lukesmom wrote: » Hit wasn't enjoyable enough for me.
Orlaw3136 wrote: » Worked for me - in that I got one of those over the counter yokes and used it for two days. I personally felt like such a feckin eejit/junkie using it I just quit altogether ! (I accept some people would not feel like that - this was my own view of myself)
dollyk wrote: » gave me really bad coughing fits
Agonist wrote: » That's fair enough. I wonder though, with all the varieties of ecig and e liquid available, whether more people would find a combination that works for them if there were more bricks and mortar outlets. I'm sure that people who try before they buy are more likely to end up with something that works for them. That's brilliant, well done. That makes perfect sense to me. Ecigs don't have the history and cultural associations that cigarettes have so all you are left with is a drug delivery device. I know my clean-living relatives look at it that way and are disapproving. It's great you got off the smokes, but I think you deserve more credit for that than the ecigs. A friend of mine had the same reaction. Once you've ruled out problems like an ecig that's too strong, an ecig that's not assembled properly and are inhaling the right way then it's probably some kind of intolerance to one of the ingredients. There's not much you can do about that, unfortunately.
dePeatrick wrote: » ..nicotine is not a problem... ...It really is a lovely mellow harmless drug...
Esel wrote: » Nicotine is not a harmless drug, for a few reasons. Nicotine causes a (temporary) increase in blood pressure. This could be very serious for someone who already has hypertension (i.e. high blood pressure). It is one of the main reasons that smokers with hypertension are strongly advised to quit. Nicotine is a poison, and can be lethal in overdose. Enjoy the effect in moderation, but do not say it is harmless.
dePeatrick wrote: » Nicotene is about as harmless as coffee....it does raise your blood pressure, so does going to look out the window.....
dePeatrick wrote: » ...nicotine is not particularly harmful at all being on the same spectrum as coffee....
dePeatrick wrote: » ..please go ahead and prove what you claim.
Esel wrote: » You keep spouting it.... If you need me to. Maybe you would like to prove what you claim in return. No? I didn't think so. From wikipedia (and don't blah blah about it not being a reliable source - that may be true for controversial subjects, but not for something like nicotine):Nicotine Read it all, but especially the Toxicology section.Nicotine poisoning I don't really think you want to change your incorrect opinions, though. This does not bother me, as long as you keep them to yourself and don't post them here where uneducated readers might be seriously misinformed by them.
dePeatrick wrote: » Here is the link to the dangerous effects of coffee:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee#Health_risks It is generally, as you can see, held that nicotene itself is not particularly harmful being on the same spectrum as coffee, it is the method that most people use to administer nicotene, cigarettes which are harmful because of the toxins in tobacco. I take it you were a smoker once then?
StickyIcky wrote: » Nicotine is poisonous you're right but you would have to drink or spill some of the concentrated liquid form on yourself. There are plenty of poison liquids around. As adults we should be able to handle these things carefully. Also people with heart problems shouldn't enjoy nicotine or any other stimulating drug or activity. You're dead right. But for the majority of people nicotine in ecigs is not dangerous. Like every drug nicotine has its benefits and its side effects.
Esel wrote: » I never said it was - apart from someone suffering from hypertension (high blood pressure).