Cyclist behaviour on country roads; reg numbers for sports bikes? Mod Note post #18
Earlier in the week I was travelling between Ardconey and Borrisokane on my way to a funeral.
On the narrowest part of that road, which has a continuous white line and lots of dips that impede visibility to on-coming traffic, I came across two lycra-clad idiots cycling two-abreast. It was a dull miserable morning but our two heroes had no hi-viz tabards, no reflectors or lights on the bikes and only one cyclist had a helmet.
The car in front of me overtook them by crossing the white line; fortunately, there was no on-coming traffic. I beeped the horn briefly to alert them to my presence. The outside cyclist looked back so I held up an index finger and gestured to the nearside of the car, the best I could do on the spur of the moment to convey "single file please, I want to overtake without endangering any of us".
The outside cyclist drifted across in front of my car onto the wrong side of the road, and gestured for me to move between the two bikes. I gave more than a short beep in response, and rolled my window down to enquire politely as to his stupidly dangerous antics. Quick as a flash your man grabbed the door-frame and allowed himself to be towed by my car as if he was on the Col de Torini. I now had eejit No 1 attached to my car uninvited and eejit No 2 wobbling dangerously ahead of me observing the conversation between me and eejit No 1.
I was afraid to stop the car, accelerate or make any move that might result in eejit No 1 becoming more closely acquainted with the Co Tipperary road-scape or the underside of my car, so while he droned on about cycling two-abreast being safe according to the "rue-elles of da ro-ahd which you-ahse should re-ahd”, I asked him to take his hand off my car as I was closing the window.
Eejit No 1 said he'd report the incident to the Guards. I told him to make sure to get my reg no correct so I could pass on the SD card from the dash-cam. At that he released his grip on my door-frame and drifted off behind me.
Try as I might I cannot make out any identifying brands on the lycra or the bikes. This is partly due to where the dash-cam is positioned just above the disc-holder on the lower left corner of the windscreen, which is out of the way of the sweep of the wiper-blades.
If the bikes had reg nos I'd have had no problem tracing these dangerous clowns but without them I'm at nothing unfortunately.
Is there a case for making sports bikes or bikes generally as identifiable as other road vehicles?