Zombrex wrote: » Now if you are asking what is the basis for me saying something is or isn't moral in the first place then yes there is no basis for this other than my opinion and the opinion of others.
Zombrex wrote: » There is, it is that slavery is God's will so long as it is done in a certain fashion.
Zombrex wrote: » I don't know, if they were why were they called slaves?
Zombrex wrote: » But that is also beside the point. If we redefine what slaves mean simply to make what Paul says sound better, when it clearly isn't what Paul was talking about, what is the point of that?
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Well, a quibble would be it means slavery is not automatically inconsistent with God's will so long as it is done in a certain fashion.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » All I know about the Ottoman "slaves" is that they were generally of Christian background, and this slave status allowed them to have a status that they could not otherwise have enjoyed in an Islamic state.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Well, I think the point is to highlight the point that Paul seems to be making, rather than seizing on the word "slave" with a cry of "aha, gottim".
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Because the point he seems to be making is that you shouldn't treat anyone like filth, not even a powerless person with no status.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » I don't see it as saying there's a general obligation on humanity to organise its affairs so as to disempower certain subclasses. It does seem to suggest that, if you inherit a few slaves from your Auntie Maud, you can't use them as footstools the way she used to.
Zombrex wrote: » You would expect though that all powerful source of morality (God) would be a little bit more progressive that simply following the moral standards of man. <...> See the point about the Taliban saying you should treat your kidnapped bride well. That is obviously better than treating your kidnapped bride badly, but it misses the wood for the trees if someone were to proclaim the former is morally good, as it ignores the whole immorality of the kidnapped bride bit at the start.
Zombrex wrote: » And if one Christian can do that about slavery, why can another Christian not do the same about homosexuality, or at least attempt to do it without be denounced as dishonest and self-centred by other Christians.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Grand, except that all depends on a wider consideration, which is the context in which the faithful find themselves. Clearly, we can ask why an omnipotent God would cast the faithful adrift in a world full of evil, injustice and temptation. But if we just accept for a moment that this is the situation - the faithful are here, in some imperfect and maybe even dangerous situation, and God has given them some instructions as to how to behave. You expect, over time, that the work of the faithful will reap its benefits. So, for the sake of argument, ultimately the Taliban rule the world, and the old kidnapping days are over as any woman you meet will be similarly steeped in the faith and such considerations will no longer apply.I'm such a contention is possible, but I'd take it that the point would hinge on whether a text is saying something is a requirement or not. I'm not sure the text is exhorting people to own slaves. It does seem to be exhorting people not to abuse positions of power.
philologos wrote: » An intriguing question is why is there injustice, and evil in the world? Is it God's doing? Or is it our doing?It's a fallen world The Bible does not at any juncture present Christians or the faithful as perfect. Rather Christians are sinners who have been saved by God's grace. Christian living is going to look at a battle. If we accept Jesus as Lord truly our being is with Him, but we are still in our flesh, and we're still in this world. We are still waiting for Jesus to return, and we're still waiting for the point of time where we will be presented perfect in Him. Pie in the sky when we die? Another interesting question is why do the wicked prosper (as David asks in Psalm 10)?Being wicked gives an advantage, obviously Another intriguing question is to ask is there anyone who has not sinned? (and by extension is there anyone other than Jesus who is entirely blameless - free from sin)?Well no, but so what? Sin is falling short of Gods perfection
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Grand, except that all depends on a wider consideration, which is the context in which the faithful find themselves. Clearly, we can ask why an omnipotent God would cast the faithful adrift in a world full of evil, injustice and temptation. But if we just accept for a moment that this is the situation - the faithful are here, in some imperfect and maybe even dangerous situation, and God has given them some instructions as to how to behave. You expect, over time, that the work of the faithful will reap its benefits.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » I'm such a contention is possible, but I'd take it that the point would hinge on whether a text is saying something is a requirement or not. I'm not sure the text is exhorting people to own slaves. It does seem to be exhorting people not to abuse positions of power.
Peregrinus wrote: » In defence of Paul, we have to realise that the notion of simply freeing slaves would have required an extraordinary leap of imagination - and not just on Paul’s part.
Peregrinus wrote: » ….. So, suppose Paul had told a newly-baptised Christian to manumit his slave. How would the slave have fared?
