Balaclava1991 wrote: » Is there any relationship between any human beings that does not in some way involve manipulation and deceit?
Balaclava1991 wrote: » Every man advances, tactically retreats, advances, tactically retreats and so on. This might happen in one date or over the course of a few dates. The woman who was cool with a man when he first approached is the same woman who is comfortable to lie stark naked in bed with him.
Men who do not get the ride = men who do not use manipulative techniques.
bluewolf wrote: »
Balaclava1991 wrote: » You directly contradicted yourself. You used skills to impress a woman and you gave her a story that blew her mind. You were using PUA techniques. This is precisely what men who are bad with women want to learn.
Czarcasm wrote: » Most men will never have to use manipulative techniques to attract women.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Again it's only my experience. Even when hanging out say after a night out, most of the time (with my mates) the lads will be saying things like "God X was looking incredible last night" (X being someone we all know)
whereas the girls would be more like "Who was that lad in the queue behind us? Holy sh!t"
osarusan wrote: » Depends on what you mean by 'manipulative', surely? You've never agreed with a girl (or anybody, for that matter) that, say, a song she liked was indeed pretty good, when in fact you thought it was crap?
Or that her new hairstyle looked lovely, when in fact you couldn't really see how it was different from the old one?
Or agreed that her workmate did indeed sound like a bitch, when in fact her workmate didn't seem to have done anything wrong?
We all do these kinds of things every day, in order to maintain or improve relationships with others. We tell people what they want to hear and don't tell them what they don't want to hear. We do it when we're on a night out as well.
Whether you consider that manipulation or not, I don't know.
Czarcasm wrote: » Nope. If her taste in music, art, literature was different from mine, that would just give us more to talk about. If I thought something was crap, I'd say it was crap, and I would expect no less of her if she disagreed with my taste in music, art or literature. Nope, I'd tell her straight up I couldn't see any difference, and again I'd expect the same honesty in return. Bet you can guess by now- I'd tell her straight up that I disagreed with her point of view, and I'd point out to her where she was mistaken. "We" don't osarusan, I'm very straight up with people if they ask for my opinion. They may sometimes take offence to my opinion or disagree with my opinion, as is their right to do so, and if I lose a potential friendship for that, then it really wasn't going to get any better when it was a friendship where we couldn't be honest with each other.
osarusan wrote: » There's a post of yours on this very thread, maybe a day old, in which you say that a woman could have more faces than mount Rushmore, yet you'd not call her on it. How do you reconcile that post with this one?
Czarcasm wrote: » I'm very straight up with people if they ask for my opinion. They may sometimes take offence to my opinion or disagree with my opinion, as is their right to do so, and if I lose a potential friendship for that, then it really wasn't going to get any better when it was a friendship where we couldn't be honest with each other.
Either way, there are pleny of people who do the kind of things I mentioned.
I think that on this thread there has been a 'sanitising' or 'purifying' of non-PUA encounters, to emphasise the gap between PUA and 'normal.
K-9 wrote: » Us men tend to be superficial bastards, we base a hell of a lot on looks and physical characteristics, Big boobs, long legs, nice round arse the stereotypical image, other men like very thin women, hardly any boobs at all, no arse, but we're very led by what we are physically attracted to. je ne sais quoi is a term used far more by women than men, "there's just something about him".
K-9 wrote: » Us men tend to be superficial bastards, we base a hell of a lot on looks and physical characteristics, Big boobs, long legs, nice round arse the stereotypical image, other men like very thin women, hardly any boobs at all, no arse, but we're very led by what we are physically attracted to.
Vitaliorange wrote: » Whats manipulation and social skills often overlap. For example, women often touch someone on the arm when asking for a favour. This makes it more likely to get compliance. I view that as good social skills. They subconciously or consciously understand a rule of human behaviour. If you give someone a directive while simultaneously giving value it is more likely you will get compliance.Touching someone on the arm usually gives value as it feels good. Ultimately human social interaction is about exchanging value.
So if you want to get good with women you need to learn how to give them value. It is beneficial for women when more men learn how to give value to women. You give value to women by being masculine, fun, funny, dominant, assertive and emotionally engaging. This is why it's good to tease women and make playful "push pull" type comments. It is emotionally stimulating, something women thrive on.
Czarcasm wrote: » That's an assumption Vitali that could easily land you in all sorts of trouble. Not everybody feels comfortable with their personal space being invaded, and even less so when somebody tries to touch them unexpectedly.
You'll find people thrive a lot more on respect than they do on manipulation. If you want to engage with anybody, the first thing you do is treat them with respect, forget the trying to manipulate them and being all touchy feely and fake about it.
Improving yourself makes you more attractive to people because you're leading by example. That way you don't have to bother trying to be funny and dominant and assertive and all the rest of it, because most intelligent people can smell fake a mile away, and that's why PUA only works for socially inept men to attract socially inept women.
A girl can be incredibly attractive physically and still be socially inept, shy, or withdrawn, in the very same way as a guy can be socially inept, shy or withdrawn. In the very same way as socially inept guys are only thinking about what THEY want and the bare minimum they have to do to get it, socially inept women aren't that far off either.
The way to overcome that is to become aware of other people's needs outside your own, and to be generous with your time and being able to give without expecting anything in return.
Balaclava1991 wrote: » Human beings are probably little changed from prehistoric times.
Wibbs wrote: » Untrue. There have been more genetic changes in the human genome in the last 10,000 years than there was in the previous 50,000. We are not "cavemen" any more. The environments have changed and have created selective pressures and we have adapted to them. Take an obvious one like diet. A prehistoric European would have been a severely lactose intolerant coeliac(it's but one reason why the so called Paleo diet is a nonsense). We're only beginning to scratch the surface of these changes and what they may mean.
