Scouser wrote: » deadlifts and squats ladies love it
ann.lewis wrote: » or they love you doing it
Scouser wrote: » that was implied :cool:
AaronMul1 wrote: » i find the sit ups to be my only problem, after 20 odd sit ups i lose all my pace
AaronMul1 wrote: » How is everyone getting on with the Physical requirements?
Zadie10 wrote: » Getting on ok - feel like I'm grand with the cardio & general fitness. My only fear is the push pull machine but working on that!! Wish my gym had one so I could see my progress on it
AaronMul1 wrote: » small progress is still progress i suppose yeah im gonna wait till im a bit fitter maybe 2 weeks 3 weeks and il try the test, never done one before so i need a bit of practice
Zadie10 wrote: » Its hard to focus on it when it seems like such a long way away & there are so many other hurdles to get over first. But guess its one of the ones we have the most control over so need to keep tipping away. Are u doing anything in particular for the beep test? I'm just doing HIIT on the treadmill & hoping that will suffice
AaronMul1 wrote: » could you imagine getting to the medical though and failing? if i done that i'd never forgive myself for not preparing and you never know when they will do it! they could do the test before interview to weed out numbers so less to interview. Im just running around a local track, big hill in the middle of it so hoping that will strenghten up my legs
Shadow Walker wrote: » Not sure it's relevant but if you're upskilling , consider getting a full driving licence. Even the basic Garda car course will require you to have a full driving licence before you can apply
D Trent wrote: » Cool, where did you hear this
D Trent wrote: » For those who have a definite knowledge are the medical & physical both done in Templemore? maybe ann.lewis you know as you've done it last time round?
Scouser wrote: » driver licence is needed to drive a car its the law
D Trent wrote: » WWWwwhatt? you need a driving licence to drive a car? get out of town scouser. There's a few members of AGS who have never held a driving licence yet drive the patrol car regularly
Zadie10 wrote: » Medical is done in Garda HQ in Dublin, physical in Templemore.
angelfire9 wrote: » Yep you need to pass the medical first I failed it (Hearing test) Requirements for medical should be on Garda website
Andrea345 wrote: » Guys, for your information, specsavers have free hearing tests. I got the eye tests done last week and the hearing because I wanted to be sure before the medical. What about the teeth check I don't have Caries but I do have a broken tooth on one side, it's not visible, there is some of the tooth there. How particular are they.
Rothmans wrote: » Can specsavers tell you whether your hearing is up to standard.Was thinking about going to them myself But I don't want to do anything yet until we get our stage 1 results back. I'd hate to get my hopes up just for them to be dashed
Andrea345 wrote: » Yup they give normal or higher then normal or less then normal. I had good hearing and there was a hell of a lot of people making nose in the shop, it was so distracting.
Rothmans wrote: » I see, but do they know the standard required by the Guards?
D Trent wrote: » Was hearing test free because you had paid for the eye test? Or can anyone walk into specsavers and get a free hearing test with buying glasses/being a customer?
Andrea345 wrote: » Well mine was twenty twenty but they would generally know, she said it was well above what they require so she had an idea. It's on this forum somewhere, from previous years so if you search then you can go in knowing what you have or do the test and find out afterwards. I think I read it myself and it was eighteen something. Anyone else know? I think the hearing test is standard, if you have good hearing then your clear. EDIT: oh another reason why I got the hearing test done was in case anything happened on the day and I failed, I could go back and say well it was because of this and maybe appeal. I got specsavers to write me a letter stating my hearing and eyesight results.
Rothmans wrote: » Thanks, I'll defo need laser eye surgery. I checked before. It's just the hearing I'd be worried about. After looking long and hard, its clear that the guards don't publish their minimum hearing standards. However, the Army do, so I'd reckon it'd be similar to that.