kerry4sam wrote: » I won't be applying for full-time in An Garda Síochána but seriously looking into the PSNI and am being told the same as you re:not applying, repeatedly. Still won't ever apply for full-time Guards in the South, but no harm in applying and hopefully making interview stage for the PSNI and explaining my reasons. Decisions, decisions.
Irish abroad wrote: » Just one point I'm sure it's not been covered yet. If you live in the republic and work North for the PSNI you cannot bring your weapon home with you.
Irish abroad wrote: » Yep...PSNI officers can't bring their personal issued weapon south of the border.
Gilbert Grape wrote: » In the last 2 years in Derry 3 serving officers families have been targeted with bombs left outside their houses and a serving officer shot while leaving his kids to school,don't think it's worth the risk for yourself or family to be honest.There's a high chance someone will find out.
Royal87 wrote: » I was told if you join and your from the south you can't live in the south and travel to work in the north which I don't believe
Dekkers wrote: » If I were to play devils advocate I would say that in 2012 7 police officers were killed in the line of duty in England including 4 who were shot. I'm not saying the threat to their lives in general is as high as it is here in Northern Ireland. Just important to put any figures in perspective. It's a dangerous job.
Irish abroad wrote: » Dangerous, it's fecking mental Well said Dekkers it's true I was nearly killed last year by a TWOC'D car pure luck saved me, Stabbed you name it. The north has the constant pressure of watching your back , UK does not . Mainly due to population . 60 million in the Uk mainland 1.8 in NI My station in 5 miles from me, if "when" I'm PSNI I'd be 20-30+ miles away . Ireland is a small place .
tbh wrote: » I hope you're not hoping to become a detective...... http://www.psni.police.uk/deaths_cy.pdf
MaxPSNI wrote: » After telling people I'm joining the PSNI, I've had nothing but strong advice to reconsider due to car bombs and shootings. This doesn't worry me; what does worry me is the effect it has on my family/friends who are concerned. I was wondering if anyone had any statistics from the past few years of how many officers died per year? Are they actually that common or is it partly due to the media? My other question is: are Catholics targeted? Thank you for the help.
Irish abroad wrote: » You could/can but I would never even think about it.... I don't think anyone would for many many reasons its not viable, distance, security, inland revenue/ tax, can't bring your PPW with you... Etc Ps Would you trust the Guards responding to your call for help if those with woolly faces are outside your door after following you home in your 131 D 12356 plate car .... Seen stuck in traffic & pulling into Armagh Police Stn every week They will be Unarmed ! & will have to wait for armed back up . Commit to PSNI / NI and live & work there or don't. Don't even think about it for a sec longer .. (IMHO)
Goonerdee wrote: » You'd be unarmed and there is only a number of border crossings you could use. I think that would be even more dangerous.
Goonerdee wrote: » There are members of my family I wont tell, because they either have dodgy friends or big mouths. So I definately wont be telling strangers, only five people know I have applied in the past, three are immediate family and two are police officers.
el pasco wrote: » As there is recruitment on at the minute and if you are doing this then about 1% get in who apply so chances are you won't get in so nothing to worry about
el pasco wrote: » Also if you are a police trainee then you should think of your family etc as they never joined the police and they are not getting paid for it so keep your mouth shut especially on Facebook which you will have to leave if you join
el pasco wrote: » Firstly you shouldn't be telling anyone your joining the PSNI Secondly what do you mean joining?? As there is recruitment on at the minute and if you are doing this then about 1% get in who apply so chances are you won't get in so nothing to worry about Thirdly more PSNI officers died for road accidents than killings since the PSNI was founded so you're the chances are very very slim Most US police forces are far more dangerous Fourthly it depends where you are stationed the current recruitment is for Belfast and the north west so there could be some trouble but as long as you keep your head down and to your self and your mouth shut and do your security checks then it should be no bother But like I said unless you have passed all your entry exams and are a trainee police officers (even then you might not pass all your exams for the passing out parade and you are still under 2 year probation after that) then the lightly good is that no you won't make it to become a trainee police officer never mind a police officer Yes Cathoilc are targets I think about 100 left one year due to this but that is still small in the over all numbers Also if you are a police trainee then you should think of your family etc as they never joined the police and they are not getting paid for it so keep your mouth shut especially on Facebook which you will have to leave if you join
Homer01 wrote: » Never heard of this If true I'm sure it's not enforced as I know several officers on FB.
Space_Invader wrote: » This reply reeks of pure BS. Don't you be getting your hopes up either with that grammar.
el pasco wrote: » How does it reek if pure BS explain?? What do you mean don't be getting your hopes up with that grammar??
wannabegard wrote: » I am curious to know if there are any people from the Republic of Ireland who are either in training, currently serving or in the process of applying for the PSNI and would like to know how the are getting on?