Bard wrote: » Gawwwwd... I remember that well. I used to work in an Internet café at the time and we provided 2FM's audio streaming via our RealAudio Server. We got constant mentions from Big Tone on the Hotline along the lines of "and we're ahhh streaming on the Internet nowww... yes indeeeed, the world wide web... with thanks to the lads from Websters Internet Café 'down' in Limerick... fair play lads... thanks to youuuuu people can listen to us aaaaaaaaall over the world..." Was great exposure for us... although what 2FM didn't know at the time was that we only had the demo version of RealAudio Server... meaning that only 5 people could tune in at any one time... oops...
Declan A Walsh wrote: » John Kenny (of RTE Sports - not the comic from Limerick!) used to present "The Hotline" on the weekends.
JoeA3 wrote: » So did Shane o'Donoghue (one time RTE sports guy). Where's he gone to these days?
delbertgrady wrote: » Barry Lang's standard schtick was to name the lead singer of the band as part of his chatter, so he'd say "That's Paddy McAloon and Prefab Sprout", or "That was Ricky Ross and Deacon Blue," or "That's the sound of Huey Lewis and the News.". Oh, wait a second...
RayM wrote: I remember waiting obsessively for them to play The Simpsons' Do the Bartman and Deep, Deep Trouble... my finger hovering over the record button, hoping Tony Fenton wouldn't talk over the song. He always talked over the song.
Bard wrote: » That's pretty standard DJ banter in fairness. Lots of jocks are still doing it on air... Gareth O'Callaghan and Tony Fenton for example. No harm in it. Often wondered "what was the lead singer's name in that band....?" only to have it answered to my delight in the back-announce link by the jock.
Geomy wrote: » Do ye remember Micky Mac from the Saturday nights dance show. He moved to Lyric Fm He's now with Clare Fm Sunday evening I think. Great DJ during the 90s