Peregrinus wrote: » He would have been free. But he also would have been without a home, without property, without status and almost certainly without any skills or experience which he could employ in any occupation open to someone who was not a slave. He wouldn’t necessarily have seen this as an improvement in his condition. There’s a sporting chance that he could only have survived by selling himself back into slavery (yes, people did this), possibly to a much nastier master, or in a much nastier occupation. (The salt mines around the Dead Sea were worked by slaves, and since life expectancy there was short they were always keen to buy new recruits.) In the ancient world, if you manumitted your slaves - this did sometimes happen - you also gave them property, or set them up with a trade and some seed capital, or even adopted them so that they would be part of your family, and have an expectation of inheritance. Manumission made no sense, and was certainly not a benefit to the slave, unless it represented not simply an end to slave status, but an exchange of slave status for some higher status.
Peregrinus wrote: » Now, of course, Paul could easily have told Christians who were in a position to do so to manumit their slaves and do more for them along these lines, but many slaveholders weren’t especially wealthy, and at a minimum would need to change their own lives and lifestyles, and those of their families, and work towards a position where they could treat their slaves in this way - by educating or training their slaves, by saving to build up a sum which they could give their slaves to set them up, whatever. Perhaps that’s embraced in Paul’s call to treat slaves decently and lovingly.
Peregrinus wrote: » More realistically, though, the release of slaves was going to require significant social change - the development of a widespread labour market in which a free man of no property and minimal skills could work for a living wage. Basically, the notion of the waged employee needed to be developed and implemented on a widespread basis. Even if an individual slaveholder could imagine that, he couldn’t bring it about. Nor could Paul.
tommy2bad wrote: » God wont condemn us for being less than perfect but for not trying to be better than we are.
nagirrac wrote: » Seeing as you want to take this "high road" position
nagirrac wrote: » for balance can you outline your position on child labor in China? Do you unequivocally condemn it, in the same fashion as I assume you would condemn all other human slavery.
nagirrac wrote: » If you cannot condemn child labor in China then I would not call you a big fat dirty liar but I would call you a hypocrite in the same mold as Christopher Hitchens and Sam Harris. One cannot be selective about human rights violations.
Zombrex wrote: » It is good that you serve your masters with a full heart, and as such you will be reward in heaven for the good you do. It is the will of God that you serve your master and in doing so you are doing good. There is nothing in that to suggest that Paul believes God wishes that slavery didn't exist but he is forced to work inside the system in order to spare Christians from persecution.
Zombrex wrote: » I take it by that you mean I don't often get outraged.
True, I tend to save it up for when I'm truly angered by something.
Phil is arguing that there is a good form of slavery, a God approved form of slavery.
What do you want my response to be? Limiting it down to comments that wouldn't break the charter, my responses are shortened to basically Don't be so stupid no there isn't a good form of slavery.
I don't see any evidence from Phil that he is prepared to accept that. Once someone is prepared to arguing such an immoral position as the gospel truth I'm not really sure what point there is continuing to discuss anything with them.
BTW do you think there is a good, Christian, form of slavery?
Well no actually I'm not, I try and be quite careful about the ethical sourcing of my products.
But that is some what irrelevant, isn't it? Do you actually want everyone to stop caring about slavery because they buy cloths from sweat shops? Would that improve things? "Slavery has made a startling come back, but at least we got rid of all the hypocrites"
If the best defence you can come up with for someone supporting slavery is well sure don't you all buy cloths from unethical factories, I think you need to have a think about your moral priorities and what you are attempting to achieve by that.
Ok, but then irrelevant because Paul is not stating that God reluctantly wishes slaves to submit to their masters, but that God in fact wants them to, and will reward them for doing so.5 Slaves, obey your earthly masters with respect and fear, and with sincerity of heart, just as you would obey Christ. 6 Obey them not only to win their favor when their eye is on you, but as slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from your heart. Does God regularly instruct his people to do what is immoral whole heartily and from the heart? God instructing you to do something whole heartily because it is the will of God would imply that it is desired, would it not?
In 1 Samuel 8 God is saying give them what they want, tell them how bad it will be and watch them ignore me and you and face the consequences of their hubris. Is that what Paul is doing here? Is he teaching these Christians a lesson by letting telling them to submit to their masters knowing the outcome will be dire?
There is actually nothing in the Bible that says God only wanted one man and one women to marry. What you, and all Christians who think marriage is one man and one woman, is inferring that from the fact that the only examples Jesus ever uses are ones where there is one man and one woman, and that these reference back to Genesis where the example is one man and one woman.
The arguments using to explain this away are pretty much whole sale the arguments used by other Christians for homosexual unions.
