Fireball07 wrote: » What team do you expect to see/would like to see for Saturday night? Who will ye be missing?
corcaigh07 wrote: » Very interesting team, could still see it changing of course, most likely a sort of a change around midfield or the backs. Cahalane or Shields could push out, Canty could be either in Midfield or full-back, Pierce O Neill could easily be in the half-forwards or replaced by someone on the bench. Looking forward to seeing what Brian Hurley can do in Senior, gutsy call by CC giving him full-forward and leaving someone like Donnacha on the bench. Also like the look of both Sheehan and Goulding on the same side if they are back to full fitness and form. 1. Ken O'Halloran Bishopstown 2. Eoin Cadogan 3. Michael Shields 4. Damien Cahalane Douglas St. Finbarr's Castlehaven 5. Paudie Kissane 6. Graham Canty 7. Tomás Clancy Clyda Rovers Bantry Blues Fermoy 8. Aidan Walsh 9. Pearse O'Neill Kanturk Aghada 10. Ciaran Sheehan 11. Patrick Kelly 12. John O'Rourke Eire Og Ballincollig Carbery Rangers 13. Daniel Goulding 14. Brian Hurley 15. Paul Kerrigan Eire Og Castlehaven Nemo Rangers Subs 16 David Lordan Ballincollig 17 John McLoughlin Kanturk 18 Noel O'Leary Cill na Martra 19 James Loughrey Mallow 20 Alan O'Connor St. Colum's 21 Andrew O'Sullivan Castletownbere 22 James Fitzpatrick Carbery Rangers 23. Fintan Goold Macroom 24 Liam Shorten Beal Atha'n Ghaorthaid 25 Mark Collins Castlehaven 26. Donncha O'Connor Ballydesmond[/ I'd say that team won't start,it is another dummy team.A joke to be honest that we still can not name a team and stick with it on a Thursday night. I hope that team does not start.Canty and Kissane are the same old half back line,far too slow and ponderous and while both are athletes they are not skilful footballers that can break down a blanket defence.Their first instinct is to hand pass rather than kick.No good at half back.Canty at midfield in a defensive role would be better. Pearse at midfield would be a dreadful choice.He likes to run through the centre but so does Walsh,which means you have two runners but they wont compliment each other. Pearse can not defend so Canty i presume will be in midfield,as he can hold the aera and I think midfield in that role plays to Cantys strengths rather than at Centre back where he's weakness is exposed. Id say Collins will start instead of kelly. Either one can do a good job to be honest. I would not mind O Rourke getting a chance but I would say Gould will start. Unlike Goulding and Sheehan ,who have not been out for as long,Kelly will still be short on match fitness. I'd say O Leary will start at corner back with Jamie Sul out. Shields and Cahalane I would think will stay put.There is no way he will push shields to CB. O'leary played corner back last year against Donegal and done okay. He is a better option than Kissane at corner back who would be destroyed by Ger Collins like Danny Hughes roasted him against Down in 2010. Id say Loughrey is a definite starter. What suprises me is Barry O Driscoll has been dropped completely from the panel. If he is not injured it is a dreadful call. Shorten,O Sullivan,are just average footballers that at best would survive at Junior level. Outside of Hurley and Goulding ,Cork do not have another goal threat.O Driscoll is a goal poacher. Typical,some Cork forwards and players get game after game yet O Driscoll like Sean Kiely at half back and Eoin Cotter do not get a fair crack and are dropped. Hurley deserves the chance,and i do not feel its a brave call.I feel it is rather a logical astute call. Bravery is when there is a huge risk involved.With Hurley I feel there is no great risk,he needs expierence and that can only be got by playing.The lads form has been superb.Remember Colm O Neill started in 09 without any League games.Hurley could be a revelation.Whatever happens Saturday he has to start the next game. Cork won an all ireland with powerful athletic players who were superb at their style of play,but the game has evolved and now you need players that can kick pass fast accurate ball but also have the mind to do this. Alan O Connor,Kissane,Pearse O Neill,Canty as a half back have only one style of play and it would be cruel to expect them to play Corks new style when there limitations would expose them. To beat the blanket defence the first and crucial step is to pick the correct players in the correct positions ,otherwise the system is beaten before it has even started. As impact subs O Connor,and O Neill and Kissane have roles to play,when cork are defending a lead,their ideal to keep ball and strong enough to hold on to it.But not suited to a fast counter attacking game that Cork want to play.
D'Agger wrote: » Surprised F.Goold has been dropped. Thought he was Corks best player against Killarney and was impressive for Macroom in championship a few weeks back.
corcaigh07 wrote: » could still squeeze on the team fairly easily
SeaFields wrote: » Sounds like a dire affair in limerick. Job done by half time, Limerick will be dissapointed in their effort.
grenache wrote: » What effort?! If there was an effort there tonight from them, I certainly couldn't see it. A lack of talent I can forgive, a lack of application I cannot.
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » Donal OG Cusack makes hes Sunday Game debut tonight.
Amprodude wrote: » I wouldn't think Cusack and Eddie Brennan are the best of pals. :-)
darragh_haven wrote: » Castlehaven beat nemo last night 4:10 to 1:12. Haven played all the second half wirh 14 men. Some massive performances from the younger haven player.
Thinkstoomuch wrote: » What did Hurley get???how did Collins and Cahalane do??where did Cahalane play. Barry O Driscoll for Nemo,and good???
darragh_haven wrote: » Hurley got 2-5, (1 penalty), as was written in a paper today, "he was unmarkable". Mark collins played midfield and had a great game, especially after his mid field parter was sent off just before half time. Damien Cahalane played center back and controled everything from there. He drove forward, covered back, fielded some great ball, and picked out the forwards with some great long passes. The score was slightly flattering to the haven but fully deserved the win. Michael Hurley came on with 20 mins left and scored 1-1. All 4 hurley brothers were playing last night