mrsbyrne wrote: » I see that even before any of us have signed the petition, the investigation is over for a lot of posters. Apparently exactly 800 babies were murdered by the nuns, nobody here on A&A really cares how where why or when. All that matters to some folk is that we seem to have the magic ingredients 1. Dead babies 2. Nuns Don't let's be bothered with a proper investigation . Don't show any sensitivity to the families of these babies who maybe still alive and suffering horrendously as a result of this discovery. Just get me my pitchfork im in a mood to lynch some religious. We don't need know investigation. Its murder! Murder I tells ya!
We are calling for a full, official investigation of the deaths of the 796 children who's bodies were found in a mass grave in Tuam. The children are believed to have died while in the custody of the religious order of Bon Secours Sisters, between 1925 and 1961. The mortality rate for these children was 2 to 3 times higher than the national rate of infant mortality, and contemporaneous reports into the state of the home describe malnourished, uncared for children, despite the fact that the Irish State was providing financial remuneration to the Bon Secours Sisters for each child in their custody. The Gardaí need to fully investigate this without further delay and prosecutions must be made if anyone still living is found criminally liable. Anyone interfering with or refusing to cooperate with the investigation should also be charged.
I Heart Internet wrote: » Where is the evidence that 800 people died, were deliberatly murdered in fact, from being withheld food in this particular institution?
Brian Shanahan wrote: » I am getting angry because people like Ryan are trivialising or trying to deny the deliberate murder (and don't kid yourself if you think otherwise) of 800 children by their state appointed guardians.
Lisha wrote: » Murder by neglect and abuse is still murder.
I Heart Internet wrote: » Has the site been excavated? How do you know there are 800 human remains there? Can you know for sure there are not 80 bodies? Or 8,000?
Brian Shanahan wrote: » Ye are all trying to minimise and deny the facts as laid down before ye. Just like a lot of Germans who denied the holocaust after being shown what happened by the Allies after the war, ye are trying to deny that a great evil happened. Ye should be ashamed.
I Heart Internet wrote: » Ah now....
robindch wrote: » That comment is uncalled for. Everybody - whilst this is an emotive topic, it's best dealt with with as much calm as each poster can manage.
Brian Shanahan wrote: » 800 kids were murdered in this "care home" and their murders covered up by the perpetrators,
I Heart Internet wrote: » No. That's not what I'm saying. I'm saying that we should aim to answer all (or as many as possible) of the questions (and more) you list above. It's the least any human being buried there deserves, rather than seeking to attribute blame (for something, we're not quite sure what), in a vacumn. I don;t think I will ever visit the site, same as most people on here. That shouldn't preclude me (or anyone else) from speaking about it. But I reccomend we hold off on the trail and punishment (of who? We don't even know that) until a full investigation gets to the bottom of it.
Yet you claim to know what happened. Have you presented your evidence to the Gardai? Another poster on this thread claimed to "know" what happened at Tuam as well. If everybody who "knows' what happened at Tuam r any other potential scene of crime would simply present themselves at a Garda station and make a statement then it would expediate each investigation and the Guards could move swiftly through the process to where arrests could be made.
Czarcasm wrote: » Jesus fcuking Christ, the sheer arrogance of it. You honestly think you're "better" than another human being because you think you're morally superior to them?
I Heart Internet wrote: » Yes. It matters a great deal. Because then we will know how many people were buried there. But you're right. One incident of mistreatement is too many.
mrsbyrne wrote: » Yes but you don't know how the bodies got there. You don't know who put them there or why or when. You are just speculating. That's why there needs to be an investigation. You don't appear to want an investigation . You appear to want to go straight from wild allegations to punishment phase. BTW the Mercy Sisters won't be able to help the investigation as the actual Order of nuns is Bons Secours. Its always more productive to investigate the correct people.
Brian Shanahan wrote: » Ye are all trying to minimise and deny the facts as laid down before ye.
iguana wrote: » Right, I'm going to start off an Avaaz petition today requesting a full Gardaí investigations and for prosecutions to happen if anyone still living is found criminally liable. And for birth and death certs to be issued for these children as they deserve at least that. Is Frances Fitzgerald the person to name to be lobbied?
mrsbyrne wrote: » I heart internet ,ryan101 and I have all called for a full a and thorough investigation into the discovery of this apparent mass grave. I don't see obsfucating or nitpicking on this thread or shouting down. Where do you see it?
I Heart Internet wrote: » No. That's not what I'm saying. I'm saying that we should aim to answer all (or as many as possible) of the questions (and more) you list above. It's the least any human being buried there deserves, rather than seeking to attribute blame (for something, we're not quite sure what), in a vacumn.
eviltwin wrote: » Even if every child died of a natural cause dumping their remains in a tank like rubbish is a disgusting way to treat their bodies. You wouldn't treat a animal like that.
Lawyers claim the Diocese of Trenton, New Jersey, should not be held liable for sexual abuse allegedly committed by a priest because he wasn’t officially “on duty” when he molested a teenage boy. Chris Naples claimed Rev. Terence McAlinden, who once headed the diocese’s youth group, sexually abused him during church-sponsored trips to Delaware in the 1980s. But diocese lawyers told the Delaware Supreme Court that McAlinden was not officially on duty when the abuse took place. “You can determine a priest is not on duty when he is molesting a child, for example,” the attorney argued. “A priest abusing a child is absolutely contrary to the pursuit of his master’s business, to the work of a diocese.”
eviltwin wrote: » Ditto, I'll share it around on FB too I hope our christian friends can find it in themselves to do the same.
kylith wrote: » AIUI I Heart Internet is saying that unless you have been to the site yourself and have counted the bodies, and unless you can point at each individual set of remains and say, for example, 'This is James O'Reilly, he died of measles', and unless you can personally say how many died of malnutrition and how many died of pneumonia, and unless you have personal first hand evidence then you can't actually prove that 800 small children died there, a death rate more suited to the mid 1700s than the mid 1900s and almost three times the national average at the time, and you should just shut up about it and stop being mean to the nuns.
Brian Shanahan wrote: » And you know well who your betters are [...]
Flippyfloppy wrote: » Yes, everybody knows what happened. 800 bodies found in a mass grave. I really don't think the inverted commas are required there. Are you suggesting that 800 bodies have not been found? Or are you suggesting that no explanation is required from the sisters of mercy?