godwin wrote: » Can they do this? I mean what civil rights does a person have if they get stopped at a check points by welfare and the garda enquiring who they are and where they are going?http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/burton-garda-checkpoints-on-estates-to-weed-out-welfare-cheats-29665728.html
suicide_circus wrote: » Industrial/business estates, not housing
fishy fishy wrote: » well I suppose they have to put the guards to work somehow. I mean after making sure the elderly have their phone allowance taken from them, they won't be getting any phone calls or alarm calls from people in need because the ones that need it won't have any phones to call from.
A.Partridge wrote: » Ha ha ha ! It's hilarious that Gardai will be checking out people who are doing a bit of black market work. I know lots of gardai with two jobs or more ! :pac:
While Ms Burton said "estates", she later insisted that she meant housing estates rather than industrial estates.
Old Dan Tucker wrote: » How is this going to work? Surely they will not just admit they are going to work. "Where are you off to today?" "Just going painting a house and will be earning €400 ...doh!! You caught me fair and square Guard".
bumper234 wrote: » Then the welfare officer who is with the guard will run a check on you and see if you are on the dole system.
godwin wrote: » So how will the Welfare Office know you're going to work and not just off down the shops?
jank wrote: » I presume they will have some sort of Intel to go after the right people , If a guy is claiming the dole yet is in a van with a few lads, with material, tools, wads of cash and so on, well its not hard to make a case.
jank wrote: » well its not hard to make a case.
Valetta wrote: » What's wrong with a guard having more than one job?
A.Partridge wrote: » Plenty..if they are getting paid under the counter.
Valetta wrote: » Of course, but why did you specify gardai?
A.Partridge wrote: » Because gardai are the one's who have been asked to stop people when they leave their estates. (It just seems a bit ironic, to me.)
Valetta wrote: » But you only said that you know lots of guards with "two jobs or more". Do you actually know that they are not declaring the extra income and if so it begs two questions: a) How do you know and b) have you reported them?