smcgiff wrote: » I don't know what's more annoying - those that flew around in helicopters a few years ago or the plethora of people now saying they didn't go mad and saw it all coming. You know, people make millions on correctly predicting the downturn in economies. So, I presume ye are the new millionaires.
weemcd wrote: » No you are not the only one, I'm sick of the talk of Celtic Tiger because I never saw it. I'm 24, and was 18/19 when the global credit crunch began to unravel. Chance would be a fine thing...
tempura wrote: » Absolute bollix to be honest, when people were borrowing, they were fully informed as to what was expected of them in relation to repayment. They were also informed as to what would happen if they couldn't meet those repayments. They were advised to make contingency in the event of their income was to be effected. People were advised and were fully aware of the responsibility they were taking on. I can only speak for the financial institution that I work for. Again, people didn't seem to take any responsibility for their spending and want to blame someone else.
IzzyWizzy wrote: » I don't know how anyone DIDN'T see it coming. I'm no expert. I've never studied finance. I was in my teens and early twenties during the boom but even at that age, it was obvious that something was not at all right. All my friends' parents were living like Kardashians. New BMWs every year, 3 foreign holidays, daily cleaner, designer bags... there was just no way they could afford all that on wages that were good but not astronomical. I remember the cleaner at work talking about her second home in the Algarve and her Christmas shopping trip to New York and when I commented on it to my colleague, she told me I was snobby and classist. I'm not snobby or classist. I've worked as a cleaner. That's how I know that a cleaner owning a holiday home and shopping in New York is ridiculous. Society simply doesn't work like that. It was madness. Absolute madness. I'd grown up in the North where the Celtic Tiger had no/little effect, so to arrive in Dublin and feel like I was in Beverly Hills was really weird.
Hannibal Smith wrote: » the Celtic tiger was brilliant!!! I loved every fleeting minute of it!!!! it was all high paced and high paid and the weekends were the best craic ever...would go back in a heartbeat
smcgiff wrote: » Very true - it doesn't say a lot about us as a people. The recent polls showing support for FF as high as it is. It's like a battered spouse returning to their abuser. Very depressing.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » Have to call you out on this, the banks were offering money to people who couldn't afford it, sending out letters saying they were approved for a loan when the salary some folks were on clearly didn't match up. Sure people were stupid to borrow beyond their means, I've said it before, a quick calcuation on a piece of paper would tell most people if they could afford a loan but the banks and those working in them are by no means blameless.
darlett wrote: » Hindsight is amazing but can you say you saw THIS coming? Did you know houses were twice the price they should be? Bully for you then.
Grayson wrote: » They're separate issues. just because a bank is offering you a loan, doesn't mean you have to take it. If I walked up to you and offered you heroin, I'd be doing a bad thing. But it's your free choice to take it.
Rayne Wooney wrote: » How could you barely notice it?? There were fecking cranes everywhere
Bullseye1 wrote: » Your parents did not buy you a PS3/Xbox and bring you on holidays?
smcgiff wrote: » If people are talking about house prices being over inflated then yeah the dogs in the street knew this - and I feel sorry for those that bought at the height. But if anyone is saying that they predicted the mess the banks had got themselves into, which is what bankrupted the state - then congrats mystic meg.
IzzyWizzy wrote: » So where did you think all the money was coming from?
smcgiff wrote: » I feel honoured to have you posting on boards. Surely you made millions on bank share prices collapsing. Wouldn't even have taken much money either - but thanks for swinging by to converse with us little people :P Oh, any tips for the future, or can you only do historical predictions
C.K Dexter Haven wrote: » You are in a wonderful position OP of being able to learn from other people's financial mistakes, before setting out in life yourself. While undoubtedly you will end up being the most perfect of investors, never owing anything beyond your means, never making a wrong decision as regards money, there will be other areas of your life that you will undoubtedly mess up royally, because you're putting so much energy into spouting bile with the privileged benefit of hindsight. I wish you well in your perfect life
tempura wrote: » Thanks. I appreciate your advice and will keep an eye out for any pitfalls in the future. However, I have lived through one recession already ( 80's ) and learnt a lot from that. As regards my impending life cock ups ! Im all up to speed thanks, being a 44 year old divorced mother of teenagers, overseeing their welfare, working a full time job, paying all the bills, and keeping a decent meal on the table, I think I have it covered. I will keep your words of wisdom in mind though.