laraghrider wrote: » I'm exactly the same opinion here. I don't like the HTC 1 or the Galaxy's as they are way too big. I don't get the whole thing of this phone is better because it's got a much bigger screen. The 5 for me is as big a screen as I would go.
Xavi6 wrote: » Nope! I hate the size of some of the Androids people are going around with. If there's an option for one or the other, a la the iPad mini, that's fine but just having a bigger phone option would really shit me. The 5 is plenty big imo.
laraghrider wrote: » This seems to be the thoughts of many and is fully understandable. The problem that apple and indeed everyone else now is what I call the Simpsons problem. They've done everything! What's left in a standard handset? 3D or full holographic video call? Retina scan for security? There is nothing left to come up with and they are all just going bigger screen now to seem like the best in show. Contact less is potential but at present nobody seems to care so it's a pretty useless feature. Fingerprint scanning isn't anywhere near accurate enough yet and far too unreliable for main stream commercial use. Ditto retina in a small package. So where do we go bar bigger screen, better battery, higher res camera, 1 tb per second Bluetooth speeds. At that the masses will moan that's its all iterative rather than innovative.
pfurey101 wrote: » Nope! Never thought of Googling for people who dedicate their jobs to apple/mobile space. I'm still hoping for a big screen this time around. My 2 years are up and don't really want to wait till next Summer for a decent sized iPhone screen. Mad bit of planning this is.
murpho999 wrote: » Am I alone here and not wanting a bigger screen?
Xavi6 wrote: » As long as they don't make the phone any bigger I'll be delighted, I've an iPad and don't need a brick in my pocket.
murpho999 wrote: » Am I alone here and not wanting a bigger screen? Don't use a phone for watching a video and like the compactness of iPhone size. Stupid research comment, this product has developed over the last 10 years and has defined the market (as much as Android users don't like to hear that) and people just focus on a new colour.
pfurey101 wrote: » I'm still grasping straw hoping that we have all be conned and Apple will pull a fast one and come out with an S4 sized kind of screen. Some papers are still saying it, but most aren't .......where's that straw As the man said on the radio just now. Billions in research and they come up with a champagne cover.
Creamy Goodness wrote: » Radio? Papers? Seriously you listen to mediums who only report on apple when there's a launch. As opposed to sites/people who dedicate their jobs to apple/mobile space?
Ivefoundgod wrote: » At this point, there's little to separate the high end phones except personal taste. I'm hoping Apple can come up with something truly new. A fingerprint scanner would be cool but not really a game changer.
Ivefoundgod wrote: » Is that the time when the event starts? I've got training at 6.30, didn't think the announcement for the iPhone would be until around 8 or 9pm. Ah well, I'll catch if afterwards if thats the case.
madness98 wrote: » The announcment takes place at 6pm here, some have suggested about 2 weeks or so before it goes on sale
MrMac84 wrote: » What time is the announcement? How soon (if they announce a new iPhone) after wards before its on general realise do ye think?
laraghrider wrote: » They have, they are waiting to have it cleared by regulators in most countries. I read about it on techhive about a year ago. It was something to do with a gas contained within the battery that had regulators and safety heads rattled and have held it up. In test's it powered a Galaxy S3 for 10 days. There is also the new li-ion electrode that they say increases those batteries by 10 fold. It's signed off as viable product but due to non mass production as of yet it's still far too expensive. Oh and in relation to the poster complaining and saying how his nokia held a 2 week charge or whatever. Yeah if you've got mono green screen, no data and don't use it for music then yes you will get 2 weeks out of it. There was a company in germany about 2 years ago for a laugh took a 4S battery and worked it to power a 5110. It lasted over a month on a single charge.
emo72 wrote: » Jaysus lads. It always has to descend into a pissing contest. Anyway as a nexus owner I can't wait for the 5c to be announced tomorrow. Hopefully it's cheaper than forecast but I won't hold my breath. I suppose it will be the evening time before it's announced? Should be interesting on Christmas morning when my little one is asking why she can't drag and drop files onto it and why nothing will play! "Hey honey, you asked for this!"
DubDJ wrote: » Although I understand why the battery life is the way it is, I'm still surprised nobody has come up with a great solution to improve and extend the battery life of some of the top end phones.
Alpha Dog 1 wrote: » Could never understand how people continued to pay through the nose in a recession knowing that Apple, one of the most profitable companies in the world make 57% profit on every iPhone sold. The nexus 4 is a better phone, and for 250 euro Apple can keep their iPhone.