SpaceTime wrote: » Well, the local powers that be seem to think that the solution is to keep making the closing times earlier and earlier. If they just let pubs / venues close when they wanted to it would avoid dumping thousands of people onto the streets at the height of their drunkness and often in bad form. The whole problem is the mass exodus due to the licensing hours and I don't understand why our governments have been so backwards about it. The other aspect of it is that our crazy hours are also limiting tourism potential and the development of a serious club scene. Instead we've got mayhem on the streets every busy night in most of our towns and cities. If you were seriously into clubs, you'd be off your head to go to Dublin, Cork or Galway for a weekend. You'd be off to London, Manchester, Paris, Amsterdam, Barcelona or anywhere else you could think of. It's like the powers that be just frown on night life and think it needs to be reigned in.
SpaceTime wrote: » Yeah, it's completely destroying Cork's potential as a decent 'weekend destination' for tourism (local and international) and it's also making the city centre look unnecessarily rough because of the drunk yobs spilling out at the same time. Is it the city council or who is setting these closing hours? Why are they different in Dublin and Cork?
gifted wrote: » Because none of these places have trouble either?...
lisasimpson wrote: » was in town both nights didn't notice much Friday night but Saturday wasn't nice in town at all. it didn't seem the usual crowd at all, walking from south mall to grand parade was full of v young people hammered kindof reminded me of a paddys day. Ive never experienced town that young before, it put us all off of going anywhere after the pub. there wasn't a nice vibe in there at all even at midnight the ambulances and garda cars seemed v busy a there seemed to be a lot of them around.we were wondering was there something on
Milly33 wrote: » This is why we gave up heading into town it is so rough. I don't want to see that crap after coming out of a pub. It had defiantly got worse over the last few years. I don't think closing the pubs later or earlier would do any good think tis just the people. No one respects anything anymore...Guards don't seem to be able to or do much about it, I do appreciate them but whats the point in standing there being an onlooker
minidazzler wrote: » It's not gotten worse in the last few years. It's actually gotten better...
GavRedKing wrote: » The main problem is the blanket 2am and your out, it forces thousands onto the streets and into cab bases, fast food outlets and will lead to patches of violence all over. ...
mathepac wrote: » Rubbish. Complete and utter tosh. The problem is public drunkenness and the yob culture that naturally follows. The solution? There are many, including enforcing existing laws.
gimmick wrote: » It is neither rubbish nor tosh. Push that many people out together causes flash points. If people were drifting out onto the streets at their own pace, there would be less hassle on the street after as there would be less queues and therefore less scope to skip queues etc. Obviously it is not the perfect solution, but it would help.
mathepac wrote: » It is both rubbish and tosh to deny that the single greatest cause of the problems on the streets at week-ends, at taxi-ranks, take-aways, in licensed premises and in hospital A&Es is drunkenness. The majority of the drunken, violent and abusive idiots who piss, puke, fall and fight their way home at the week-ends see this as their God-given right, their entitlement as citizens of the State. They display nothing but contempt for themselves and for those of us who choose not to share their sorry state.
minidazzler wrote: » You're still wrong .... You are simply wrong. ... you're just looking through rose tinted glasses. And just because you don't drink doesn't mean you've some great insight into the root cause. Get over yourself mat.
the beer revolu wrote: » ... you are right that closing time isn't the root cause of anti social behavior but neither is drunkenness. ...
usersame wrote: » totally agree, however clubs in Dublin close at about 4am and some stay open until 6am!