Archer3083 wrote: » I've been following the coverage of the All-Ireland final replay closely all week. One interesting feature of the analysis that has emerged is that Cork are being too reactionary in their preparation. Even JBM has admitted as much in interviews. I think JBM is smart. He can't deny Clare were the better team. He's remained incredibly composed and dignified and doesn't give away very much in interviews. He's smart and is not going to give any ammunition to Davy or the Clare team. So, I'm sure that if he feels it's better to let everyone think that Cork are simply being reactionary it will certainly suit him and his team down to the ground to be underestimated. But what if Cork are being too reactionary........??? In the drawn game JBM and Cork were ready for a sweeper system that never materialized. Now it seems with the introduction of Cian O'Neill into the half forwards that Cork are addressing their short comings in that area against Clare. No doubt, puck out strategy will have been revised and short puck outs might feature on Saturday. I hope JBM gets it spot on, and I'm sure he won't just be focusing on Cork's weaknesses. I'm sure he'll have a trick or two up his sleeve. I just hope that Cork aren't playing catch up again on Saturday because I don't think Clare will give up goal chances easily the next day to bring Cork back into the game. They will surely foul further out the field and concede points rather than goals.
D'Agger wrote: » Would be going for Clyda there, but that Nemo team are strong. Played Clyda last weekend and they were poor, they were missing players but so were we, and crucially, their fitness should have told against us and didn't. When we played both teams they seemed to filter men back and then look to break out of defence - Nemo do this better than Clyda imo, additionally, I don't know how many forwards Clyda were missing but they literally seemed to only have two scoring forwards, with alot of the scores coming from frees, many times, forwards in shooting positions laid off the ball when a shot was on - normally the reverse happening is the problem, with forwards shooting on sight and missing. Perhaps Clyda are ensuring that every time they attack they get their score, but their attack didn't look fluid or natural, as opposed to Nemo who counter with pace and were clinical. I wouldn't be suprised to see Nemo nick it but, given the hurt Clyda have gone through, I'd like to see them get another crack at the final where I'd have every confidence on them taking Macroom.
ShamoBuc wrote: » Ticket got.....car of lads organised....room for Liam aswell of course !!!!
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Its a huge wknd at intercounty but big games tngt in the club championship. Clyda and Nemo tngt in the intermediate semifinal in the superb ptich at cloughduv.Would love to make this,bt cant due to the fact saturday and sunday taken up ,senior games for cork. I would love to c clyda win it ,outright ,the mayo of club football in cork,heartbreak defeats in 3 finals the last few years.Not just im a North cork man,but i have great time for what clyda achieved and their support cork hurling in 2009. Sum really die hard players have given their all the last few years. I think its their time,tngt they will win,and set up cracker with macroom. Best luck to them.
Amprodude wrote: » Thought about that earlier on in week. Hope we are not on loosing side again on the 3rd year of decade. We have won football in 73 so it all cant be that bad. I dont think it matters here. Kilkenny never won an All Ireland on the 8th year of any decade, and there was talks in 2008 if they would fall short. They went out played their best hurling ever and blitzed Waterford and capsured the 2008 All Ireland.
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Not a superistous lad or anything,but in every decade since 73 in the third year of that decade, we have been in either senior hurling our football,winning once ,beating galway in 73. We lost to KK in 83,derry 93,kk again 2003. And were now in another final 2013.
thefloss wrote: » Yeah we got terrible ones from Frankeen but luckily was able to swap with the club. I'm even more nervous now that I have great seats! It's like it will be even worse if we lose... doesn't make much sense.
rebel girl 15 wrote: » Lucky!! I've no idea if I have my tickets yet, presume so, and won't know until Friday night when I get into the hotel where mine are!
thefloss wrote: » Lower Cusack for me near the half way line, can't wait. Come on you reds!
rebel girl 15 wrote: » Wish I had time, if I do get time I will do it - up the walls with work and preparing for our own finals day the following weekend!
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » You should do a preview for here for the big day,as bar the Echo who credit due are doing a profile cork players in the lead up to the final every day this week,the coverage in some papers has been poor. The camoige two weeks ago got poor build up exposure. You would know more about both teams than most here.
