Pherekydes wrote: » What did "we" win in 1990?
Sunglasses Ron wrote: » Ah here! No comparison. Maybe it is just me but I don't remember the general public caring for rugby until around the time it moved to Croker and everyone bandwagon on the significance of playing England there.
Crooked Jack wrote: » Neither. All-Ireland Final 2002. Tiocfaidh Armagh!
podgemonster wrote: » Born in '86 so have very blurry memories of Italia '90. We did however have a television room in secondary school with an Italia 90 highlights video. There were several wet lunch times where we watched it. In particular the penalty shootout as if twas live. I remember us going ape-shít when Packie stopped the final Romanian shot and some lads couldn't even watch Dave O'Leary take his peno. Emmense emotion experienced 10 years later. Fantastic.A Nation holds its breath....
Tin Foil Hat wrote: » It's just you. Support for rugby has been on the increase since the start of the century.
NiallSparky wrote: » I'll take the last 16 of World Cup 2002 for that year...
iDave wrote: » Different sports with different levels of competitiveness and competition structures. Guess the sport you like the most is the deciding factor. Personally see my county winning an All Ireland was better than both.
niallon wrote: » That so many people think Italia 90 was the better achievement is exactly why we are always bridesmaids in sport when it matters. Ah we did well. Ah we gave it our best. Sure we're only a small island. Smaller sport or smaller competition, Ireland still had to get past the third and fourth biggest powers in the game (Wales and France) in order to win the Slam, it's every bit the equivalent of getting nearly there in the WC. The sooner this island realises that we actually could be world beaters in various sports the sooner we will be. I carry the same sentiment towards the last Rugby World Cup by the way, nothing was achieved by making a quarter final.
PTH2009 wrote: » Thank god Leigh Halfpenny was not taking Wales last ticket as i believe he would of scored it
PTH2009 wrote: » Rememeber when tommy bowe scored the second try i broke 2 pints on the table in front of me and stayed celebrating. Thank god Leigh Halfpenny was not taking Wales last ticket as i believe he would of scored it
Frank Black wrote: » I can clearly remember the shoot-out between Ireland and Romania at the 1990 World Cup. I was with my family and we were on the Rosslare- Cherbourg ferry bound for a camping holiday in France. The match went into extra time as the ferry docked at Cherbourg and despite numerous intercom announcements for people to make their way back to their cars for dis-embarking, nobody was going anywhere – this was our first time in the World Cup and nobody wanted to miss it. There were hundreds of people clustered around a couple of (quite small) tv’s and the atmosphere was (not to sound clichéd) electric.When David O’Leary scored the winning penalty the whole boat went mad – people jumping around hugging strangers etc. I can remember the eventual disembarking of the ferry. Hundreds of cars poured into the port with people hanging out of windows, beeping horns and generally going crazy – how there weren’t any accidents is probably a minor miracle. The bemused faces of the French customs officials in the port only added to the surreal situation. Even now 21 years later it still makes me smile.:)
PTH2009 wrote: » which was better ?? I was only a few months old in 1990 so remember nothing from that. It has to be the 2009 Grand slam for me
Jimoslimos wrote: » As accurate as Halfpenny is with the boot it is irrelevant, because distance was Stephen Jones undoing for that last kick. Remember Halfpenny missed a similar-ish kick to win the second Lions test against Australia this year.
matthew8 wrote: » Halfpenny has a range around 5 metres longer than Jones. As a rugby fan I'd love to say rugby got the nation more excited and while I think the slam was a better achievement because we beat some very good teams rather than drawing 3 games at a world cup and then getting one of the easier last 16 draws by pure chance as opposed to playing the West Germans, scraping past Romania and getting knocked out in the quarters but you only have to look around anywhere to see the nation gets far more excited about even qualifying for a major soccer tournament than they do for any rugby match.