly against Tyrone and Donegal and the likes - they have left the nice soft team or inferiority complex that existed in Cavan football for too long behind them. Alan Clarke has often spoken about last year about the young lads with pockets full of medals putting it up to the senior lads and the hunger they had for more success.
Boom__Boom wrote: » It's one of my pet peeves with GAA folk - don't get me started on the whole "we won a minor All-Ireland therefore we will pick up Sam/Liam in five years" taking no account of how nerves/who performs on the day is absolutely massive at that age level, or getting the break of a ball,or a lucky draw or getting the right decisions from a referee at the right time,or the fact that some of the lads won't develop on to seniors or will pick up injuries. Cavan have a good base with their Ulster U21 wins but at senior level those medals and cups means zilch, players have to go out and win their battles all over again - and more likely than not against lads looking for revenge for being beaten before.
baconsarnie wrote: » celt262 wrote: » Lemlin wrote: » I'm not sure what way to read this, but are you saying players that some people rate aren't any good? Yes certain players are not up to standard. If, after arguing at length that it is tactics & poor management that has us at this "new low" you are in fact suggesting that we don't have the players, then what can you do? Who is to blame?I'm saying that some players are over rated. Some players are not given a chance. Who do you blame for the mess we have seen this summer? Either you think the players are there and are being shackled by management or you think that there is no talent there- in which case, why constantly advocate for a change at the top? What will that bring about? Where have I constantly looked for a change at the top? And, yes, it has not been amazing to watch- but it gives us a platform. I remember talking to a mate from Donegal years ago. He cared less for begrudgers for their style of play. He said he had seen enough of Donegal losing while playing asthetically pleasing football- winning does matter. Winning matters but losing to Roscommon like that also matters.
celt262 wrote: » Lemlin wrote: » I'm not sure what way to read this, but are you saying players that some people rate aren't any good? Yes certain players are not up to standard. If, after arguing at length that it is tactics & poor management that has us at this "new low" you are in fact suggesting that we don't have the players, then what can you do? Who is to blame?I'm saying that some players are over rated. Some players are not given a chance. Who do you blame for the mess we have seen this summer? Either you think the players are there and are being shackled by management or you think that there is no talent there- in which case, why constantly advocate for a change at the top? What will that bring about? Where have I constantly looked for a change at the top? And, yes, it has not been amazing to watch- but it gives us a platform. I remember talking to a mate from Donegal years ago. He cared less for begrudgers for their style of play. He said he had seen enough of Donegal losing while playing asthetically pleasing football- winning does matter. Winning matters but losing to Roscommon like that also matters.
Lemlin wrote: » I'm not sure what way to read this, but are you saying players that some people rate aren't any good? Yes certain players are not up to standard. If, after arguing at length that it is tactics & poor management that has us at this "new low" you are in fact suggesting that we don't have the players, then what can you do? Who is to blame?I'm saying that some players are over rated. Some players are not given a chance. Who do you blame for the mess we have seen this summer? Either you think the players are there and are being shackled by management or you think that there is no talent there- in which case, why constantly advocate for a change at the top? What will that bring about? Where have I constantly looked for a change at the top? And, yes, it has not been amazing to watch- but it gives us a platform. I remember talking to a mate from Donegal years ago. He cared less for begrudgers for their style of play. He said he had seen enough of Donegal losing while playing asthetically pleasing football- winning does matter. Winning matters but losing to Roscommon like that also matters.
I'm not sure what way to read this, but are you saying players that some people rate aren't any good?
Either you think the players are there and are being shackled by management or you think that there is no talent there- in which case, why constantly advocate for a change at the top? What will that bring about?
Lemlin wrote: » Exactly. And people only need to look at Galway. The actually won two U21 All Irelands, comprehensively beating us in the final of one. Their U21s were also becoming part of a far more talented and successful senior team than ours yet success has not automatically followed.
Boom__Boom wrote: » Well worth reminding folk giving out where Cavan have come from - people also need to remember well that U21 success does not mean senior success will follow automatically. If people want a reminder of how relevant U21 success is they can look at the Cork v Kerry game from last weekend and the Munster U21 final Cork won in 2011. In 2011 it was Cork 2-24 Kerry 0-08 in that game and from that night Walsh, Clancy, Cahalane, O'Rourke and O'Driscoll started for Cork at the weekend while for Kerry O'Donoghue, O'Brien, Geaney and Kelly started. There was a couple more subs on both sides. Last weekend Kerry 0-24 Cork 0-12 with 0-14 from 3 of the lads who started that U21 Munster final for Kerry.