3fullback wrote: » Have you seen an i30 marked up ?
carzony wrote: » Lads, anyone have any idea how many of those 07 mondeos were bought by the garda? The amount of them used is unreal.. Gardai must be their biggest customer.
goldie fish wrote: » The reason there are so many is that more than usual were bought. Someone decided there was a surplus of funds and best to "use it or lose it". It was well documented in the media at the time. The majority remained parked up on the square in GHQ until late 2008, even 2009 for some. However it is safe to say that most of these are now overdue for replacement, whether marked or not.
carzony wrote: » Well most are 7 years old by now. Must be near the milage limit. They would have been better off with a proper selection of the focus. Mondeo. Fiesta and maybe even a few more transits.
EireGun wrote: » Fiesta? :eek:
carzony wrote: » Those little fiesta's are a great little car and nippy:D Certaintly would have a place, even if it's for the community units. I'd rather see a better selection than a heap of mondeos..
heffomike54 wrote: » Also consider the small streets in city centre, tight parking spaces in areas like Store Street & Pearse Street, much easier to get a fiesta around those areas than a mondeo. Also, Fiesta's would be good for surveillance duties.
CharlieCroker wrote: » Id rather see the best car for the job. Selection means nothing. The Mondeo was the best car for the job. The main problem with the new one is the engine choice is too small, 1.6 diesel is useless as the new Focus patrol car, can only imagine it in a Mondeo. The job has switched to diesels for cost cutting reasons but the sooner they revert to petrol patrol cars the better.
goldie fish wrote: » I don't think anyone is going back to petrol. Diesel is the future. You may as well want to go back to steam...
Shield wrote: » You don't think Green is the future? Billions of dollars aren't being spent on researching and testing Diesel engines, they're being spent on getting a car to run a battery that you pay to charge, and charge fast. Have I got it wrong?
IRLConor wrote: » It'll be a while before all-electric vehicles are suitable for emergency services use. I suspect that the charge time would be a killer issue. Charging fast while not damaging the service life is a difficult trade-off to make.
Some new Police Service of Northern Ireland kit...
Nice new modeo estate unmarked
Boaty wrote: » Its a nice inside, very clean, radio in the glove box, nice and quiet engine
carzony wrote: » you'd have a hard time spotting that i30. Interior is a bit bland but other than that it's a nice looking yoke.
donvito99 wrote: » Gone are the days when an unmarked car, with its missing hubcaps, bumper LEDs, numerous stalks and D reg made them stick out like a sore thumb.
3fullback wrote: » Is there no lights in front windscreen like the i30 POGAN posted ?