space_man wrote: » How many FF politicians are before the courts or have charges pending? I can think of 3 off the top of my head. And then there's their past misdeeds an indiscretions, which could easily take up a whole book. I fully accept every political party has its' odd renegade, some more than others, even SF appears to have embraced respectability and decency, but there does appear to be more than a few fully paid up members of the 'Soldiers of Destitution' who are delinquents and shisters.http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/ivor-callely-to-stand-trial-for-mobile-phone-expense-claims-29221875.htmlhttp://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-ff-councillor-oflynn-charged-over-triple-murder-plot-29108536.htmlhttp://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ex-ff-councillor-guilty-of-being-drunk-and-a-danger-217109.html
michael999999 wrote: » Maybe they will do a 'bertie' collection for him at this weekends ard fheis!
aidan24326 wrote: » They're trying hard to convince us all that they've 'changed their spots' but in reality it's business as usual. The only thing missing is the Galway tent but I'm sure that kind of back-scratching gets done in a different way now. And the FFers that helped screw the whole thing up (Bertie, Cowen, Cullen, McCreevy, Dempsey etc) have all ridden off into the sunset claiming pensions well in excess of 100K per annum. While topping that up with a few cosy directorships on semi-state boards, quangos and the like. (or in Bertie's case charging something like 30 grand a pop to tell people suckers how he engineered the celtic tiger and how great he is).
nuxxx wrote: » No, corruption and greed circles through the blood
space_man wrote: » i dont know, there does appear to be a culture of corruption and greed.but what does it say about us as a people, if we overlook/embrace/collude with this type of carry on?
space_man wrote: » How many FF politicians are before the courts or have charges pending? I can think of 3 off the top of my head. And then there's their past misdeeds an indiscretions, which could easily take up a whole book. I fully accept every political party has its' odd renegade, some more than others, even SF appears to have embraced respectability and decency, but there does appear to be more than a few fully paid up members of the 'Soldiers of Destitution' who are delinquents and shisters.http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/ivor-callely-to-stand-trial-for-mobile-phone-expense-claims-29221875.htmlhttp://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-ff-councillor-oflynn-charged-over-triple-murder-plot-29108536.htmlhttp://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ex-ff-councillor-guilty-of-being-drunk-and-a-danger-217109.htmlhttp://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/former-ff-senator-charged-with-demanding-100-000-with-menaces-1.1371182
trouttrout wrote: » God I ****ing hate AH's because of threads like this. Grind axe elsewhere
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » Is that a "something was said - not good - HOW DARE YE!!!" comment in disguise?
trouttrout wrote: » No it was a "I don't care about Fianna Fail changing their spots and if I did I wouldn't be consulting AH's about it" post
michael999999 wrote: » Is it the most corrupt party in Europe?
Unforgettable _ Fire wrote: » Ha! OP, Fianna Fail are still the party that tore this country in two, and they ain't changed one bit. The fact they lead the polls again boggles.
uch wrote: » It says we're Thick
aidan24326 wrote: » Saying people were 'thick' doesn't explain it entirely though. Unfortunately there was a massive culture of deference here for a long time. Towards the church, the guards, the medical and legal professions and of course the good old politicians aswell. All of them in different ways abused the powers bestowed on them, with the insidious hand of the cronyist self-serving politician involved at all levels. And we're really only waking up from that now.
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » Ironic, considering they were built on the premise of trying to do the exact opposite...
Zebra3 wrote: » Far from it. Set up by Dev, a man corrupt to the core.