Paul is regulating something for the time (slavery), doesn't mean God approves of it in the grand scheme of things. Paul is regulating something for the time (homosexuality), doesn't mean God doesn't approve of it in the grand scheme of things.
When Paul says "slavery" he is not talking about slavery as we would understand it (it is little more than professional service) When Paul says "homosexual" he is not talking about homosexuals as we would understand it (ie men visiting male prostitutes)
Just because the only descriptions of slavery in the Bible regulate slavery doesn't mean it is what God the be all and end all of God's view on slavery. Just because the only descriptions of marriage in the Bible have one man and one woman doesn't mean that is the be all and end all of God's view for human marriage.
There is no explicate approval from Jesus for slavery, and when we apply his other teaches to the issue it becomes clear that we should not put other people in bondage, even if they did so in the time of Israel.
There is no explicate denouncing from Jesus of same sex marriage, and when we apply his other teachings to the issue it becomes clear that we should allow loving homosexual couples to marry each other even if they didn't in the time of Israel. etc etc.
nagirrac wrote: » The relevance of the question is we have to be consistent in opposing all human rights violations. I assume you would agree with me that the views of Hitchens and Harris should be condemned for being selective on moral issues. Personally I have zero admiration for someone who supports "some" human rights violations.
nagirrac wrote: » Personally I have zero admiration for someone who supports "some" human rights violations.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » I'm afraid this just isn't adding up for me, and I still don't see any basis for this inherent morality, other than your personal assertion that it be so. In other words, it's not that slavery is inherently wrong in any sense; it's simply that you expect most people, like yourself, to accept it as wrong in commonsense terms.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Didn't the Ottoman Turks have a class of administrators who were notionally slaves, but who were personally wealthy and free in all but name?
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » On the other hand, someone living in a house in negative equity is notionally free, but actually can't sell up and move on.
Zombrex wrote: » Its like saying look how progressive the Taliban are being is being when they order their members that they should love their kidnapped child brides and not abuse them. If I was objecting to the kidnapping of girls to be brides and someone said "But Zombrex you are ignoring the most important part! The Taliban say treat your kidnapped child brides well and love them like all your other wives! You refuse to acknowledge how good this is!" I would have the same reaction. I'm not ignoring it, I'm rejecting the premiss.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » It's absolutely not a political agenda for social change.
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » Paul isn't saying that slaves should unite in revolt, and put their former masters on trial for crimes against humanity. But neither is it particularly a defence of slavery, per se. It's more a suggestion that people, through religion, can transcend their physical circumstances, and make drudgery divine.
Peregrinus wrote: » In defence of Paul, we have to realise that the notion of simply freeing slaves would have required an extraordinary leap of imagination - and not just on Paul’s part. In Paul’s world, all household servants were slaves (or they were family members). In fact, the language did not contain separate words for “servant” and “slave”. (All of the "servants" mentioned in various gospel stories are slaves.) So, suppose Paul had told a newly-baptised Christian to manumit his slave. How would the slave have fared? He would have been free. But he also would have been without a home, without property, without status and almost certainly without any skills or experience which he could employ in any occupation open to someone who was not a slave.
HHobo wrote: » Neither Harris nor Hitchens has ever condoned any human rights violations, at least that I am aware of.... I disagreed with Hitchens on Iraq but I recognise his point of view as having some merit. ...Isreal has shown remarkable restraint in dealing with neighbours who have declared their genocidal intentions. You seem to get all worked up over people being selective about their "support" for some human rights violations and yet you have leapt to the defence of Phil and his open admission to not having an issue with slavery so long as its the right kind. You can discern the apparent immorality in the nuanced arguments of atheists without any problems but for some reason the open refusal to condemn slavery by a religious person manages to slip under your radar.
HHobo wrote: » They can allow the bank to take back what it essentially owns anyway and go on their way. They are noting like slaves. We are talking about people being owned as property.
Zombrex wrote: » He wasn't trying to abolish slavery, that is precisely the point, he thought slavery was the correct way society should be run. What he was concerned about was instructing Christians slaves what is the correct way to behave as slaves in order to please God.
nagirrac wrote: » .... To someone with a clear unbiased mind the question is what is the relevance today and appropriate response to human rights abuses by the Romans in the 1st century. Should we boycott Gucci and Armani, stop drinking Pelligrini and Peroni, stop eating nutella, turn off the TV if Milan are playing? No, let's blame the Christians, a small religious sect at the time, for not opposing slavery strongly enough and hastening their crucifixions. What a ridiculous position, the shallowness of the atheist argument is mindboggling at times. ....
