Bananatop wrote: » I can see where you're coming from, but I would still say fair play to your friend! She's fighting a battle every single minute of every single day, yet she still carries on. You've got to admire her guts! I don't know, but surely spending the night looking after someone with such courage far outweighs any other benefit you might get from the night out?
LexieOnRale wrote: » Not really to be honest. She came out for my birthday last year and my heart was in my mouth the entire time. If she was at the bar talking to someone then we had to stand around waiting for her to be ready to walk wherever with her. She ended up tripping on a step, the stairs can be slippy sometimes from people spilling drinks on it, it's honestly not worth it because all the time you're just terrified at any moment she's going to slip and fall. I don't smoke myself, so traipsing up and down to a smoking area all night, and standing breathing in second hand smoke, not really a good night out to be honest.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I hope your friend doesn't read your posts.
LexieOnRale wrote: » don't see why she would be offended either
[Deleted User] wrote: » So you've said it to her face then?
Czarcasm wrote: » I think it's only right that people with physical disabilities should be taught to exercise some common sense rather than expect everyone else to accommodate them. Some situations just aren't practical for some people.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Not really to be honest. She came out for my birthday last year and my heart was in my mouth the entire time. If she was at the bar talking to someone then we had to stand around waiting for her to be ready to walk wherever with her. She ended up tripping on a step, the stairs can be slippy sometimes from people spilling drinks on it, it's honestly not worth it because all the time you're just terrified at any moment she's going to slip and fall. I don't smoke myself, so traipsing up and down to a smoking area all night, and standing breathing in second hand smoke, not really a good night out to be honest. Anyway, apparently this is not relevant? Disabled people don't want to be treated differently, but the fact is they are different and people have to allow for that, but also I think the onus is on them also, to exercise common sense, accept some places aren't suitable or safe for them and avoid these places, rather than get all outraged that these places haven't been made disability friendly.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Yes, I complain every single time she wants to go for a smoke, and I have to go with her and when we are in a normal bar with a smoking area on a flat surface I let her go on her own.
Bananatop wrote: » But to be honest, I find your attitude towards your friend hard to understand.
Czarcasm wrote: » I think Lexie was making the point that her friend makes a martyr of herself for attention. I wouldn't particularly see her behaviour as courageous, I'd see it as putting herself in danger and putting the club at risk of liability should anything actually happen to her as a patron of the nightclub. I think it's only right that people with physical disabilities should be taught to exercise some common sense rather than expect everyone else to accommodate them. Some situations just aren't practical for some people. I can only speak for myself personally when I say I'd rather not be babysat either on a night out and let people go off and do their own thing, they're there to have fun just as much as I am. It's only IMO that a person who is physically disabled should also show consideration for those around them if they expect consideration to be shown TO them.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Whys that
[Deleted User] wrote: » Well if she's that selfish, and you're that unable to enjoy your night when she's there, perhaps you should consider not going out with her. I don't blame someone with MS for "being a martyr" as described above. If I knew that my abilities would be taken away from me at some point while I'm probably still young, I would be a martyr too. I wouldn't stop doing the things I wanted to do until I had absolutely no choice but to stop them. A time will most likely come when that girl won't physically be able to go upstairs any more. When she will not be able walk from one side of a room to another. When she will need assistance eating and going to the bathroom. When MS will take her life away from her. I hope then you will see why your posts seem so cold.
Duck's hoop wrote: » Fair play to her friends for helping her out in a time of need.
LexieOnRale wrote: » I'm all for disabled people being treated equally but should exercise some cop on. I know a girl with MS who's pretty bad on her feet and needs a walker to get around. She'll still insist on going to the only nightclub in our town, which is downright dangerous when she isn't the most steadiest on her feet. The smoking area is up about 2 flights of stairs, out on the roof and while she could go down the lift and out the front door to smoke outside the club, she says why should she, the best Craic is in the smoking area. It's also unfair on everyone with her as the entire night you're making sure nobody is banging into her, falling over her walker, or helping her up and down the stairs. I think in some situations it's just better to admit that some places aren't suitable and to have a better, safer night, in a ground floor bar that is disability friendly.
Bananatop wrote: » Well personally I wouldn't be a doormat and do everything for everybody, but I would go the extra mile for a friend, especially if they are facing extreme difficulty. If I am lucky enough to have a life that is more or less free of worry, I try to give to those who don't have that luxury, whether their worry is short term or long term. And also as whoopsadaisydoodles was saying, god only knows the internal dialogue your friend has with regard to her health in the future. I'd cut her a bit of slack.
mango salsa wrote: » I read this completely differently. I see nothing about looking for attention at all. I see someone who is strong and determined that life shouldn't stop her in her tracks. She is enjoying life. To me assisting her to do that is is treating her equally. Nothing less, nothing more - just equal.
Rasheed wrote: » Having a disability doesn't absolve you from being self centred and selfish. Tell her how you feel and try and reach common ground. If you can't, well then going to that smoking area is her baby.
LexieOnRale wrote: » We would go shopping together, for lunch or chinese, to the cinema, for quiet nights out, for birthdays in pubs that actually accommodate her, it's not like I never made the effort at all with her, or treated her differently, I just find that in her particular situation, a nightclub doesn't suit her, is dangerous and ensures everyone has a **** night, and tbh at ten euro in and ridiculously overpriced drinks, it's not exactly a **** night out for free.
Bananatop wrote: » True, but could you do what Rasheed has suggested? If you do feel you are being taken for a ride by your friend, treat her like anyone else and talk to her about it if you can.
IrishSkyBoxer wrote: » I was at a gig a few years back. There was a down syndrome guy (circa 18 - 24) with his brother and sister drinking a pint. I took a second look as I had never seen that before. The brother started shouting and roaring at me effing and blinding. I genuinely meant no offence, I have a family member with DS, and I felt terrible afterwards.
LexieOnRale wrote: » Oh she knows, I'm not one for keeping my feelings to myself. Like I said, I don't go out with her much anymore (nothing related to her illness) but at the time she knew I hated going to the smoking area, I would tell her I wasn't going with her but at the same time she knew I wasn't going to let her go on her own. I would suggest staying in pub X and she would insist on going to club Y.
Bananatop wrote: » You don't actually know me, .
Duck's hoop wrote: » With every post you insist on PWD being 'taught' things. Taught to accept others mocking discrimination, and now taught common sense. As of course if they try to overcome the built environment they are merely 'martyring' themselves for attention. I'm sure you'll multi quote some confection to refute this, but it increasingly appears as if you would rather PWD just stay at home. Or care centres. There are almost always way around things. I've seen chair users in some wholly inaccessible places. They either got there themselves, or they got their mates to help. No martyr attitude. No attention seeking. To a man and woman they abhor any extra attention and will do things as discretely as possible. But this is totally OT.
mango salsa wrote: » I work with people with disabilities who actually can't cope with it. I don't like the idea that they should have to cope with it and accept it.