Royal Legend wrote: » Thanks Lemlin, you got over a real banana skin yesterday, I would not write youse off against Kerry either. In some ways we are better off finishing like we did last night, we are still a work in the early stages of progress and I don't think I could watch us trying to play another anti football team this summer. When I got home I watched the tape of the game, two things stood out, Kevin Reilly's non foul at the end, which for some reason RTE did not show a replay of and Brolley's comments afterwards, for once I had to agree 100% with the man, especially the "holier than thou" comment. For me personally, I had Newman as Man of the Match, he was a constant threat, won his own ball against experienced negative defending, won the peno, setup the goal, set up numerous chance for others. Last night was the first time I really saw the how people could compare his potential to a young Brian Stafford The future is bright and it is Green, there will be a lot of pressure for the lads to build on this next year, don't expect too much next year, I would give them at least 2 years to build on this, a lot of teams would have taken notice of us this year and the likes of Wallace, Newman and Reilly can expect a lot of extra unwanted attention next year. I still think we have big issues at midfield. At least I don't have to comment on Tyrone, I have always viewed them as they were viewed by the majority of spectators last night (except the two clowns in the commentary box), the black card will kill them off next year, they could also do with bringing it in for feigning injury as well. I am not going to knock Joe or Brian, but they do not look to be at the races anymore as regards the pace of games, it was a mistake not to start Peadar. Both Joe and Brian have given us a lot of enjoyment during some lean years and that should not be forgotten. Other than that Mick O'Dowd and the whole Meath setup have put the pride and passion back into Meath football and for that they deserve all the plaudits. An Mhi Abu
Lemlin wrote: » My one worry for Meath is players coming through - other than the minor team which reached the AI final last year, ye haven't had any underage success I can think of. I said before the season started that Farrell and Joe weren't up to it but it appears to me that yas are stuck in a bit of a rut as there's nothing coming through to replace them.
Royal Legend wrote: » I would say that Newman and Wallace are the new replacements for the two of them, there is plenty of attacking talent in Meath, backup for midfield is the thing, we need O'Rourke back and at least one other.
royaler83 wrote: » Wallace newman carroll menton keogan harnan tormey are all either in their 1st r 2nd year. Apparently only 6 of the team that beat kildare last year started against the dubs this year, O dowds not afraid mix in these young lads with the more experienced fellas. I do agree though that Joe n Farrells best days are behind them
OiOshawott wrote: » One or two of the St. Pat's team that made it to the All-Ireland school's final this year (even though they were shocking that day) might get on the team in a few years time
rpurfield wrote: » speaking of new forwards does anyone know much about the kerry lad playing for dunboyne, we played them in a league last week and my father was raving about him for most of yesterday especially in light of joes performance.just wondering if anyone had seen him
paul71 wrote: » 1. Paddy O Rourke 2. Donal Keogan 3. Kevin Reilly 4. Davy Dalton 5. Padraig Harnan 6. Brian Menton 7. Seamus Kenny 8. Conor Gilespie 9. Brian Meade 10. Eamon Wallace 11. Shane O Rourke 12. Graham Reilly 13. David Bray 14. Micky Newman 15. Stephen Bray Looks good to me, no lack of talent coming through based on this with 2 teenagers and the majority under 25.
The Showstopper wrote: » No harm in trying lads early in the year. I would imagine as well that there is few good young players in Ratoath that will be given a go. Bobby O'Brien looks a good player and Joey Wallace is supposed to be fairly decent. We really do need more back up in midfield too, very short on options there. I know Conor Sheridan got a go there early this year but I haven't seen him play myself.
Hammer Archer wrote: » I saw him once in the championship and he stood out for me. Not sure if he's willing to go through an intercounty transfer though. If he wishes to play for Meath, then I would be in favour of giving him a shot at it.
Lemlin wrote: » What about your sub bench? It's a 20 man game now. You also have to be able to cope with at least 2-3 injuries generally. That's a good starting 15 alright but I still don't think the strength in depth is there and there are huge doubts over D. Bray and O'Rourke getting back to where they were.
paul71 wrote: » Alan Forde, Young, Carroll, Big Joe, Peadar Byrne, Cian Ward ??? (enigma), Tornley, Joe Wallace (Eamons brother), Brian Sheridan, M Burke. Plenty of back-up. I think we are 18 months from a seriously good team.
enricoh wrote: » watched the match again there and am still none the wiser about some of them tyrone frees.
Lemlin wrote: » Forde I will give you. He looked good last year and has speed. I also agree re Peadar Byrne. Carroll doesn't look up to it. As others have pointed out, either does Brian Sheridan who has been around years. Big Joe, like Cian Ward, needs to go. Burke has been poor of late. Maybe injuries have taken their toll as I remember him as alot better a few years back. Are that lot as good as the benches of counties like Cavan, Galway, Dublin and Tyrone? I don't think so.
paul71 wrote: » What I am not sure of is Goal-keeper cover and of course as others have said Shane O'Rourke we just dont know what will happen and HE is the key factor IMO, with him we will be at the top table, without him we won't.
Rock Lesnar wrote: » Same here, ive never been so angry leaving a game, was sitting down near pitch level and could see that the frees he gave were never frees, to be honest when i heard he was the ref i feared the worst, cos against wexford he gave the same type of performance as the other night.
Lemlin wrote: » Are that lot as good as the benches of counties like Cavan, Galway, Dublin and Tyrone? I don't think so.
Felexicon wrote: » Where are you going with this Cavan bench thing Lemlin? Sure you have had a good run, but lads coming on and hitting a few scores against the likes of London and Derry does not put your bench in the same bracket as Dublin and Tyrone. Sure you might eventually get there but two swallows does not make a summer my friend