GCU Flexible Demeanour wrote: » .... If he was talking today, he might give advice on what to do if you found yourself in negative equity with a full recourse mortgage. Given his advice on slavery, I think it's unlikely that his advice would be to send jingle mail to your mortgage lender and get the next plane to the UK. I suspect he might say give every spare penny to repaying the loan in full, as if you owed the money to God. That wouldn't be the same as him advising people to get absolutely up to their oxters in debt. There is a significant gap there that you are leaping over.
Jesus answered, "If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me." Matthew 19:21
When Jesus heard this, he said to him, "You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me." Luke 18:22
Jesus looked at him and loved him. "One thing you lack," he said. "Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me." Mark 10:21
Zombrex wrote: » This argument really has no legs. There is no indication from the rest of the New Testament that Paul was overly concerned with instruction people to continue immoral behavior because the realities of the time meant it was choosing the lesser of two evils.
Zombrex wrote: » The same argument you make above about slaves could be said about prostitutes. Yet Paul has no problem denouncing prostitution. How was a reformed prostitute suppose to support herself, given that she problem turned to prostitution in the first place in order to support herself?
Peregrinus wrote: » I’m not seeking to give Paul a free pass here. I think we’re entitled to be critical of Paul’s failures to say what ought to be said about slavery. But I think our criticism will be stronger if we make some attempt to come to grips with the issue of slavery as it presented itself to Paul. If our criticism amounts to little more than slamming Paul for not living in our world and having our insights and knowing what we know about slavery, it’s not a very trenchant criticism. That’s a fair comparison. A couple of thoughts occur to me. First, again, Paul isn’t saying that everyone should avoid prostitution - just that Christians should. That’s not going to deprive a prostitute of all, or even much, of her custom. Obviously, Paul would say that a prostitute who becomes a Christian should give up prostitution. But Paul would also say, I think, that the community should look after and support someone who give up her livelihood/position to embrace Christianity, and the early Christian community was noted for the high degree of social and communal support that it offered to its members. Secondly, in Paul’s view, I think, prostitution is wicked for the prostitute as well as for the client. Therefore they will both benefit spiritually if the prostitution trade collapses. But it’s obviously not the case that slavery is wicked for the slave - it’s harmful to the slave, obviously, but he does no evil in being a slave, and being freed is not an act of virtue on his part. But I think I have to accept that slaveholding - even benevolent, “paternal” slaveholding - is intrinsically wicked for, and morally and spiritually corrosive to, the slaveholder. Even if it’s not immediately practicable to do so, slaveholders should want to manumit their slaves, and at a miminum should acknowledge a moral imperative to do what has to be done to make it practicable. And Paul should say this. And he doesn’t. And my guess is that that’s probably because Paul fails to discern the intrinsic moral evil of slavery. And that’s because a Christian anthropology which stresses the dignity, worth and integrity of the individual independent of social or economic status has yet to be developed and articulated. Paul possibly lays some of the foundations for such an anthropology (“There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”) but it’s well after his lifetime before it gets worked out. (Indeed, perhaps we’re still at it.)
JimiTime wrote: » The question then arises, if you are a Christian, that if you believe Paul should be held to account on this, then you are also saying that God should.
JimiTime wrote: » The fact is, that God did not communicate an explicit condemnation on slavery.
JimiTime wrote: » It may have been an institution he planned on using for the spread of the Good News. To this day, the gospel message resonates with those who are lowly, as it offers hope and justice etc. Maybe these slaves being Christ like were a way into the higher remnants of society. Changing things from the inside. Letting an evolution take place. Maybe some kind of slave revolt would have ultimately damaged the Christian message, which is what is truly important. Just like Jesus didn't stop the Romans in his earthly ministry, like the Jews were expecting. As I said previously, God is concerned with our eternal concerns. The spiritual battles. He seeks humility and grace from us. Christ like ways. Jesus came himself as a servant, and calls us to be slaves of his, seeking first the kingdom.
Peregrinus wrote: » I’m not seeking to give Paul a free pass here. I think we’re entitled to be critical of Paul’s failures to say what ought to be said about slavery. But I think our criticism will be stronger if we make some attempt to come to grips with the issue of slavery as it presented itself to Paul. If our criticism amounts to little more than slamming Paul for not living in our world and having our insights and knowing what we know about slavery, it’s not a very trenchant criticism.
