Santa Cruz wrote: » Bear in mind Jim Malone's statement in The Untouchables. "You have just complete the first rule of law enforcement. At the end of your shift, go home alive" or more crudely "Better be tried by twelve than carried by six" Don't let them think they have a chance or they will really put it up to you
billie1b wrote: » Displayed aggressive behaviour towards my partner and I :-D
Scouser wrote: » Garda Aaronmul1 - could you please explain to the court as to why you took the defendants liberty? have a think about that little doozy
Santa Cruz wrote: » Once you have a power of arrest and decide to arrest you are fully entitled to restrict the persons liberty. It's very easy to explain that
smelly sock wrote: » Yis all sound like a bunch of little robo cops. They'll have a great laugh at yis first day in the barracks!!
AaronMul1 wrote: » I was always led to believe that police treat each other like family, or is that just in the states? The majority of the posters are very condescending towards other posters even though many of us should have the same values if we want to join the police.
AaronMul1 wrote: » I was always led to believe that police treat each other like family, or is that just in the states?
Santa Cruz wrote: » What's wrong with a bit of craic and slagging. Great way to build morale on a shift. Would you rather a few dry old ****es lacking in enthusiasm
AaronMul1 wrote: » who done the assessment today? Any feedback on it? (not expecting answers or anything just whether its difficult or not)
mycro89 wrote: » Based on what response within that link you attached? I can't see anything of reference?
Andrea345 wrote: » It's says that there isn't just 300 jobs for 25000 applicants, but that they hope to use the people who pass all stages for 2015, 2016 etc...meaning there will be a large panel.
Devil08 wrote: » Exactly. Verbal reasoning passed for you!
carzony wrote: » ''I would like to say however that reports implying that there are 25,000 applicants for 300 posts are incorrect as we expect to use this competition to provide Garda recruits in 2014, 2015 and 2016'' Now he tells us ffs, There making it up as they go along. Seems to me they'll recruit from a panel for the next few years. I knew they couldnt just pick 300 out of the 25,000 that'd be next to impossible..
Andrea345 wrote: » That means there will be even greater pressure to get in this time round, especially those in their thirties. If you don't make it through all stages then you can guarantee you won't have another shot for another few years. That's a lot to take in but it makes perfect sense. Some people won't get another shot at it.
Princess Petulia Pissy Pants wrote: » Isn't guessing bad? Obviously it's good if guessed right but with negative marking I'd rather not answer than stab in the dark
carzony wrote: » I assume that might mean no external recruitment until 2017 so. Unless a good few drop out from thre panel.
Andrea345 wrote: » That is exactly what it means. The panel will probably be large. They should have more than enough.
Faith and Justice wrote: » Well I had 90% of the questions done on both tests when it came to the stage of guessing. It was only 2 or 3 that I had to guess, and there was no was I was leaving them blank. The negative marking thing doesn't scare me. Some people say don't guess because you'll loose marks if your wrong. Others say guess because if you leave them unanswered you'll loose marks. We all have our own strategy and tactics
carzony wrote: » Bad news for anyone near the age limit.. Even for myself i'd be 26 by that time:eek:. As we all know plans constantly change with these recruitment drives and 3 years is a long time. Rough for anyone who couldnt apply this time for whatever reason.