Czarcasm wrote: » That's an assumption Vitali that could easily land you in all sorts of trouble. Not everybody feels comfortable with their personal space being invaded, and even less so when somebody tries to touch them unexpectedly. You'll find people thrive a lot more on respect than they do on manipulation. If you want to engage with anybody, the first thing you do is treat them with respect, forget the trying to manipulate them and being all touchy feely and fake about it. Improving yourself makes you more attractive to people because you're leading by example. That way you don't have to bother trying to be funny and dominant and assertive and all the rest of it, because most intelligent people can smell fake a mile away, and that's why PUA only works for socially inept men to attract socially inept women. A girl can be incredibly attractive physically and still be socially inept, shy, or withdrawn, in the very same way as a guy can be socially inept, shy or withdrawn. In the very same way as socially inept guys are only thinking about what THEY want and the bare minimum they have to do to get it, socially inept women aren't that far off either. The way to overcome that is to become aware of other people's needs outside your own, and to be generous with your time and being able to give without expecting anything in return.
K-9 wrote: » Us men tend to be superficial bastards, we base a hell of a lot on looks and physical characteristics
Legs.Eleven wrote: » There's no one to bleedin' debate against now! :mad::):P
Balaclava1991 wrote: » Have you seen women talk to each other? They touch each other unconsciously all the time. When a man and a woman who are attracted to each other they signal to each other physically and verbally and through touch. They look into each other's eyes, they smiles and blush, a woman plays with her hair, keeps crossing and recrossing her legs, the man stands up straight or sits up straight, pushes out his chest and tucks in his stomach and they mirror each other when eating or drinking by putting a morsel of food or a sip of wine in their mouth at the same time.
When a PUA starts deliberately mirroring a woman's body language and takes note of how her body language indicates attraction he can use this to build attraction and comfort. He also tailors what he says to have the maximum emotional impact.
So marketeers, sales people, managers, politicians, clergy, entertainers and many other people are wasting their time? All these careers depend on tried and tested techniques to seduce people into believing or saying or doing what they want them to.
People obviously cannot tell the difference between what is fake and what is real. Otherwise there would be no religion, no superstition, no fraud, no politicians, no magicians and no show biz.
Quite clearly men who are socially inept have a natural disadvantage compared to women who are socially inept. Men who are socially inept are less likely to find a mate while women who are physically attractive are likely to have no problem getting male attention. That is the fundamental difference between the sexes when it comes to human courtship.
Human beings are clearly hardwired for quid pro quo. Every human interaction is an exchange and an attempt to establish oneself within the pecking order. Otherwise we would not have social classes, hierarchical organisation, leaders and followers, sport, business, economies, nations and empires and wars.
Your conception of human nature is utterly wrong and utterly naive.
Pen.Island wrote: » I am not part of the pro PUA brigade btw, and would never use any "negging" or "peacocking". I would however act slightly differently on nights out if I was approaching women. I rarely do though. I amn't a confident person naturally, I don't say much. But on nights out when I'm with friends the energy is up and I act more confident and if I was my usual don't say much self then conversation would be non existent with women. I also know that when I am talkative and confident that it is me and not an act that someone taught me. A lot of guys would act more confidently, with drink on them etc, and thus appear more attractive to women. Is this "misleading" and "manipulative"? I don't think so. Therefore just because someone changes the way they act to make them appear more attractive to women doesn't make them users or whatever.
Czarcasm wrote: » it's a whole different ball game when you're going out of your way to learn how to manipulate people in order for them to have sex with you.
Czarcasm wrote: » Yeah see there's nothing wrong with that, "Dutch Courage", but it's a whole different ball game when you're going out of your way to learn how to manipulate people in order for them to have sex with you. That's when you're wading into dodgy territory.
Daveysil15 wrote: » Can you give me an example of how this might happen? What exactly can a man say to manipulate a woman into having sex with him? She would still have to be attracted to him would she not? I know a lot of guys tell a few white lies or say certain things to charm a woman, but actually manipulating someone into having sex with them? I just don't buy it. Maybe there's a few rare cases but I just can't see it been the norm on a typical night out.
Pen.Island wrote: » Why is dutch courage ok though? They are fundamentally changing their personality on that night.
I don't think many people discuss what's gonna happen between 2 people on the night they meet (i.e are they going to see each other again). I don't believe there's anything wrong with a guy acting differently on a night out, having the mutual ONS and leaving it at that. The two people obviously liked each other on that particular night so not too much wrong there in my opinion.
Czarcasm wrote: » Most people have no interest in manipulating anyone into having sex with them, and there's nothing wrong (IMO at least) with a guy stretching the truth or exaggerating a bit to make himself appear more attractive .
Czarcasm wrote: » I personally don't have any issue with ONS', but the whole idea of lying to someone and bigging yourself up making like you're something you're not, just to get somebody to sleep with you? OK, you may not have an issue with that, but I personally would see it as nothing more than pathetic.
osarusan wrote: » Again, this contradicts what you say just moments later: Either there's nothing wrong with it, or it's pathetic, which is it?
Again, the 'sanitising' of non-PUA encounters is quite evident. It's like people are stunned and aghast that somebody would be less than honest when trying to pick up a guy/girl for the night, and that nothing like it ever happened before PUA came along. In reality, it has always been happening, all over the place. Some people may see it as distasteful and manipulative (it may indeed be both those things) but it's not new.
Czarcasm wrote: » There's nobody says it's anything new though, but it's the PUA pseudopsychology is fairly new, and that's what I personally would have an issue with, because of what I would see as it's insidious and intentionally manipulative nature.