aimhigh wrote: » Just to be a absolutely factual: 1. Sat nav companies never license postcode data;- mapping companies do! 2. Mapping companies only license postcode data where it actually exists and it is used! 3. To date, sat navs only provide a user interface for a very small number of national postcodes globally!
Leonard Shelby wrote: » From Spring 2015 they will be.
aimhigh wrote: » They do not license codes that are not available! How's the 10 year postcode disaster amnesia coming along?
Leonard Shelby wrote: » And why wouldn't they? Its just A65 B2CD as a format, not Egyptian Hieroglyphics. The Sat Nav companies license Postcode data in every other country that has them, why would it be any different here?
Fred Swanson wrote: » This post has been deleted.
CJC999 wrote: » You may not bother but I'd imagine most people posting a letter or parcel who want it to get to its destination will use the post code to ensure it arrives.
iverjohnston wrote: » Cavan post code; Go out of the village over the bridge, ay, where the Artificial Insemanization office was. Go on out that road till you get to the One Tree, yeah, there is a tree growing in the middle of the road, go left dere, and go on to the village of Redhills. Straight through it till you come to the "Flying saucer" You are at the house then. You cant miss it. (genuine directions)
hardCopy wrote: » Having a definitive address removes the need for local knowledge and makes it easier to use Satnav. You could potentially end up with Gardai from outside the local area covering entire counties or multiple counties from a single base. It also opens up the postal market to new entrants. For what it's worth I don't think it'll work unless An Post are forced to reject letters that don't use the postcode, otherwise nobody would bother to learnt the new codes, leaving other operators in the same position they are now.
el pasco wrote: » Sorry but how does not having a postcode affect hse home visits from a nurse or Gardai coming to your house or getting letter or any other service? It never one affected me or anyone I know of who lives so why bother I not trying to be smart but postcode were never needed in the first place anyway not sure why they are being used How on earth but it bring in any savings?? Seriously though how? I don't see how it will bring in any savings
Jamie2k9 wrote: » These new post codes will put a lot of noses out of joint in Dublin. People who actually live in somewhere but claim they live in a posh area, whatever will you do now! Example plenty who live in Ballymun claim its Glasnevin and living in areas of Blacnh but say Castleknock.
MBSnr wrote: » Exactly - that isn't postcode related. An Post do a good job IMO. This isn't about knocking An Post or whatever. We moved house from a rented place and told the postman we had. Old post addressed to us at the rental property was delivered to our new address in a different townland. If that was the UK, you'd have to have to setup a mail redirect for a certain timeframe and pay for that service. I know as I had a re-direct there. Fair play to the An Post postie. For me this thread is purely about saying "you know what, post codes aren't such a bad thing". As long as the system is implemented correctly and on time with no massive IT feck up then what's the issue here? Ok in rural areas there's bound to be some resistance regarding the privacy issue perhaps, as previously vague houses are now completely identifiable down to an individual named resident. But that was always the case in locations with house numbers and road names in towns. Of course the system will cost money but are you or I going to get a tax rebate if they don't introduce the postcode system? Are we individually directly going to financially benefit from it? Both No's. Would the country as a whole benefit? I'd say yes. I'd imagine the savings for the public and private companies is where it'll be seen - HSE home visits, doctors, midwives, home help, patient transfers, ambulances, fire, Gardi etc. Surely any cost saving in the public sector is to be encouraged? Again an individual postcode will mean that the Gov will be able to target each house for water rates, property tax etc. Some say that's unfair... but really it's a charge you will have to pay anyway. But which way would you rather have it? You pay but others get away without paying due to ambiguities with their house address? It would also help the private sector - ESB, courier delivery route planning. I'll be cynical enough to know that the private sector aren't going to pass any savings on to us for sure and that postcodes will be used by insurance companies as a pricing tool in their products. In fact the biggest issue facing Ireland with the postcodes is it'll stop many signing up to Sky multiple times as a new customer from the same address... Those on this thread that say "Ah sure why change the system, it works fine and I always get my post are either living in cities or towns or are not looking at the bigger picture outside of "I get my post, sure it's grand". Yes An Post never ring to find my house or work office, their local knowledge negates the need to do that. So you might get your post every time, but those like myself who get courier deliveries from drivers who may have come over from Dublin or up from Limerick and have to ring and ask "how do I find your office....."? Irish postcode in sat nav. Bang... Done.
iverjohnston wrote: » You get your post because the local postman or woman now knows that NIMAN lives in "the old Jamsie Doherty place" !