ManOfMystery wrote: » So, what if the residents were given some kind of sweetener?
flasher0030 wrote: » If Brooks cancelled all 5 gigs, where would people's fury be directed at - Brooks himself or GAA/Aikens.
HardLuckWoman wrote: » Not a hope for monday and tuesday. Go for sunday tickets nevermind the comment saying the first three will be cancelled as well....Even if it does, you will get a refund. It wont come to it. The council satisfied the residents. GB wont pull out of the gigs, no way he will do that to his fans.
peejay1986 wrote: » Hahaha good luck in life if this is your attitude. Fight the power! :rolleyes:
shoppergal wrote: » Don't know what to do. There are tickets on ticketmaster for the Sunday night. Afraid that if i buy them and something happens to save the Tuesday night that i'll be left with two lots of tickets. Does anyone know likely is it that something will happen to allow the Monday & Tuesday night to go ahead?
CTYIgirl wrote: » I'm reading this in dismay. To everyone who is losing out because their date is cancelled, I'm sorry. But as someone who spends between 3 and 5 nights a week living in the area around Croke Park, I'm delighted. Residents accept that GAA matches happen. Residents accept three concerts a year. But to have five concerts - in a row, with three on weeknights - is ridiculous. On a day that something happens in Croke Park I can't move the car after about noon, because there will be no parking space when I return. I can't get a train, because the train station is completely full. Buses are stopped at both sides of Clonliffe Road to pick up and drop off people going to and from the events. I'm sorry you're missing out on a concert that you're looking forward to, I really am. But if the GAA and Aiken had listened to residents requests (which weren't a lot, the main one was that the concerts be changed to Friday/Saturday/Sunday/Friday/Saturday), things would have been a lot easier. (Also, you should get a full refund back from Irish Rail because of how far in advance you're cancelling. Good luck to anyone getting refunds)
sydthebeat wrote: » are you telling me that the hotels, who would have hiked their prices originally because of demand, and now have the opportunity to receive payment "on the double" for each room not used.... are not guilty of greed??? that insurance rate (not only being extortinate!) could have meant the difference between a booking and not. theres good business sense, and then theres good will. Without these concerts these rooms would have been at a certain rate and would have struggled to be filled. They are having their windfall ANYWAY. if you think they are LOSING money, its you who needs to wise up.
flasher0030 wrote: » Hotels are not charities - they are a business, to make money to pay for staff, and hopefully reward the owners handsomely.
peejay1986 wrote: » It does. Why should they give up their takings when they gave the buyer EVERY CHANCE to cover themselves if such an event happened? They've acted correctly, it's the buyer who felt the need to take the risk rather than shelling out €10-20 on the insurance in case this happened. If they give back the money then there's really no point in having the 2 different rates in the first place. You're being a bit innocent if you're expecting businesses which, having done nothing wrong, and having put the correct procedures in place, are going to hand back money knowing that most of those rooms are more than likely going to remain empty at this stage. Wise up. Everyone has the right to run a business and make a profit, and so long as they didn't shaft people by giving them no insurance option, then I've no issue with the hotels. They're the least of the issues in the matter.
Why should they be out of pocket
sydthebeat wrote: » none of which counters my argument that holding the bookings is nothing more than greed.
Larbre34 wrote: » I wouldnt bother, nights 1-3 will soon be cancelled. Probably due to a combination of the contract being breached, Aiken going bust and the residents going to court anyway. Do not throw good money after bad.
bluemachaveli wrote: » I still reckon they would find a way. May not be above board but they would. Ennis road lads would be grand, they would welcome Gareth with open arms and a bag of cans
sydthebeat wrote: » because its middle aged crowd on a monday and tuesday night going to garth brooks.... not a bunch of 15-16 yos going to swedish house mafia pissed and banging to the heavens. some perspective please.
Larbre34 wrote: » Yes but that depends on whatever planning laws are already in place for the City, no more than DCC they cant just make it up to suit the situation. And what of the Ennis Road residents?