Pugsly wrote: » Not so sure about the L plate business. I recall them cracking down on that before and there was a public backlash about the fact they were making it impossible for some people to go to work given they were just learners and could have a full licence driver with them all the time.
Deleted User wrote: » Rural Ireland. Learner`s driving on their own. Kids driving vehicles, All the norm in my parts. Yesterday I witnessed a local lad of 11 driving his dads van, its common to see lads from the local secondary school aged around 13-15 driving vehicles. I know many learner drivers who havent passed the driving test and have no plan to pass the test and yet continue to drive on their own. The local Garda knows all about this but when he himself is a constant drink driver and plays GAA with all the locals. Sometimes I feel like I live in the WILD WILD West! When will the Gardai stop this madness!
Shiraz 4.99 wrote: » I work with 3 current learners & realistically the Motorway is their only route to work. Simple answer was to take down their L plates, it's the equivalent of having a big flashing neon sign on your car saying pull me.
Big Steve wrote: » I had one of those signs on my car before. I was told to take it down by the gardai
Shiraz 4.99 wrote: » I work with 3 current learners & realistically the Motorway is their only route to work.
seamus wrote: » Realistically nothing, they have chosen to use the motorway to get to work because it is convenient. If they started the job before they started driving, then at some point they got to work without driving. If they started driving before they got the job, then they took the job knowing full well that they would use the motorway to get there. It's one thing which always irritates me about driving is the sense of entitlement, this idea that you have to break the law in some circumstances because you have no choice. It's almost always an excuse to justify breaking the law for one's own convenience and not a statement of truth.
Pugsly wrote: » Except life isn't that simple and its not all about convenience and entitlement. Some times its about necessity. Many people myself included lived in towns and cities where there was employment close by and didn't need a car. A lot of peoples circumstances have changed over the last few years and it may not have been really feasible for some to sit around waiting to get a full driving licence and incurring the cost that goes with that before seeking or accepting employment and a steady income that required a car to get to.
intellectual dosser wrote: » The Law is the Law.....nothing justifies breaking it.
intellectual dosser wrote: » The Law is the Law. Our country may not have a great record of implementing but nothing justifies breaking it.
Pugsly wrote: » That doesn't mean that anyone who does so is doing so out of a sense of entitlement though. Sometimes people are forced by circumstance to take the risk.
intellectual dosser wrote: » Well I still think they shouldnt be putting themselves in a position where they dont have a viable transport solution available to them, but even so, do you agree that these people should still be prosecuted if/when caught?
Pugsly wrote: » That's why I brought it up. I said in my other post I wast sure about it. They did crack down on it a while ago but there was some public backlash over it as a lot of stories emegred about people who had just learned to drive to find work and them not being forced to quit and sign on if they couldn't drive. I think it should probably be down to the discretion of the Gardai dealing with it. I'm not sure a blanket policy iron fist no quarter approach can work with these types of things. If its a person on their way to work I think they could be let slide with a warning or whatever.
Dian Cecht wrote: » Fair enough. But if they decide to "take the risk" and get caught they should accept the consequences too. This country is a joke. People get off with "he/she had a tough childhood blah, blah" and have a crap load of previous convictions !
Deleted User wrote: » Whats the point? The Local Garda is a drink driver and knows about all that is going on, the main Garda Station in Roscommon dont like to venture out to the villages and leave the policing to the local Garda, and I doubt they would step on the toes of the local Garda. And I wouldnt trust them not to mention my name and Im the one who would get the hassle! I just wish a Traffic corp vehicle sat in our village for a day, the revenue it could make, Ireland would be debt free!
Alf. A. Male wrote: » Did they help you to remove it? Or did they make you pull it off yourself?
TheBrinch wrote: » I think most learner drivers dont give a crap because the driving test is a money making scheme and they have a certain percentage of people they have to pass and have to fail...throwing away 85 quid every few months when they could fail you for no reason is ridiculous.Ive been driving on a learner permit for the past 5 years and I have no intention of doing a driving test anytime soon. Its a joke really.