john the one wrote: » ..if a guard has 6 pints of beer in him and whips out his badge, i must do as he says???
john the one wrote: » does this mean if a guard has 6 pints of beer in him and whips out his badge, i must do as he says???
MonkstownHoop wrote: » Was in the company of an off duty guard (friend of a friend) in dublin one night and he decided after a few drinks himself to take out his badge and throw out a couple that were apparently annoying him,
john the one wrote: » So i was talking with a friend today, i asked why do guards risk losing thier ID badge only to be told that Guards are never off duty and must carry the badge around. Now the girl i was talking to is not a guard nor ever was so i kind of find it hard to believe her, does this mean if this guard has 6 pints of beer in her and whips out her vadge, i must do as she says???
FTA69 wrote: » They're a great bunch for doing it at nightclub doors in order to gain free entry.I wonder does that constitute official Garda business?
"He [Waldron] then said 'do you know who you are dealing with?' I told him 'I don't care who you are' and he got out and walked around to where I was sitting in the back and pulled out a metal garda badge," Ms Collins said. "After shoving the garda badge in my face, he hit me three times with the bottom part of his hand into my chin. I was in shock."
FTA69 wrote: » What wound me up was when they walked straight up to the door and flashed the badge like they were in Miami Vice or something.
Katunga wrote: » some places give discounts to garda so that why they bring it, Like coppers free in for garda.
FTA69 wrote: » B*llocks. They bring it out to blag their way into clubs for free regardless. There's nowhere that does "deals for guards".
gurramok wrote: » McD's\ BK and the local garage do *unofficially*.
wyndhurst wrote: » It is a Warrant Card or Garda ID....not a badge. A Garda can be on or off duty but can never be 'not a Garda' unless either suspended or leaves the force. Guards have to make a judgement call before getting involved in an official capacity while off duty and with alcohol on board. It is a career ending move if it happens without good cause.
flutered wrote: » back in the day the gaurds based in my area were a law unto themselves, i was in a pub late one night, an arguement broke out between a group of guys, the usual drink was doing the talking, one of the group left, a guard in civvies, fifteen minutes later he arrived back in uniform, where he proceeded to take the names of everyone on the premises for after hours drinking.