Thinkstoomuch wrote: » Clare it is,as most expected it would be,in the semi final. It is going to be a huge ask for Cork to win.The Clare half back line as they have done against us twice,controlled the second half. Thats where our problems will start.Our weakest line,no ball winners ,if Cronin is midfield,we will be starved of possession in our full forward line.As lethal as it can be it needs a supply of ball. Paudie Sullivan ,a man for the big games is a huge loss. Our defence will be under immense pressure,due to Clare launching attack after attack on our defence. Clare proved that if youre good enough your age doesnt matter,and youth is the way to go.They never panic,when their behind,and after getting their first win in 5 years,they will get better.The fact they handled the favourites tag will help them for our game. For Cork to have any chance,they got to pick players that will cover every blade of thurles,put and take the hits and have a massive workrate.They have the talent in the full forward line,but unless they match Clare with intensity and workrate it means nothing.JBM has to pick the right team and cant afford any passengers.If he doesnt do that,their beaten before they take the field. When the team is picked ,we will know if we have any chance.Colm Spillane should start for starters.Clare have so much pace,Kenny or White wont do. Unfortunately though ,i feel he will start one of them.He will also probably start Cussen. Enough said.Galway are Corks final opponents in a challenge match in around two weeks.They picked a full strength team that drew with Tipp last week in a challenge match.I hope they pick a full strength side for our game and throw the kitchen sink at us.We need a tougher test,than what Limerick and Tipp gave us in the last two challenges matches. Particulary the Tipp game,there defence was no where near first choice and made some of our players look better than they are. Cork already have problems to solve,but were going in undercooked as well,which is one problem the management cant be faulted for.Luck of the draw. We would have rathered a first round match.
Hidalgo wrote: » The Clare HB line is one area that Cork could expose, Donnellan is very light for 6 and Bugler has a tendancy to give away silly frees and get caught in possession (how he got MOTM last Sunday is beyond me). We do have options but it's not an area I'd see davy tinkering with. Donnellan and Morey at 5 and 7 would give some serious pace for raiding down the flanks and also bring Galvin into the game at mid-field as runners coming from deep sees him more involved. I think the Cork HB line and midfield is weaker that Waterford's but Cork's inside line pose a far bigger threat than Waterford. The positioning of Cronin will be crucial, as will a plan B for Cork, when he eventually tired in the relegation playoff, Cork had nothing resembling a plan for puckouts
yomtea98 wrote: » We have a great chance of beating Clare imo
premierstone wrote: » I agree, I was extremely underwhelmed by Clare last Sunday, they will need to improve massively to beat Cork. Clare are very naieve tactically to me and predictable, I'm pretty sure JBM will have a plan in place to counteract the Clare gameplan. I don't rate Cussen at all but he will be key if he starts, look at the trouble Shanahan caused last Sunday untill he either faded or picked up a knock he had Clare in knots. Cussen could cause them similar problems and pick up alot of cheap frees at least.
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » I dont agree premier stone cussen,can cause damage.It takes a lot more than just height,to survive at intercounty level. Shanahan is no where near hes brother Dan,but is much better than cussen. On what basis?and what has cussen done,to prove he is up to it? Tippeareary,know first hand,that a big man on the edge of the square wont work,you need more from a player. 2007,ye had big Michael webster,in their.Would tipp fans want him back.Not a hope. Redser o Grady,is a big man,but again no where near Ic level.would ye take him back? Cussen to win frees? He may win the odd,one or two,but thats it. The way Ic hurling is referred at times,it makes Rubgy look soft,in fairness. Another point about frees,is Cussen was manned and outmuscled in the munster club final. Not a cork county final,where he wont be challenged,but in a munster final,he was stopped,repeateadly,and complained he was fouled. Whether he was or wasnt,he didnt get any frees. Pat ryan,sarsfields coach,said afterwards,he was roughed out of it,and should have been better protected.That was at club level. Wait till he gets to Inter county hurling.Thats part and parcel now,whether its right or wrong,fact is nothing soft is given by referees. People seem to forget, Cussen couldnt use hes height at Ic football for years bar one game,and its no suprise,when he was dropped like many others from the 07 final,that three laters Cork won an ireland with better forwards.He had plenty of chances in 2010 for the hurlers. Has he honesty improved that much in fairness?
premierstone wrote: » I agree with you he needs to improve he's physicality and to be honest at times he looks like a coward to me, but that Clare FB line is weak, very weak. It may not be Cussen but someone should be able to - Mauroce Shanahan is an average hurler and had them in knots. Webster was cat but he had he's days aswell, I seem to remember him absolutely destroying Brian Lohan in the Gaelic Grounds one day. Redser was an excellent hurler and its unfair to lump him in there, Redsers 'issues' had little to do with hurling, again I recall him destroying Noel Hickey one day, and I mean destroying. Anyway, your doing a fine job of playing the poor mouth - I like it, stay in the long grass, cute auld Cork hoors for it
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » Fair play to Darren Sweetnam,starting today for Ireland in the Junior Rubgy World Cup in France. Anyone needing to see why the Cork panel are indefintely weaker than 12 months ago, you just need to take one look at he's strength tonight.He is a superb athlete. One of the reasons we have gone backwards this year, is we are missing players like him. It is in times like now that you realise what a savage loss he really was to Cork.
ShamoBuc wrote: » ...and he scores the first try after 15mins!
Horse84 wrote: » Barry Kelly confirmed to ref cork and Clare in the hurling. We could've done without that but he'll be the least of our worries at this stage
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » According to the Echo tonight,Cronin is all set to miss the clare game. He is still in hospital with pneuomina.
Mountainlad wrote: » I can't help but feel that this is just another piece of evidence to add to my theory that Davy Fitz is indeed the most fortunate manager in the history of the GAA. Incredible.
Hidalgo wrote: » He (and Clare) will be fair lucky if Cronin is out, biggest loss for Cork in the front 8 anyway.
mr bungle. wrote: » Everyday seems to bring more bad news ,we will be doing well to field a team by the time match day comes around,,a lot of pressure on cussen to deliver
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » The last thing we need now is it to pour out of the heavens.JBM view is speed is the only way to go.He wants Cork like greyhounds. You need another option though if your studs are stuck to the ground.This is not like horse racing where you can pull out if the going is heavy ,and pick and choose your race to suit only your strengths.
mr bungle. wrote: » don't quote me but I think the weather is meant to be monsoon like for the weekend,