barney 20v wrote: » If dog **** is the main concern of people posting on here then I give up!
kneemos wrote: » Can't think of any of any pedestrian crossings joining bar counters.
zerks wrote: » The reason we complain so much about dogshit in the town is because it's feckin everywhere.No good in promoting the town as a tourist attraction if the visitors first impression from walking around is having to avoid the stuff,hard to see the sights if you spend the entire time looking at the ground. Myself like many locals like to take a walk around the town but this is becoming a chore due to the state of the footpaths.The next bollix I see letting their dog empty itself on a path is getting an earful from me.
barney 20v wrote: » next time....? if it riles you so badly why wait till the next time??? no point in posting about it on here!
barney 20v wrote: » Doyles of the duffry-donohues... one counter to the other...... pedestrian crossings ontop of roundabouts.. non existant pedestrian crossings at the "new bridge" i could go on and on. no point because they are ****ing useless!
barney 20v wrote: » That's not the way business works folks, no matter how much ye would like it to, jackser and co deal with real people regarding a multi million euro scheme? That's a scary notion .... Best they stick to putting pedestrian crossings directly from one bar counter to the other to keep the locals happy .....if they ever succeed in joining paddy powers into this scheme they are sorted for life! If dog **** is the main concern of people posting on here then I give up!
kneemos wrote: » If there wasn't a crossing at Doyles corner people would be demanding one I'm sure,it's a bit dodgy even with it.
Judgement Day wrote: » Recently I raised the question of the almost non-existent road markings on the pedestrian crossing near the junction of Parnell Road and St.John's Street with a local councillor to be fobbed off with - 'the contractor that does the markings can only be got about once a year'. Sure I suppose it's only used by children attending the local Church of Ireland primary school.....I asked, tongue in cheek, was it a sectarian matter but he wasn't rising to it. Do we have to wait until someone is killed on the crossing - there's not even a warning sign on either approach road. :mad:
TheChevron wrote: » That whole area from the crossing at Joe Doyles corner up as far a the Gaelic stores is a disaster. I know people need places to cross the road but is their really a need for 3 crossings in a 160m stretch (google maps) ? It is totally ridiculous. Within this stretch you also have a 2 busy junctions at Duffry Gate and across from Pettits, along with a supermarket with direct parking outside. That whole area needs to be redesigned, it causes jams back as far as abbey square at peak times.
paulaa wrote: » Councillor Owens was on SE Radio this morning discussing the dog poo problem around the town. Four new pooper scooper bins are being installed along the Prom. Do they read this thread ?
zerks wrote: » Took a walk through his neck of the woods this morning,maybe he's oblivious to the state of the place.Crossed over at Bellfield & right at the crossing there was shit everywhere as some poor unfortunate had walked in it.Continued out the Milehouse & the same story,it was literally every few feet. I know Barney20v thinks it's a trivial matter but is it too much to ask that we can walk around our town without getting destroyed. No point in putting up pooper scooper bins as the ignorant cnuts that allow their dogs do this aren't going to use them.
barney 20v wrote: » I don't think its a trivial matter at all, its a public health hazard. So to suggest i "think" that is incorrect zerks.:rolleyes: However, i do think that it is way down the list of priorities when it comes to issues in Enniscorthy. My main concern would be the anti social/criminal element in the town. You know the minority who ride rough shod over the other people of the town, the same group that the local politicians,gardai,judiciary and media are afraid to tackle head on.... you ask anyone from outside wexford what they think of when you mention Enniscorthy and i bet dog poo is not even mentioned! Sure, you may get the dog issue half heartly addressed while at the same time the outer areas of both sides of the town become no go areas.. especially the shannon side of the town.
zerks wrote: » I'm well aware of outsiders' perceptions of Enniscorthy,I've lost count of the number of times it's been said to me about it being "rough" when I mention I'm from there. With regard to the antisocial elements,we all know who they are & where they live yet they seem to end up in court almost weekly yet end up walking free with at most a nominal fine & continue to do what they do best seemingly without fear.I'm very familiar with the problems on the Shannon side of town,much of the trouble now is caused by 2nd generation gougers,I knew their parents as gougers when they were growing up & they've passed this trait onto their kids.Many of the residents are decent people & as is typical all over Ireland it's the same few who drag the place down.
barney 20v wrote: » That's the real issue, in Enniscorthy the minority act like a majority. I lived there for a number of years and have first hand experience of this. What are jackser and co really doing about the REAL threat to this historic town? Houses being built without planning, illegal dumping, road traffic offences etc etc... Cops pay lip service as it is too much hassle to pursue these individuals. I remember the town being a community when I was young...unfortunately the wrong type of community are now taking over. And re the cinema.... Most people started to avoid it because of the hassle/disruption caused by the young generation of a certain minority group...
zerks wrote: » Just ask Cllr Paddy Kavanagh on his views of this topic.
zerks wrote: » When we see a Channel 4 film crew in town,we'll know it's gone past the point of no return.
haron wrote: » So yet again the island is flooded and horse's stranded in the rising waters. Amazing how the some people are let keep animals