Butterface wrote: » This thread title has a word missing.. bit stingy, no?
Banjo String wrote: » I call into a McDonald's almost every other day for no other reason than to help my self to the independent newspaper. (I don't actually buy anything when I'm in there) I forget how much they actually cost now, but I see it as a waste of good money to pay for something that's technically 'free' PS it really riles me lighting the stove with a paper I paid money for.
Sulla Felix wrote: » I knew this mod once, fierce stingy with the post count so he was.
IsMiseMyself wrote: » My brother is sitting on a small fortune due to an injury who got a lot of compo for. He's ridiculously stingy. His three-year-old phone broke, so instead of buying a new one he "borrowed" my mother's spare phone: one of those €10 Tesco ones.
Davarus Walrus wrote: » I was in Chile and went on a tour that involved 7 of us travelling on a minibus for 4 days. There was this awful couple from London who spent four days spouting about socialism, the tyranny of how we exploit poorer societies and various other soundbites lifted from a Guardian opinion piece. Despite having the latest in Apple tablets and phones, high-end SLR cameras and designer clothes, they felt that a worthy tip for the driver was the princely sum of about €5 in the local currency. After 4 days, and in a country where the average industrial wage is about €20000.
biko wrote: » I saw this fella* pick up and pocket a 20 cent coin *it was me!
IzzyWizzy wrote: » I just sat and looked at him in amazement and he asked what was up...I couldn't bite my tongue and said "you've stayed with me for free all week, saving about £400 on a hotel bill, you've eaten dinner for free all week, saving about £100 on food, you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20, and you're seriously feeling hard done by about paying £7 for my dinner?"
IzzyWizzy wrote: » you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20
Retrovertigo wrote: » Jaysus that fella was mad for the drink.
IzzyWizzy wrote: » We had a £10 bottle of red wine, which he drank most of on the Monday night (I'm not really drinking anymore and OH was on beer), and then a few bottles of Leffe, which were something like £2.50 a bottle, during the week, plus other assorted cans. It was probably more than £20 worth. I just can't believe the stinginess and the fact that he truly thinks he didn't do anything wrong.
Red Kev wrote: » Maybe he just thought that he'd repay the kindness by doing the same to ye if ye show up in his gaff in Belgium. i.e. he would feed, house and water ye for a week free of charge. I agree he could have paid for the meal, as a thanks, but some people think differently. Maybe he'd be a very generous host and wouldn't think too much of it.
IzzyWizzy wrote: » This is very relevant to me right now! Had an old mate from Belgium staying all week. He invited himself as he was doing some work here in London...I wasn't that keen but agreed as I'm trying to be more charitable etc this year. He stayed Monday to Friday. Ate dinner with us every night, drank loads of our cans/wine..stressed me out a bit as we're very tight on money this month due to my hours being cut at work, but he's fairly good company so I didn't make a big deal of it. I met him in a cafe this evening to have a quick dinner before he headed home. Went to a cheap Korean place, came to about 7 quid a head, but I only had a card and it turns out they don't take cards. My friend, who had a wallet full of notes, suggested I go to a cash machine, I said there weren't any around that area (this is true)...he begrudgingly agreed to pay for my half and then he said "you can buy me one back next time you're in Belgium." I just sat and looked at him in amazement and he asked what was up...I couldn't bite my tongue and said "you've stayed with me for free all week, saving about £400 on a hotel bill, you've eaten dinner for free all week, saving about £100 on food, you've drunk loads of our booze which directly cost us about £20, and you're seriously feeling hard done by about paying £7 for my dinner?" The worst part was that he still didn't seem to get it, started going on about how it hadn't cost us anything to have him in our house as he was just sleeping on the sofa and food scales up well. We had an awkward goodbye hug and he invited me to stay with him in Belgium, but seriously? Is it just me? Staying with someone for 5 nights, bringing no gift, not offering to buy a takeaway and then grumbling over £7?