Quazzie wrote: » So you think people with disabilities are the problem and they should learn to deal with it, rather than people learning not to stare?
Frank Lee Midere wrote: » I think people might be accepting this all on the word of the OP? Everybody staring? I spend a month in a wheelchair - not a perm disability but a bad break as a kid - and most people didn't see me never mind stare at me. Most of those who did were kind. Some kids weren't.
Duck's hoop wrote: » Pity you weren't in a position to advise Rosa Parks, Mandela, Ghandi, and many others. All those gay pride gals and dudes too. Just put up and shut up, get used to it pal, it's going to happen, better just learn to cope with this discrimination.
Why bother trying to change attitudes. Pointless. You're a complete genius. As ever.
Czarcasm wrote: » Down off the high horses now lads, you both know well that's not what I said at all. I never said it was acceptable, I said they should be taught to cope with this behaviour from others.
B.A._Baracus wrote: » I have a personal rule when it comes to walking past disabled people: That's never stare and if you glance, break eye contact immediately, treat them like they are some other random stranger passing by. Because thats what they are... just another person
Czarcasm wrote: » Racial and homophobic discrimination has nothing to do with discrimination against people with disabilities. Don't let that stop your righteous rants and twisting things people didn't say though.
Bananatop wrote: » People who insult or belittle others who have disabilities are w*nkers. But w*nkers don't only insult people with disabilities, they insult people who they perceive to be weak, they belittle people who might have made their way in the world through sheer hard work, they put down anyone who might have different opinion to them because they're scared of their opinion being challenged. W*nkers exist solely to belittle people from every walk of life, and not just people with disabilities. I don't like the idea that people with disabilities can't cope with that, or need to be wrapped up in cotton wool just because some tool thinks he/she can take his/her sh*te life out on everyone else. We all know people who take their own inadequacies out on those who are less fortunate (whether they are less fortunate emotionally, financially, physically etc) but most sane thinking people see them for the w*nkers they are and move on.
PucaMama wrote: » It is the usual remark from people who just dont understand what its like.
Bananatop wrote: » You don't actually know me, and your comment is a thinly veiled 'You don't deserve to have an opinion about this'. As another poster has pointed out, it's ironic that in a thread about disabled people not being accepted, different opinions are being slapped down because they don't meet certain criteria ie the general consensus.
PucaMama wrote: » Noone slapping down opinions im disagreeing with you. Its what I expect to be able to do in a discussion?
Duck's hoop wrote: » Discrimination is discrimination is discrimination. Are you suggesting discrimination on grounds of disability is not as serious as racial or homophobic discrimination?
I didn't twist anything. You said quite clearly that in your view people with disabilities should be 'taught to cope' with discrimination. Rather than expect others to change they should in fact accommodate them.
No righteous rants here.
I notice you reserve your vitriol for my post and not the previous 4 posters who questioned you.
Bananatop wrote: » I love discussing issues. But I would veer away from making a comment like the one in bold when discussing an issue with another person, because the comment is designed to dismiss the other person's opinion. Whether that was your intention or not, that was the impression I got.
PucaMama wrote: » And I find the comment about "wrapped in cotton wool" equally aggravating. Theres nothing wrong with feeling overwhelmed at times with people. My point is that even a psychologist tried to suggest I thought it was worse than it really was or that I was almost exaggerating things to myself. So it does wind me up.
Bananatop wrote: » Fair enough, but I hope you realise that I didn't write my post to dismiss your experiences?
Bananatop wrote: » W*nkers exist solely to belittle people from every walk of life, and not just people with disabilities. I don't like the idea that people with disabilities can't cope with that
Deleted User wrote: » Educate yourselves on those with disabilities. Little things can make a big difference to your fellow human being. Like not speaking over someone in a wheelchair to talking their assistant instead. Or remembering that if someone has Downs' Syndrome that you don't call them a Downs' Syndrome child, but rather a person with Downs' Syndrown*.
mango salsa wrote: » I work with people with disabilities who actually can't cope with it. I don't like the idea that they should have to cope with it and accept it. I don't like the idea that some people here just say people with disabilities should just shrug their shoulders and accept being treated badly and accept discrimination.
LexieOnRale wrote: » I'm all for disabled people being treated equally but should exercise some cop on. I know a girl with MS who's pretty bad on her feet and needs a walker to get around. She'll still insist on going to the only nightclub in our town, which is downright dangerous when she isn't the most steadiest on her feet. The smoking area is up about 2 flights of stairs, out on the roof and while she could go down the lift and out the front door to smoke outside the club, she says why should she, the best Craic is in the smoking area. It's also unfair on everyone with her as the entire night you're making sure nobody is banging into her, falling over her walker, or helping her up and down the stairs. I think in some situations it's just better to admit that some places aren't suitable and to have a better, safer night, in a ground floor bar that is disability friendly.