Peregrinus wrote: » Obviously, Paul would say that a prostitute who becomes a Christian should give up prostitution. But Paul would also say, I think, that the community should look after and support someone who give up her livelihood/position to embrace Christianity, and the early Christian community was noted for the high degree of social and communal support that it offered to its members.
Peregrinus wrote: » Secondly, in Paul’s view, I think, prostitution is wicked for the prostitute as well as for the client. Therefore they will both benefit spiritually if the prostitution trade collapses. But it’s obviously not the case that slavery is wicked for the slave - it’s harmful to the slave, obviously, but he does no evil in being a slave, and being freed is not an act of virtue on his part.
Peregrinus wrote: » Even if it’s not immediately practicable to do so, slaveholders should want to manumit their slaves, and at a miminum should acknowledge a moral imperative to do what has to be done to make it practicable. And Paul should say this. And he doesn’t.
Peregrinus wrote: » And my guess is that that’s probably because Paul fails to discern the intrinsic moral evil of slavery. And that’s because a Christian anthropology which stresses the dignity, worth and integrity of the individual independent of social or economic status has yet to be developed and articulated.
nagirrac wrote: » I am merely pointing out that atheists do not understand the religious mindset and if you need proof of that read back over the thread.
nagirrac wrote: » To someone with a clear unbiased mind
nagirrac wrote: » the question is what is the relevance today and appropriate response to human rights abuses by the Romans in the 1st century. Should we boycott Gucci and Armani, stop drinking Pelligrini and Peroni, stop eating nutella, turn off the TV if Milan are playing? No, let's blame the Christians, a small religious sect at the time, for not opposing slavery strongly enough and hastening their crucifixions. What a ridiculous position, the shallowness of the atheist argument is mindboggling at times.
nagirrac wrote: » the shallowness of the atheist argument is mindboggling
nagirrac wrote: » The Iraq war was completely unjustified, it was an unprovoked invasion of a sovereign country based on lies tying that country to 9/11 and the imminent threat of weapons of mass destruction.
nagirrac wrote: » A significant percentage of the population of the US and their allies were misled into war by lying politicians. For Hitchens to join in this lie and maintain the lie long after most people had recognized it as such is inexcusable. Sorry, no merit involved whatsoever.
nagirrac wrote: » I fully agree Israel has the right to defend itself against aggression and support that right. However, this does not give it the right to treat an ethnic group living within its own borders as sub-human, as it has since the formation of the state.
nagirrac wrote: » History shows over and over if you deny basic human rights to a group of people based on their ethnicity, race, whatever, they will eventually resort to violence.
nagirrac wrote: » Northern Ireland is the perfect example, and there you see the same moral selectivity problem expressed by a large percentage of the population of the Republic of Ireland. The armchair moral police who were outraged at human rights violations around the world, yet oblivious to the abuses 50 miles north of them. The same mind set that calls those that eventually said enough is enough and fought back as "dregs of society". The dregs of society are those that maintained an apartheid state for 50 years, defended it by violence against its own citizens, and those that supported them.
nagirrac wrote: » There is nothing nuanced about supporting an illegal and unjust war or defending ethnic discrimination.
Peregrinus wrote: » Ah. Well, there you raise a couple of theological doozies which have troubled Christianity for the past two thousand years, and aren’t about to stop. 1. Who are we, to presume to “hold God to account” for anything? Or, on the other hand: 2. Isn’t God ultimately accountable for everything? These are both valid questions, but answering them (a) would take this discussion off in about fifteen other directions simultaneously, and (b) is beyond me.
Mmm. I think you’ve got a very reductive view of scripture there - a sort of “final and conclusive letter from God”. God may well have communicated unambiguous condemnations of slavery, but we - the church, the believing community, the people of God - may have failed to discern them, or to receive them, or may have done so only after the reception and canonization of scripture was complete. I don’t think even the strictest and most fundamental simplistic biblical literalist would assert that, if it’s not explicitly condemned in scripture, it’s not condemned and it’s morally A-OK. If that was the case, then there would be no moral issue with heroin addition or heroin trafficking, there would be no moral issue with child pornography, there would be no moral issue with nuclear weapons, there would be no moral issue with pre-marital sex, there would be no moral issue with a whole host of things which in fact raise acute moral issues.
Slavery as part of God’s plan? Suffer a great evil, so that a greater good can unfold?
There’s a slight parallel in the “theology” that suggest that God tolerates, e.g. the Holocaust because such a great evil offers opportunities for us to practice great virtues. This is a blasphemy - a well-intentioned blasphemy, no doubt, but a blasphemy nevertheless.