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » your right,Hes very lightweight ,and he should be stronger like u said,he nds be like lehane.Moylan wil have to come on fast if luke aint performing.Id give luke 20 minutes to prove himself.
Amprodude wrote: » Yeah i was only wondering with a fast player like Lehane would be best suited at 10 or 12. I wouldnt think he would be all that effective at no 15. Of course quality ball would have to be hit low and fast into him where his speed skill and first touch are his strong points to make any Cork attack happen. O Farrell has been poor this year by his own standards. He really needs to get some work done in the gym too. He seems to get pushed around far too easy. He is young so that can be worked on in the coming years. If good quality ball goes into him he has pace to burn most defenders. It will be interesting to see how Cork will vary the puckout strategy next day and if Clare can counteract it. I cant see JBM making same mistakes again.
rebel girl 15 wrote: » From what I heard, Jules will be fine Team will be public tomorrow I reckon - would have had to have been with HQ yesterday for programme printing, so should be up on the website pretty soon
thinkstoomuch1 wrote: » Connor won't be orthdox corner forward,like the limerick game.If he is,its mad,but jbm isnt stupid and rarely makes the same mistake twice.If he is confined to the corner,he will be like a big fish in a small tank,he wont have the room to move or breathe,and slowly but surely he will have a slow painful death. I expect a number of things to happen.Lorchan to play very deep,above joyce,but between midfield a donnellan role,but away from donnellan,and not in a congested midfield,that wnt suit him.Kearney be the man to bomb forward,stronger physically than lorchan. This will help joyce and stop runners from midfield but ,wil help cork gain a foothold here. Also ,and it wont be cronin,but as in the ist game,in the second half harnedy will play a deeper midfield role ,to fil the gap,aka timmy mac,in 99. Cronin will stay put as unlike harnedy hasnt the athleticsim mobility ,or legs to do that role.Harnedy will graft and win breaking dirty ball. Lehane will play very much as a 12,,he and harnedy will want to win breaks,and if they do,will run hard straight at clare ,on sat. We need it hard,straight and direct,we need more peneration saturday. O connor is their weakest link.Lehanes goal was superb,as good as riche hogans similar goal in 2010 against dub. Harnedy moving deeper will force donnellan or bulger to move out further,and their not as good outside that comfort zone. O farrell and horgan as a two man full forward line,can do damage. But farell needs to step up now.He may look the part,but we need a repeat of limerick u21 2011 and tipp last year in the league where he had two superb goals. Cian id say will be a wing man,try and get isolated as he can win ball.Its vital,cronin and cian dont bunch up like a swarm of bees around honey,as davy wants cork to bunch. You keep it wide ,you can beat clare system. Nash wasnt at all to blame for the puckouts.I stil fail to fathom why hes blamed.He cant be faulted for the poor and lack of movement and options our players gave him,and when he did,he cant be blamed for their awful ist touch or lack ability to win ball. He could not play it short,it would have been a truly dissaster,like sailing the titantic in to an iceberg,despite warnings not to. Ex cork camoige player sarah o donovan wrote the best article i have read since the drawn game tonight. She said many great points. She said nash coudnt have went with short puckouts as the midfield was overran,their was no movement,and the half back line was already under huge pressure. She nailed it"it would have been the straw to break the camels back "if cork went short. The fault wasnt with nash.If cusack was their it would have been the same. In 2005 galway expected cork to go short.The cork half forwards pushed out deep,sumthing we didnt do last day,and therefore cusack varied it,went long,suprised galway,and one of those created the goal,when Ben,raced in to oceans of free space. She also made a great point.So far clare either blow a team out of it,in high scoring games like limerick or else like in june,they get blown out of it.She said their similar to Galway last year. Her point was its all or nothing,theres no in between,like cork who have against clare in the final and in games like galway,and waterford when outplayed in the league got draws. But we have also won high octane games like the dub game.She is right,the more you think of it,theirs a real substance and middle ground with this cork team.
Amprodude wrote: » Why is Conor Lehane at 15? Will there be a switch there when game starts?