hugo29 wrote: » here is one, i was at a shin dig saturday evening, was chatting a lady who told me her father farms 300 acres in wexford, she also has two brothers both of which have good high powerd jobs in dublin, none of which have any intrest in the farm her uncle (fathers brother) and his son (her 1st cousin) have always helped out on the farm and the father is seriously considering leaving the farm to the nephew as he knows it will be sold on if he leaves it to the sons and wants the land to stay in the family she says it is causing serious friction in the family Tough call lads and lassies what would you do in that situation
just do it wrote: » Marry her immediately (I'm a bit late replying, I'm sure someone else has said something similar)
hugo29 wrote: » what will i do with the current wife wonder would they mind sharing:D
just do it wrote: » Tricky, what if they hit it off? They could end up with both farms and you're left with nada :rolleyes:
bob charles wrote: » only fitting a different gas fire, I could have done it myself!!
Richk2012 wrote: » Sounds a bit steep . Was that 260 for labour or did he supply material also ??? Im in that trade myself and if it was a straight enough swap without too much alteration he seems to have done ok for himself today. Did you get a price before hand ??
royaler83 wrote: » Quick question. How long would a bale of silage stay 'fresh' if it got punctured with a spike today. Thanks
bob charles wrote: » Allot depends on how dry the material is in the bale. Very dry bales would last ages whereas wet bales would want to be used within a week or so. I have bales of hayledge shifted a month ago with spike holes
Birdnuts wrote: » Some wind chill over the last 24hrs. Glad I have some old lamb jackets lying around!!
1chippy wrote: » Road blocked on the way to a job this morning so i turned back and went fencing for the day. Two coats on and 9 hrs later we had fenced off 3 eight acre blocks on a bit of ground. Got home and the soliciter had dropped out paperwork on my first bit of ground i will have bought. So from this week on i will be whingeing about repayments. Great satisfaction in a bit of hardship.
Juniorhurler wrote: » I love hearing lads driving on and saying **** the recession. I listen to people in work everyday whinging and doing nothing to better their own lot. Best of luck with it and may it produce show quality cattle for ya.
joe man utd wrote: » Just had to get vet to assist calving.. calves head was not right and I couldn't get.. vet came hook in eye socket. Calf out dead a huge Hereford bull.. I jokingly said to vet "there's hardly another one in her" vet said no way but he would handle her to see if she was ok.. low and behold another calf tailwards and dead too.... Vet said they are the biggest twins he has seen in years... A costly eve but atleast cow is ok....
Muckit wrote: » Feck that for a game of soldiers ...Are you in milk or sucklers Joe?
limo_100 wrote: » The calves were hardly by DPS by any chance?? all his calves are big but brilliant quality. Helped an uncle pull one last week from a second calver br/fr, he said it was the hardest pull he had in years. got her out alive anyway which is the main thing
bbam wrote: » Quick question. When a dealer buys stock and brings them to a mart to sell on. Who's name appears on the board when the stock hit the ring?? Was told that the last two calves I bought were bid up by the dealer selling them . I'm happy with the price but didn't notice his name on the board, should it have been ?