"men must accept that most violent crimes perpetrated against women are by men, and that they have the power to stop this."
Pawwed Rig wrote: » I actually got a response today from the editor. He fairly just brushed off any comments I made and said the article was aimed more at the Garda commissioner and that the author hopes her 'provocative' article will make more men take steps to reduce violence on women. So he essentially endorsed the article. I sent a follow up e-mail to highlight the fact that he ignored most of my points so we will see if I get a response from that. After that I will fire one off to the ombudsman.
clairefontaine wrote: » It's no big secret the media is saturated with lefty bean eating yuppies. This is politics 101 and I've said the same thing on discussions around Islam, not that feminist are nearly on par with jihadists but there is a similar principal at work, like in any ideology. The radicals and extremists are there to make the moderates look good, so they don't seem so bigoted and irrational, so their irrationalities can take hold in the perceptions of ordinary people who simply like to think of themselves as good people. So the more extreme on the continuum the ideology is, the more extreme the moderate scale can become while still appearing reasonable, to those who have swallowed the original sales pitch. Yah yeah, it's not all Muslims, yeah yeah, it's not all feminists, yeah yeah I'm a Muslim and I condemn that, yeah yeah, I'm a feminist and I condemn that, all sinking in the slew of denial because the brainwashing worked. And no one likes to admit they are a fool. All denying the very essences and evidences of what's right in front of them. Peer pressure at its finest and most dangerous. This is not just feminists fault, but also the fault of do goodie yippies.
Pawwed Rig wrote: » I think a few people would huff and puff about it but most would think it fair enough if they actually took the time to think about it.
mariaalice wrote: » The article was a bit silly that's all, its not to do with feminism in and of its self, feminism is only one outcrop of the confused thinking in the society re rights verses responsibilities and where do you draw the line.
Lemming wrote: » A bit silly? Implying that all men and boys are somehow facilitating and by extension as bad as those men who commit acts of rape because they do not personally stop them. In net; your grandfather, your father, your brother, your son, your cousin, your nephew; all are guilty of rape by association. The article stops short of saying "all males are rapists". So no, that article is not "a bit silly". It's vile. I mean, it's not like all women are guilty by association for prostitution now is it? You'll never see a "provocative" article written like that, because it'd be seen for the boll*cks that it is and rightly so. So why, as soon as you peg a penis to the equation does it become acceptable to pen such an article and then laugh it off as "a bit silly".
mariaalice wrote: » Fair point but I am not sure if that's what she meant or maybe I read it wrong. I wonder what people think of this my husband thinks a lot of extreme feminism is nutty, however he will not put up with jokes that put women down, if someone make a joke he doesn't like in company he does not say anything he just does not laugh or respond to it and that can be enough of a signal. I read it as, don't with your silence endorse behaviour you might be uncomfortable with yourself.
py2006 wrote: » The article suggests that I am potentially a rapist and some of my friends are aware of this but choose to turn a blind eye. Equally it suggests that I KNOW a rapist, he is one of my friends/family, and I choose to turn a blind eye.
Pepe LeFrits wrote: » I don't think the author's personal life is of any relevance.
Nathanael Jolly Barmaid wrote: » And they wonder why men, particularly young men suffer from poor mental health and are more likely to commit suicide.
Nathanael Jolly Barmaid wrote: » I reckon complaining to the ombudsman or anyone won't make a jot of difference
SeventySix wrote: » dont walk down that alley alone as there might be a scary man there to rape you.
SeventySix wrote: » but dont meet a man from the internet alone as he might be a scary rapist.
SeventySix wrote: » dont get too drunk as a scary man might see that as an opportunity and sexually assult you.
mariaalice wrote: » I read it as, don't with your silence endorse behaviour you might be uncomfortable with yourself.
SeventySix wrote: » Women are damned if they do, and damned if they dont. We are rightly not supposed to tar all men as rapists, but privately, according to advice from some men including the Garda Commissioner we are supposed to view a lot of situations as rife with potential rapists and therefore make sure to protect ourselves. For me, this is an enormous part of the problem. Its not just this artice that says all men are potential rapists, it was the statement by the Garda, who said basically - be careful if you meet men off the internet as they might rape and kill you.
SeventySix wrote: » Don't tar all men as rapist, but don't walk down that alley alone as there might be a scary man there to rape you. Don't tar all men as rapist, but don't meet a man from the Internet alone as he might be a scary rapist. Don't tar all men as rapist, but don't wear that outfit as a scary man might see your boobs and be unable to control himself. Don't tar all men as rapist, but don't get too drunk as a scary man might see that as an opportunity and sexually assault you. Women are damned if they do, and damned if they don't. We are rightly not supposed to tar all men as rapists, but privately, according to advice from some men including the Garda Commissioner we are supposed to view a lot of situations as rife with potential rapists and therefore make sure to protect ourselves. For me, this is an enormous part of the problem. Its not just this artice that says all men are potential rapists, it was the statement by the Garda, who said basically - be careful if you meet men off the internet as they might rape and kill you.
mariaalice wrote: » There in lies the problem, one of my daughters is currently working in a job where she is finish late at night and has to get the bus home and then walk a bit, I worries about this and tell her to be careful to the point where I am sure I am annoying her, however women walking alone on a dark street late at night are more venerable, should she not be out late at night, should I not warn her to be careful.
Is it anyone "falt" that a women out alone late at night is more vulnerable, was the head of the Garda wrong to tell women to be careful?
The Corinthian wrote: » That's the difference between being responsible and being paranoid though. Responsible is knowing that there are bad men or women around and we should remember this. Paranoid is when you believe that all men or women are bad. We're all vulnerable alone late at night, not just women. Almost every male friend I have, and including myself, has had some bad experience with someone looking for a fight. Personally, I think you should probably be asking why the head of the Gardi did not feel the need to tell men the same thing?
SeventySix wrote: » He did. He actually said 'People'. It was widely reported though as 'Commissioner warns women' Perhaps because he said it in connection with a woman being murdered, or perhaps because it is ingrained in a lot of people that women need to be reminded to be sensible, while men do not.
Sure look out of Golddiggers etc but they generally dont attack you on the bus or outside a pub or in a taxi or down a dark alley etc
mariaalice wrote: » While women and men are vulnerable when out late on a dark empty street the reality is women are more vulnerable because of their weaker physic and while men are sexuality assaulted it is far more likely to happen to a woman.
To be pedantic every one must know some who had behaved outside the law merely by the law of average's
mariaalice wrote: » There in lies the problem, one of my daughters is currently working in a job where she is finish late at night and has to get the bus home and then walk a bit, I worries about this and tell her to be careful to the point where I am sure I am annoying her, however women walking alone on a dark street late at night are more venerable, should she not be out late at night, should I not warn her to be careful. Is it anyone "falt" that a women out alone late at night is more vulnerable, was the head of the Garda wrong to tell women to be careful?
Pawwed Rig wrote: » There is also a strange assumption by the columnist that women do not have male friends.