Reekwind wrote: » It always baffles me how people from Ireland - a country that should count people amongst its primary exports - can have such blinkered, intolerant and ignorant views on immigration.
bear1 wrote: » Right well then now it's tricky. My father is Irish and I was born in London but spent most of my life in Ireland. PPS number/passport/driving licence ecc is Irish. So by this logic my child would have to apply for citizenship?
If you were born outside Ireland to an Irish citizen who was himself or herself born outside Ireland and if any of your grandparents was born in Ireland, then you are entitled to become an Irish citizen. However before you can claim Irish citizenship, you must have your birth registered in the Foreign Births Register, which is maintained by the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade - see 'How to apply' below. If you are entitled to register, your Irish citizenship is effective from the date of registration - not from the date when you were born.
Pocoyo wrote: » I take offense to an obese asylum seeker taken a plane to ireland under the guise of a holiday or visiting family,When genuine asylum seekers(warzone inhabitants) dont have that luxury. Its time to restrict asylum seekers to countries officially at war only. On another note do these roma gypsies have free open access to ireland now? Im seeing hundreds of them everywhere yet i have yet to see one working anywhere after years of their community being in ireland you would expect to see one in employment even if it were in a mc donalds.... I genuinely have not seen one of them working!!!!! But i have held and rang the gardai on at least 20/30 of them in my former job as a retail security guard. It got to the point where if a female gypsy enters the shop you simply following them using the camera system and more than likely you will catch them shop lifting. If anyone else in security is reading this they will back me up i admit this can be seen as is racial profiling but its fact and true.
Fred Swanson wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Donkey Oaty wrote: » It's not the same as a full application, as far as I know - it's more of a "claim" that needs to be registered.Citizens Advice states:
Donkey Oaty wrote: » Story here.http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/rally-challenges-citizenship-restrictions-1.1829001 Key quote for everyone to get outraged over:
AnonoBoy wrote: » Direct provision is a ridiculous limbo. The system has to be overhauled. We need to get people through and dealt with quicker - make them leave or let them stay based on their individual cases but keeping them in direct provision for years is stupid and inhumane.
vitani wrote: » Oh, FFS. This has to be one of the most ignorant, offensive posts I've ever read on here, and that's saying something.
Arthur Beesley wrote: » It's not really. A major part of the delay is the bogus applicants using every appeal process in the book to delay the inevitable. It is cheaper to keep them in direct provision, and given that the majority of them are not legitimate asylum seekers, they have the option to leave if they are not satisfied.
Alf. A. Male wrote: » No, she was clearly referring to the asylum system and in particular direct provision. At least get outraged over the right thing.
vitani wrote: » Whatever about the reasons for her claiming asylum, can we stop pretending that the direct provision system is some kind of haven for asylum seekers?
No Pants wrote: » And since it's Mosney, in keeping with the spirit of the place, there could be a trapdoor at the hearing. If the decision doesn't go their way, the trapdoor opens, they drop into a waterslide which deposits them in the sea.
primary exports - can have such blinkered, intolerant and ignorant views on immigration.
Reekwind wrote: » It always baffles me how anyone from Ireland - a country that should count people amongst its primary exports - can have such blinkered, intolerant and ignorant views on immigration.
Arthur Beesley wrote: » It's not really. A major part of the delay is the bogus applicants using every appeal process in the book to delay the inevitable.
genuine people who haven't even had their case heard once and have been here for years living in squalid accommodation
No Pants wrote: » Pamela Izevbekhai anyone?
AnonoBoy wrote: » And what about the genuine people who haven't even had their case heard once and have been here for years living in squalid accommodation, unable to work, not allowed cook their own meals? It's a ridiculous limbo and should be sorted out.
Muise... wrote: » Six Prejudices in Search of a Point, by LooLa Pirandello.
RDM_83 again wrote: » had a positive experience with some one from the Roma community
BBJBIG wrote: » That is because by-and-large we are sending abroad well-rounded, well-educated, well-skilled and hardworking individuals. What we get coming in by-and-large is riff raff from 3rd World countries that nobody else wants and looking to undercut the local workforce in a race to the bottom. Soon we'll end up like the yUK - a pure dumping ground for the dregs of humanity.
No Pants wrote: » Got a lovely bag of chips from them once.
foggy_lad wrote: » Also a huge number go missing every year and are working under the radar in shops, restaurants and take-aways
BBJBIG wrote: » That is because(............. )ground for the dregs of humanity.
smurfjed wrote: » To me the concept of asylum is that you are fleeing your own country and will seek safety in the FIRST safe country that you reach, so please explain to me how they "genuine people" ended up in Ireland?
Muise... wrote: » Their range of pasta and tinned tomatoes is not bad either.
Nodin wrote: » What it means 'to you' is irrelevant.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59465073&postcount=1
RDM_83 again wrote: » Nice so I take from your ignoring the question you have never had a positive experience with some one from the roma community in ireland either then, how many negative experiences have you had.
RDM_83 again wrote: » I get why they have that rule in the politics forum but AFAIK it only actually excludes people that get transfer flights and never clear immigration e.g Home Country > Heathrow > Irish airport everything else is covered by the Dublin rules on entering a country illegally or receiving a visa (since they will be from outside the EU free travel area)
Arthur Beesley wrote: » Legally they are required to apply in the first EU country they arrive in.......