yara wrote: » after the recent crackdown on peaceful protest in Istanbul and the sudden revolution that spread across the country in a matter of hours all the Occupys of the world are coming back tomorrow at 12 because the system we exist under is just getting worse. No need to complicate things, if you keep your head down you facilitate the system but if you dare try to stand up for yourself in Istanbul or Rossport you get the full force of the law down on you protecting business interests all the way. Hindsight is on our side so seek the truth or bury your heads in the sand, both require digging but only one decision requires ignorance in spades
swiftman wrote: » eyre square is great in this weather, dont turn it into a dump again!
Re-Occupy Galway returns tomorrow
TerrorFirmer wrote: » Pretty sure at this stage even the mythical 99% would rather it didn't.
yara wrote: » are you're sure about that? you do realise 1,700,000 of us have less than €100 at the end of the month,
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Source?
yara wrote: » this is a worldwide movement and the fact some of you are sound asleep
yara wrote: » No need to complicate things, if you keep your head down you facilitate the system but if you dare try to stand up for yourself in Istanbul or Rossport you get the full force of the law down on you protecting business interests all the way.
BuzzFish wrote: » I wish I was but I have to get up and go to work every day to pay my bills. No time to sit around and make a nuisance of myself.
yara wrote: » this is a worldwide movement and the fact some of you are sound asleep or just don't want to see anyone standing up against the system is the last thing on any occupiers mind. if you feel so strongly about the camp come down and chat face to face or do us all a favour and step away from your keyboard
yara wrote: » how are we making a nuisance of ourselves?? I hope your job is 100% secure but if not we'll keep a chair for you just in case
yara wrote: » In December 2012, 72 per cent million people believed that their disposable income had fallen since December 2011.
yara wrote: » how are we making a nuisance of ourselves??
zarquon wrote: » The global occupy movement has been a complete failure up to now and you can continue to flog the same dead horse all you want but you'll only get the same results (i.e. none)
ben.schlomo wrote: » Im sure if that poster lost their job they might do something more productive than sit in Eyre Square all day rocking back and forth with a tinfoil hat on.
yara wrote: » that includes occupy sandy does it? even the hardest of occupy haters came out after that and pledged support fo the movement. the only failure with the Irish occupy movements is the failure of most of the population to give a ****.even after Savita the people still don't give a damn and would rather be distracted and argueing over something that was voted for over 20 years ago and would have saved countless lives in the meantime if it had just been legislated for and be done with it. instead everything turns into a political football to be passed around and time waste until next general elections if you know so much about all this why don't you start your own group and if you're all so sure everyone agrees with you so wholeheartedly it will be a roaring success over night.
ben.schlomo wrote: » Nothing to do with Occupy, nice to see ye still have no clear point as to who or what ye are moaning about, any other bandwagon issue ye wanna jump on? Global warming? Carbon footprint? Human rights abuses? Bankers? Which is it, ye are so confused its like watching a blind monkey flying a plane.
conor1979 wrote: » Maybe some of us like the system?
yara wrote: » we are not confusing. it is you that's confused trying to correlate the occupy movement standing up against all the sh1t we're supposed to believe is just the way it is, cannot be changed and a blind monkey flying a planeare you 5 years old by any chance??
hfallada wrote: » Some hedgefund manager in NYC isnt going to change his ways of doing business because a too few people have too much time on their hands in Galway everywhere.
ben.schlomo wrote: » 4 and 3 quarters actually and im still coming out of this better than you. :cool: Nice work trying to take it off point too, but yes ye are ridiculously confused in what ye are 'protesting' about, like i said during the whole thing first time around if ye had a clear message and goal then ye might have some chance, but ye dont and didnt and thats why nobody gives a fiddlers, its not some sort of wild conspiracy against Occupy, its just reality, ye are no better or no more open than the 'system' ye continually whinge about..
yara wrote: » fyp imo the problem is not the occupy, it's the lack of public support to try force change from those who can change all our lives for the better. we don't expect people who have jobs or are incapable of movement to join any protest but there are many people who do have the time but choose to spend it on everything but the chance of a new system for US ALL to live under
Fozzie Bear wrote: » Christ above not this bloody circus again. Why? What will it change? Whats the point? Not one single thing will change because this shower set up a camp site in the middle of a small city on the extreme west coast of Ireland/Europe. Europe won't notice lads. Merkel et al are not quaking in the boots at the prospect of a few dippy hippy types living in tents within there little pallet enclosed hovel in Eyre square. It won't spark riots like Turkey or Greece. The Banks won't change, social justice will not suddenly happen, nor re-distribution of wealth over night. Corruption and injustice will not be things of the past this time next week. I'm sure it's lovely living in their deluded world where they are convinced it will make a difference. Its probably a bit of craic too no doubt for them. But no, it absolutley 100% certainly, won't change an iota, nothing, nadda, zip, zilch. What it will do is cost us, the tax payers, the people you purportedly represent and are doing this for, tens of thousands of euros in policing fees and the inevitable clean up when they are scraped up, carted off and the square hosed down again after everybody has gotten bloody sick of them. It will create a massive eye sore in the middle of Galway at the height of the tourist season and potentially put people off from coming/staying here. Tourists who come here and spend money in restaurants and shops. Places that employ people on the most minimum of wages already. People you are supposed to represent and help!?! Its helping nobody. It will change nothing. And no it is not better then "doing nothing at all." In fact its worse then doing nothing at all.
yara wrote: » it's you that's trying to take the whole thread off point
ben.schlomo wrote: » Tell us about this system of yours? Details would be appreciated so us the people can examine it.