Gary Neville wrote: » It looks as if Donegal are keen to let McHugh know that the door is open for his return. A selector made the point and now Durcan says the same. He seems to be directing it at McHugh rather than the other lads that left the panel. It would seem a bit strange to be prepared to take back a lad that left 3/4 weeks before a vital 1st rd c/ship game whilst Kevin Cassidy was cast aside permanenty for co-operating with the writing of a book. What do supporters think ?
Gary Neville wrote: » It looks as if Donegal are keen to let McHugh know that the door is open for his return. A selector made the point and now Durcan says the same. He seems to be directing it at McHugh rather than the other lads that left the panel. It would seem a bit strange to be prepared to take back a lad that left 3/4 weeks before a vital 1st rd c/ship game whilst Kevin Cassidy was cast aside permanenty for co-operating with the writing of a book. What do supporters think ? Also I can see that McGuinness is correct in saying that the black card has changed the way that defenders tackle - he is questioning whether that's good for GAA but he was very vocal is asking for more protection when his players suffered concussion last year - Is he leaving himself open to charges of self-contradiction ?
SM746 wrote: » Joe McQuillan reffing. Not his biggest fan
RGM wrote: » Why aren't the hurlers in the Christy Ring this year? I'm so confused.
Redsoxfan wrote: » We can only draw a team from Group A at any stage of the Qualifiers. Group A: Donegal, Derry, Fermanagh, Antrim, Tipperary, Limerick, Cork, Galway, London, Sligo, Wicklow, Laois, Longford, Offaly, Wexford, Dublin Group B: Tyrone, Down, Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan, Clare, Waterford, Kerry, Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo, Westmeath, Louth, Kildare, Carlow, Meath
Redsoxfan wrote: » Good man, get the excuses in early...;) Seriously, doesn't matter a damn. Ref won't decide matters either way. If he does, we will have fallen short in our own game.
RGM wrote: » Can you confirm that Colm McFadden will have the new record for most Championship appearances by a Donegal player if he plays against Derry? Still second in overall appearances I think.
harpsman wrote: » Ah here Gaz-dont be openin up old wounds.:D But seriously, obviously jim felt Kevs offence was unforgivable. A more reasonable person might have taken him back but exceptional coaches dont tend to reasonable-its part of what makes em exceptional. Its possible that McHugh is just feelin a bit of burnout with the constant pressure of training and playing,with college exams and also strugglin for form. If this is the reason I can see why theyd keep the door open. a few years ago Stephen O Neill left the Tyrone panel and there were all sorts of rumours goin round. Needless to say they were all nonsense and he was back before the all ireland. With regard to the concussion/black card theres no contradiction there as theyre 2 completely different aspects of the game-if you commit a foul that leaves someone with concussion you ll either get yellow or red(or nothing in Stephen Golloglys case:eek:) but not a black. McG may have been having a whinge last July but I personally think the game is becoming more dangerous and its a topic worthy of discussion. However the brains trust in the media and on boards dont agree.;)
Gary Neville wrote: » I'd agree with evertthing you've said Harpsman. You make a good distinction between McHugh and Cassidy. Let's hope that Mark will do well in his exams and he may rediscover his appetite. The game needs all its stars. I'd listen very carefully to anything McG says as he's one of the most astute figures in the game and his exposure to professional sport has to increase his knowledge. I fully agreed with his point regarding lack of protection and concussion. The one area where McG was wrong IMO was his treatment of D Bogue in the post AI press meeting but I've never heard McG's reasons. Very intersting post about Donegal's opponents if they lose in Derry - It would be very interesting to see Donegal v Dublin and the clash of 2 totally opposing styles, later on.
Gary Neville wrote: » Let's hope that Mark will do well in his exams and he may rediscover his appetite.
Gary Neville wrote: » The one area where McG was wrong IMO was his treatment of D Bogue in the post AI press meeting but I've never heard McG's reasons.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » No doubt Jim will want to win Ulster but you would have to say if we get knocked out then a quarter final with Dublin is not completely out of the question - and wouldn't we like a shot at the Dubs!
ProudDUB wrote: » Mark McHugh was just on Off The Ball. (He's down in Kerry doing a charity event with his Da, that Newstalk are covering.) He said that his decision to take a break from inter county football was not taken lightly & that he has been thinking about it since January. He said that he had no falling out with anyone. He just needs to take a break. He also mentioned wanting to focus on his exams. He said that is looking forward to games with his club, doing some underage coaching and, going to the Down game to support his brother, who is still on the inter county panel. He sounded very relaxed and at ease. Podcast will probably be up on the Newstalk website tomorrow.
Redsoxfan wrote: » So, on the basis that the league doesn't matter and we don't have the injuries this year that we did last year, then I am picking us to win on Sunday. We have better players than Derry and a better manager, more suited to the modern game. However if we don't improve on what we saw against Monaghan in Croke Park, then we are doomed.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » I have a few concerns going into the game on Sunday. The biggest is that it looks like big Neil may not be fit to start and with Rory out it leaves us with a potential (untried) midfield pairing of Christy and McElhinney - we could get cleaned out at midfield. Also we have a lot of players who are not showing form. Murphy and Lacey are probably the biggest concern here. Redsoxfan you say we don't have the injuries we had last year but we could well be missing 4 key players at the throw in on Sunday from the starting 15 most people would have picked before the Monaghan game. Rory and McHugh are out obviously, but Paddy doesn't seem to have come on as quick as we hoped and big Neil is very doubtful so that has to be a concern. I don't share the same optimism when I weigh everything up. Home advantage is a big thing and whilst I have complete faith in Jim having a plan for Sunday my main concern is if Derry get a run at us during the match we could find it very hard to hang in with them, especially if they dominate the middle of the field which I think is quite likely. We need our key men to perform or we have no chance so my call is that unless we get a return of 10 points from Murphy and McFadden we will lose on Sunday.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » Redsoxfan you say we don't have the injuries we had last year but we could well be missing 4 key players at the throw in on Sunday from the starting 15 most people would have picked before the Monaghan game. Rory and McHugh are out obviously, but Paddy doesn't seem to have come on as quick as we hoped and big Neil is very doubtful so that has to be a concern.
Ceist_Beag wrote: » Home advantage is a big thing and whilst I have complete faith in Jim having a plan for Sunday my main concern is if Derry get a run at us during the match we could find it very hard to hang in with them, especially if they dominate the middle of the field which I think is quite likely.
Alvin Holler wrote: » I've no idea what to expect from us on Sunday but if we can't beat Derry then we're not going to making much of an impact later on in the championship anyway.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/all-ireland-semi-final-of-2011-looms-large-as-tactical-masterclass-1.1798914 Good article.
Tom Joad wrote: » Very good article and highlights to me the good that Sky coverage could do for GAA with a more balanced view. Public opinion about that game was dictated by the three stooges in the studio's reaction immediately after it - and all they had was tired old clichés. Shame it took so long to bring a bit of balance to the discussion about that game and the way Donegal changed GAA.