seamus wrote: » Ah lads, TireeTerror has you hook, line and sinker. Tells you that he loves selling door-to-door, that he can charm the pants off anyone, that he ignores your "do not call" sign, that everyone else is clearly a mindless boring idiot and to stick a cherry on top he says he doesn't pay tax. He hung a big hook out there with a big juicy worm on it and ye couldn't help yourselves.
TireeTerror wrote: » Yeah Ive met your type before, spouting all the hardman talk on the internet, the typical keyboard warrior. In reality usually the louder people shout online, the more timid they are in real life. Usually they are victims of a poor childhood, bullying at school etc etc, so ranting on forums online is a way for them to feel more manly. The mere fact you think all of these companies are scamming you just says it all, closed mind and not able to see a better offer when its staring you in the face. If you feel so desperate as you sound, perhaps you should ask the companies concerned to add you to their "Do Not Call" register and your address will be removed from the handheld devices most modern salesforces use. 15 years knocking on doors and I can assure you I have met every single type of person and its extremely rare that anyone is overly aggressive, its not easy to be aggressive to someone who is charming and good looking and well presented and knows their product inside out. In fact several timers per day as I'm acquiring the customers bank details, they would say "You know I dont normally ever do this, switch at the door, I dont even know why I am now....." and I just smile and tell them "I get that all the time!". Regardless of what anyone posts up here, most people love a bit of charm, especially in Ireland where its seriously lacking in general day to day exchanges. I have never met so many moody and depressed people serving me in shops than I have in Ireland, its quite frankly unbelievable considering employers have a huge choice given the unemployment levels at present. The other day a woman from Nigeria I think, served me at my local Aldi and she was bursting with enthusiasm, scanning items at 1000 miles per hour, chatting away, joking and laughing, it was a great thing to see. When I looked up from putting my pin number in the card machine, I could see all the people in the queue behind me smiling at the way she was behaving. Posting this reminds me that I promised myself that I would email Aldi to let them know how great a job she was doing.
TireeTerror wrote: » If you are insinuating I am a troll, let me tell you that is the most hideous thing I have ever heard in my life.....
Greenmachine wrote: » I don't answer my door.
Wibbs wrote: » After all he bought the books and tapes
TireeTerror wrote: » Some of your points have basis, but they are overshadowed by some of the abusive ways you describe people out trying to make a living. Ive a very thick skin, I would have to in order to succeed at direct sales so Im not bothered personally,
but calling people gimps etc is more a reflection upon yourself than the sales person.
I suppose you would rather all salesman were sacked and they joined the dole queue and claimed off the state instead of doing what many consider to be a very difficult job in order to make their way in life.
I think you have not had someone like me come to your door,
BTW, the people who are rude when they first open the door, are usually much easier to change over. I have always found that to be true regardless of what product I have been offering.
TireeTerror wrote: » Im Pacino, always closing!
Donkey Oaty wrote: » Anyone ever seen the movie "Glengarry Glen Ross"? I'm wondering which character from that TireeTerror most resembles.
TireeTerror wrote: » Spread the love. Have a hug.
looking_around wrote: » I hate people like you.:mad:
Wibbs wrote: » Nope, sorry. No bullying, great childhood and all that. What I'd say to you here I'd say to your face no bother at all. Indeed if anything Boards.ie's rules of conduct render me nicer on here and made me a nicer human being. *bats eyelids and points at dimples*. Well nicer online anyway. In the real world I avoid conflict and generally don't respond to eejits, but if they're uninvited and pushy while feeding me rehearsed BS... Let's just say I have zero loyalty to social codes of staying quiet and will tell them to bugger off. Bollocks. Airtricity has a well known air of ballsology with their third part door to door reps and their parent company was fined millions for misleading people. Eircom phonewatch in reality is about as much use as tits on a bull. Too easily bypassed and even if it's not you're relying on the Guards to show up in time(after the delay in informing them). That's just for starters. There's no such thing as a free lunch folks. If something needs on the doorstep pressured selling that should tell you something of the quality involved. Already have. Only reduced the infestation on my time. Oh man I'm lolling here. :pac: The mind of the salesman. I suppose if one falls so easily for delusions it can be easy to force same on others. Actually I have found that to be the case. The best salesmen I know fall much more easily for others sales tactics. A close mate of mine makes mid six figures a year in high end sales and he'd be the first to admit a certain weakness in his choices when faced with other good sales types. You'd think it would give you more insight, but apparently not. He reckons it's the thrill of the sale itself, regardless of which side you're on, so a sales type gets a bigger buzz than a civilian. I'd agree with him. You sound like a religious nut at this stage. Or an Amway rep or some other pyramid schemer who bought the self help and sales and how to win friends and influence people books. Keep drinking that Kool aid. Whatever floats your boat and all that. Oh man, this keeps getting better. Actually people are generally appalling at reading other people. Hence they fall for BS on a near daily basis. Sales of the hard sell type rely on this. From snakeoil salesmen to vaccum salesmen to car dealers. That's before we get to advertising. Or god forbid do your own research on utilities and services without singing up to a contract on the spur of the moment while giving some uninvited gimp you've just met your bank details. Basically door to door hawkers of all hues are human spam. Irritating, uninvited and can be dodgy. I've a spam filter for my email so why not for my life?
