mariaalice wrote: » Its definitely a Irish thing my daughter is a nurse in the UK and no one give a feck its just a job like any other job.
mariaalice wrote: » I am curious about this, how come nurses are like a red rag to a bull on boards in various forums from the Irish economy to after hours. Why do they attract all the ire, a small amount of it is misogyny for sure, and some of it is a bit nutty, but it is more that that as well. Its definitely a Irish thing my daughter is a nurse in the UK and no one give a feck its just a job like any other job.
rubadub wrote: » What did you actually ask your daughter, or hear from her? e.g. did you ask if she noticed any comments on some UK forums similar to boards? did you bother to search yourself? I doubt people who might whinge about them on boards are going around all the hospitals openly ranting at nurses in public.
mariaalice wrote: » Yes we do talk about it as she had friends who are nurses at home and they often talk about he difference between the job here and in the UK.
Frank Black wrote: » Haven't read much 'ire' on boards specifically directed at Nurses, and as regards misogyny - you are aware nurses aren't exclusively female?
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » triple time on a Sunday
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » big pensions
Jester252 wrote: » who would want to do such a hard job and fair play to the for doing it.
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » 17 euro an hour for fluffing a few pillows and fetching drinks easy money
Jester252 wrote: » I was talking about been married to a garda
joeperry wrote: » I've worked in lots of hospitals and they do feck all. Ok cleaning poo ain't the best but it's not hard work.
K-9 wrote: » Jaysus, that's the first time misogyny ever crossed my mind as a reason to begrudge nurses. Tbh most of it seems to be about pay, as with all public sector bashing. Others don't seem to like that they've a pretty good reputation, and many sing their praises after witnessing what they do. Others just seem to belittle them as a vocation.
MonaPizza wrote: » PAY???? Are people suggesting that nurses are overpaid?