El Spearo wrote: » Lived there for a year, and a regular visitor. Cycling there is a primary mode of transport and there are lanes everywhere. This is not what I am talking about. Once again highlighting I'm on about the sports cyclists who can choose where they do their sport. I like soccer but I don't play on the M50...i play where it is safe and makes sense.
poolboy wrote: » Football on m50 = stupid, cycling on m50 =stupid equating the two = stupid. El spearo =????
seven_eleven wrote: » Jaysus op, dont even try to question cyclists. They're a force not to be reasoned with :eek:
Larianne wrote: » I've seen many asshole cyclists, going through red-lights, not hand signalling, swerving out in front of cars... I've also seen asshole drivers not indicating, going through pedestrian crossings, parking on paths. You get assholes.. in general.
El Spearo wrote: » hence the invention of the bike rack... this is why i differentiated between sports cyclists and those who cycle for practical reasons.. the feckers who bother me are the pro-looking lads who think the tour de france is on the back roads that wouldn't fit two donkeys past each other on a good day. The people who have cars, and could easily bring themselves to somewhere safer and more practical
El Spearo wrote: » the roads were developed for motorists...and there is no such thing as a bike tax..so cyclists are free loaders in the roads in my view. also cyclists who dont use the cycle lanes grind my gears too... its all fun and games lads, but at the end of the day no matter what happens, you clip a stupid cyclist and no matter whose fault it is its the driver. its nonsense.
wil wrote: » And swerving out in front of other cars. Is that an Irish thing. Do cars no longer come equipped with brakes.? Many drivers here seem so incapable of anticipating traffic they swerve inside or outside any car that slows down or turns, into the cycle lanes or into oncoming traffic. ANYTHING rather than pay attention and slow down if there is a gap to scrape through. Driving instructers, what are ye doing?
CJC999 wrote: » What the fcuk are you doing driving on a road that two donkeys couldn't pass each other on? ...at least two cyclists are thinner and able to pass each other. Its people like you in their big wide cars blocking narrow back roads that's the problem, not cyclists!!
El Spearo wrote: » cycling on a backroad is stupid
El Spearo wrote: » my point was, sports belong somehwere safe. unless cycling is your primary transport please take your bike somwhere safe.
Cookie_Monster wrote: » how so? Surely that means driving on those roads is also stupid. get over yourself, a cyclist is fully entitled to be on any road they want bar motorways. They are entitled (and safer) to be two wide and don't have to be in the ditch struggling to stay out of your way. Back roads are safe to cycle, it's just the odd prick of a driver that makes them unsafe.
El Spearo wrote: » driving instructors...where people learn to drive.... what training to cyclists have to use the road?
El Spearo wrote: » So cyclists should have their bikes taxed then.
El Spearo wrote: » gosh darn it i will win them over :P they just dont realise im in it for them...because next week im going straight through the first cyclist who annoys me :P
El Spearo wrote: » what training to cyclists have to use the road?
Cookie_Monster wrote: » The ROTR and common sense and a good parent to teach them (one would presume). A cyclist is not in control of 2 tonnes of steel that can operate at 120kph+ and so does not require the same level of testing and oversight to ensure the safety of other as any consequences and risks are far less drastic and dramatic.
El Spearo wrote: » So cyclists should have their bikes taxed then. I assure you I am a safe driver, hence why im complaining. Because I get stuck behind these lads with nowhere safe to overtake to miles.
El Spearo wrote: » They are a moving obstacle, which has to be negotiated. A little more cooporation would make the roads safer for everyone involved.
El Spearo wrote: » Well I do not object to cyclists using the road. By cyclists I mean people who do no drive, and this is their form of transport to get from a to b. But there are hundreds if not thousands of enthusiasts who are taking over the roads and making them notably more dangerous. Automobiles have far more right to the road as we are the ones who pay the taxes for the upkeep (however crap it is) of said roads. All I'm saying is, it wouldn't kill the sports cyclists to move to a ring road or road with large shoulders, while keeping on the back roads unfortunately could kill them.
El Spearo wrote: » I could argue that the actions of cyclists allow them 'control' over anything that is near them on the road. They are a moving obstacle, which has to be negotiated. A little more cooporation would make the roads safer for everyone involved.
Cookie_Monster wrote: » No, they another, very slow, road user with all the rights and privileges that affords them.
marketty wrote: » You have no problem with people who's sole transport is a bike, but you do with people who own a car but cycle for fun/fitness? But don't those people pay 'road' tax?? Just chill out, go out and get some fresh air and exercise maybe, it's good for the mind and body, helps with the stress
El Spearo wrote: » first of all it insinuates im at fault for being annoyed by cyclists taking over the road and slowing down my commute. Please note that cyclists are in the same column as tractors and grannies for me...
El Spearo wrote: » FYP
El Spearo wrote: » look il admit defeat on a few points. such as the back roads are quieter and cleaner. but to a certain degree this thing of 'drivers chill out' is really annoying. first of all it insinuates im at fault for being annoyed by cyclists taking over the road and slowing down my commute. Please note that cyclists are in the same column as tractors and grannies for me... As mentioned if i wasn't complaining it would mean i was taking chances and overtaking cyclists when it was dangerous. alas im a good driver and wait, though impatiently, behind for my chance to overtake safely.