TireeTerror wrote: » Dealer? I have been cold calling since 2001. Love it.
TireeTerror wrote: » Yeah Ive met your type before, spouting all the hardman talk on the internet, the typical keyboard warrior. In reality usually the louder people shout online, the more timid they are in real life. Usually they are victims of a poor childhood, bullying at school etc etc, so ranting on forums online is a way for them to feel more manly.
The mere fact you think all of these companies are scamming you just says it all, closed mind and not able to see a better offer when its staring you in the face.
If you feel so desperate as you sound, perhaps you should ask the companies concerned to add you to their "Do Not Call" register and your address will be removed from the handheld devices most modern salesforces use.
15 years knocking on doors and I can assure you I have met every single type of person and its extremely rare that anyone is overly aggressive, its not easy to be aggressive to someone who is charming and good looking and well presented and knows their product inside out.
In fact several timers per day as I'm acquiring the customers bank details, they would say "You know I dont normally ever do this, switch at the door, I dont even know why I am now....." and I just smile and tell them "I get that all the time!".
Its rarely a big deal giving bank details, especially if the representative is wearing a full uniform, has ID which can be verified and is not a total scumbag.
People are very good at reading people,
If you think about it, its a much bigger risk using your credit or debit card at a handheld terminal in a shop, that card number would allow someone to buy things online etc, a sortcode and account number, or IBAN and BIC will not allow that as you don't use them for purchasing goods online.
Wibbs wrote: » I already have a sign up in plain view. Sod off coldcallers or more polite words to that effect. I got a real pain in my arse with these spammers calling on a near daily basis. Vodafone, eircom phonewatch(an utter scam IMH), airtricity were about the worst and another scam. I let my dog answer the door to one repeat offender gobshíte who appeared to not understand the word no. This particular piece of work tried to scam my own mother who suffers from dementia, so not happy was I(before the bleeding hearts chime in there was a glass porch door between the gobshíte and angry hairy fanged death. This disappointed the hound no end). He didn't return, but others did, hence I put up a sign a couple of years ago. The religious types stopped entirely and fair play. It seems they can read and are much less pushy than your airtricity types. However even with that the salesman muppets still call the odd time. Only last weekend I had one amadan knock on my door at 5 PM on a Sunday on a bank holiday weekend. WTF? This particular moron apparently couldn't read and also couldn't figure out why I didn't want to hear his BS spiel of a weekend. I was not polite in my response. I neither need nor want to hear about your crappy service being pushed in my face or over the phone. If I want a service or goods I'll make my own mind up thanks so bog off please and thank you. *EDIT* Please, please come to my door. When faced with the BS of the door to door salesman who has decided to ignore my clear instruction therefore marking them out as a thundering prick, I will respond with far more in kind and would be only too happy to demonstrate this to any who want to disturb me and mine in my own home after they've been asked not to.
as I'm acquiring the customers bank details, they would say "You know I dont normally ever do this, switch at the door, I dont even know why I am now....." and I just smile and tell them "I get that all the time!".
TireeTerror wrote: » I would totally ignore that sign, in fact if I seen it it tells me that you probably are unlikely to be aware of the latest offerings in the markets as most will have avoided you. That sign is like an open invitation, plus it lets me know the type of person you are likely to be and I will adjust my pitch accordingly and I guarantee you that I would switch you to whatever I was offering. People with signs like this are the easiest people to switch. Usually they are not the pricks they think they are, but in actual fact they have a good sense of humour and therefore its easier to get a bit of banter going and then when they like you, they switch anyway.