realitycheck24 wrote: » Im afraid not Scouser,rent allowance wont be given to new members,it was posted here a while back from some document govt realeased,its just 23,000e no allowances
realitycheck24 wrote: » new garda pay is effectively minimum wage after deductions and it'll take years just to reach take home pay of existing gardai..
thestar wrote: » Its actually laughable. Whatever about a nurse, they can go working in the private sector or leave the country altogether. But a garda does not have these choices
DTB87 wrote: » Anyone know how strict the "having two languages" part is? I am educated beyond the required spec, but have never been interested in learning any languages. I dropped them in school to study other topics, as I was lucky enough to have this option.
thestar wrote: » is there a rent allowance for Gardai?
TheNog wrote: » Rent allowance afaik is still being reviewed for new members. Other allowances that we get for unsocial hours etc will be the same for new entrants. Some people have posted something in the region of €350 a week which could be correct however bare in mind your pension, health, critical illness etc would be already deducted before you get €350. Not to mention that every 4th pay check will contain your allowances and OT. Also you get an increment after 22 weeks attestation and every year after that for the first 6 yrs Might clear up a couple of points.
djor88 wrote: » Jaysus, the pay looks absolutely ****e, without the rent allowance and other allowances it's criminal to pay Police Officers so little, still going for it but with serious thoughts on the pay...
djor88 wrote: » I honestly don't think a person could live on that, doing 6 shifts in a row, dealing with all sorts of things, then trying to struggle to pay for a crappy share flat/house somewhere in a ****ty dublin suburb. There would literally be no money left for anything, forget holidays, buying a house or car etc... I'm currently on a lot better money, but the Guards is the job I want and it nearly sickens me that I still want it even though that pay is so low. Makes me feel like a sucker