Karl Stein wrote: » And that's the thing. They knew which kids didn't have a Mother/Father Uncle/Aunt who'd come to stand up for them. Little kids whose childhood was fear of violence and abuse when it should have been about being a happy kid.
KKkitty wrote: » My mother was born out of wedlock and raised by her grandparents but when she herself fell pregnant out of wedlock she was forced into a mother and baby home by god fearing relatives. While she was in labour she was slapped and told to shut up. That's what you get for your sins she was told. This find in Tuam shows a very disturbing side to the RCC but it will undoubtedly go unpunished. How many birth mothers are hearing of this atrocity and wondering if it was their son or daughter that was buried in a septic tank
Tardful Slakerly wrote: » Even the word buried lends a dignity that these kids didn't receive.
According to SVERRE HELGESEN: "Ronna Ricardo ... told me a few things about ritual masonic abuse of children, involving many top people. "She was involved in supplying young girls... "She was involved with Ward in trying to get a camera in to take photos of the abuses... "She knew of one 10 year-old girl who disappeared after being taken to hospital by the police. Just vanished. "There were rumours of an orphanage in Ireland (Ronna had contacts in the IRA) where men she named for me filmed children being abused by people specially chosen for blackmail - as they were being slowly strangled to death by Anthony Blunt. Snuff-movies."
Micky Dolenz wrote: » The blame for this can't solely be put at the feet of the RCC. Our grandparents are every much to blame, our police service, our social services, our people. This is bigger than an organisation. Irish people did this and other Irish people allowed it to happen.
denhaagenite wrote: » Petition's at 7,000 now, moving quickly in the last few minutes but still thought it would be quicker getting to the paltry 10,000 mark. Sign and share, it might seem pointless but I think social media is the only way to go with this. Public pressure!!http://www.avaaz.org/en/petition/Frances_Fitzgerald_Irish_Minister_for_Justice_and_Equality_A_full_Gardai_investigation_into_the_mass_grave_in_Tuam_Co_Ga/?copy
Tarzana wrote: » I doubt many laypeople knew what was going on, or if they had some inkling, the extent of it. I don't think it's fair to blame everyone in Ireland who happened to be an adult at that time. And it shifts focus away from the perpetrators.
steddyeddy wrote: » Do you know what Kitty, a friend of mine got pregnant years ago and gave birth in a rural part of Ireland. A nun came into the ward and told my friend "It's not all fun and games now" during the birth. Bitter virgins that's all they were.
KKkitty wrote: » I'm kinda on the fence with my religious beliefs but this discovery would nearly cement the fact that the RCC was nothing but a money grabbing, sexually and morally depraved organisation. Not all priests are bad though and I'm sure some were bullied themselves while this was going on if they threatened to speak out.
porsche959 wrote: » Thousands and thousands turned a blind eye. They may not have known for a fact but it's clear that many turned a blind eye and did nothing about it.
Tarzana wrote: » I doubt many laypeople knew what was going on, or if they had some inkling, the extent of it.
Tarzana wrote: » I don't think it's fair to blame everyone in Ireland who happened to be an adult at that time.
Tarzana wrote: » And it shifts focus away from the perpetrators.
Manach wrote: » Since I'd not found the original article this story is based on, my query is; what would be an acceptable mortality rate? -if this was being run by either by solely the Irish state at the time (as was suggested in hindsight by Poly Tolybee), or compared with countries on the continent institutions during that time period. With the medical and financial constraints of the time.
Recognition Scene wrote: » Some of the doublethink defending the church going on in this thread makes me despair. What financial constraints? These homes were receiving an inordinate amount of money from the state to (supposedly) look after these children.
Manach wrote: » Simple question - would the state have done a better job, and I'm unsure what is "an inordinate amount"?
porsche959 wrote: » When you say "laypeople", do you include the guards that refused to investigate (and for example, there are reports on the record that in several cases, kids that ran away from homes and reported physical and/or sex abuse were taken into custody in garda stations and then escorted back to the home the day after?) and senior civil servants that failed to do the jobs they were paid by the taxpayer to do?
Tarzana wrote: » No, of course not. The people you mention above are as much to blame. I mean people who weren't in the RC church or affiliated professions. And that would be a lot of people. Blaming Irish people of that generation in their entirety allows blame to be diluted. You're doing the RC church a favour by doing that.
porsche959 wrote: » But it's not doublethink to ask why the role of child care was basically, sub-contracted to Roman Catholic Church for large period in recent history - and to some extent, still is.