I do not argue with his sentiments, don't get me wrong.
Though I do think it's inappropriate for a judge to refer to anyone as 'knackers'.
AN OUTSPOKEN judge has told homeowners to use "maximum force" against burglars, whom he described as "knackers".
District Court Judge Geoffrey Browne made the strident comments after hearing the case of a publican who has been robbed three times in five months.
Michael Masterson (69) suffered a heart attack and was hospitalised after raiders repeatedly targeted his Derreen Inn in Abbeyknockmoy, Co Galway.
Sentencing two burglars to jail, Judge Browne said: "It's time for more force to be used on these fellows. "Maximum force should be used," added the judge at Tuam District Court, before describing those who carry out such attacks as "knackers".
Sympathising with the victim, the judge added: "I would like to say he should protect himself using other resources than a hurley stick." The judge's comments come during a rural crimewave, with raiders targeting the elderly and vulnerable in particular.
Local Fine Gael Councillor Peter Roche said: "Judge Browne didn't mention a gun, but reading between the lines, I think that's what we're talking about here. "
He was commenting after the case of Patrick and John Reilly, of Moyne Park, Abbeyknockmoy, who have burgled the Derreen Inn in Abbeyknockmoy on three occasions between them.
Judge Browne sentenced Patrick Reilly to 22 months in prison and John Reilly to 18 months' detention. "What about the poor landlord who probably can't sleep at night now?
What burglars do to pensioners, and indeed ordinary home and business owners around the country is despicable, no doubt about it, i often think the Gardai should be armed when dealing with some cases, to put them on a level playing field at times.
However, when a judge starts using offensive terms to describe one section of the community, things start to get iffy.
If a judge used the 'N word' to refer to a member of the African community, I think the country would be up in arms.
Why is it ok in this case?
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/judge-tells-victims-of-crime-use-full-force-on-raiders-3364342.html